Skip to Content

Is Relentless Energy Drink Gluten-Free? (Deep Dive)

Relentless is an energy drink brand that the Coca-Cola Company made in February 2006. But in 2014, the ownership was transferred to Monster Energy.

It’s usually sold in 500ml and 355 ml cans and marketed for those people who need a strong energy boost.

But if you’re on a gluten-free diet and want a substantial boost of energy, Relentless is suitable for you.

I will deep dive into more details of Relentless Energy in this article and help you to decide if you want to drink and try Relentless Energy.

Relentless Energy 500ml can

Nutritional Information Of Relentless Energy

Below is the nutritional information of Relentless Energy.

NutrientsAmount
Per Serving
Carbohydrate31g
Total Sugar24g
Salt0.70g
Niacin (Vitamin B3)16mg
Pantothenic Acid (Vitamin B5)8.5mg
Vitamin B61.5mg
Vitamin B122.0 ug
Caffeine160mg
Energy108 calories

Ingredients In Relentless Energy

Here is a list of Relentless Energy ingredients.

  • Carbonated water
  • Citric acid
  • Sucrose
  • Sucralose
  • Erythritol (flavour enhancer)
  • Taurine (0.4%)
  • Sodium citrate (acidity regulator)
  • Potassium sorbate
  • Sodium benzoate
  • Caramel E150d (colour)
  • Guarana seed extract

Is Caffeine In Relentless Energy Gluten-Free?

Coffee beans
Caffeine in Relentless Energy is gluten-free

Relentless Energy caffeine is gluten-free.

Caffeine can be found in fruit, leaves, and beans of coffee, cacao, tea, and guarana plants. So there’s no presence of gluten in it.

These are the most common ingredients in an energy drink. And can also be added in several food and beverages, such as:

  • coffee
  • yerba mate
  • tea
  • soft drinks
  • cocoa beverage
  • chocolate milk
  • ice cream
  • cakes
  • pastries

The caffeine content of Relentless Energy is still within the suggested maximum intake set by EFSA, which is 400mg per day.

Too much caffeine intake will put you at risk of different side effects, such as:

  • Anxiety
  • Restlessness
  • Tremors
  • Irregular heartbeat
  • Trouble sleeping
  • Nausea
  • Vomiting
  • Headaches
  • Dizziness

So if you consume Relentless Energy, it must be in moderation.

Is Sugar In Relentless Energy Gluten-Free?

The 24g of sugar in Relentless Energy is gluten-free.

Since sugar is derived from a natural source, there are no traces of gluten in it. However, based on NHS, consumption of sugar must be no more than 30g per day for healthy adults.

Excessive sugar consumption may lead you to a higher risk of the following condition.

  • cardiovascular disease
  • cognitive problems
  • colon cancer
  • diabetes
  • hypertension
  • kidney disease
  • liver disease
  • obesity
  • pancreatic cancer
  • retina damage
  • muscle damage
  • nerve damage

The sugar content of Relentless energy is within the suggested limit of sugar per day. Still, if you want a better option for sugar, Relentless Energy has a sugar-free version.

If you’re cutting sugar in your diet, you can read: 10 Best Sugar-Free Energy Drinks (Detailed List)

Is Artificial Sweetener In Relentless Energy Gluten-Free?

Gluten Free
The artificial sweeter of Relentless is gluten-free

The artificial sweetener of Relentless Energy, which is sucralose is gluten-free.

Sucralose is derived from sugar, and due to the multi-step process, it changes and produces a no-calorie sweetener, but the sweetness is 600 times that of sugar.

It has no traces of wheat, barley, and rye which is why sucralose is gluten-free and can be safely consumed by a person who is under a gluten-free diet.

EFSA confirms sucralose that it’s safe to use and doesn’t cause cancer.

What Are The B Vitamins In Relentless Energy?

Let’s take a look at the B Vitamins in Relentless energy and their benefits.

B VitaminsBenefits
Vitamin B3Prevents congenital disabilities
Decrease joint pain
Lower cholesterol
Vitamin B5Promotes healthy skin and hair
supports healthy eye and liver
Maintains a healthy digestive system
Vitamin B6Improves mood and symptoms of depression
Promotes brain health
Prevents clogged arteries
Vitamin B12Boosts mood
Improves concentration
Improves mental function

Guarana Seed Extract In Relentless Energy

Guarana is a native Brazilian plant that can be found in Amazon Basin. It is made by turning the seed into a powder.

The Amazon tribe used guarana for centuries due to its therapeutic properties. It also contains caffeine and antioxidants.

In present days guarana is used as an ingredient in soft drinks and energy drinks. It can also provide you different benefits, such as:

  • Reduces fatigue
  • Improves focus
  • Improves learning ability
  • Promotes weight loss
  • Relieves chronic diarrhoea
  • Treats constipation
  • Boosts heart health
  • Provides pain relief
  • Improves skin appearance
  • Anti-cancer properties
  • Antibacterial properties
  • Protects against age-related disorders

However, high doses of guarana can cause adverse effects that are similar to excessive caffeine consumption, including:

  • insomnia
  • heart palpitations
  • headaches
  • seizures
  • anxiety
  • nervousness
  • upset stomach
  • shakiness

What Is Gluten?

Wheat grains and bread

Gluten is a protein that can be found in wheat, barley, malt, and spelt. The most common among those grains are wheat.

It has a glue-like consistency and makes the dough elastic, and it is the one giving the bread rise during baking.

There are two main proteins in gluten, namely, glutenin and gliadin. The responsible for causing adverse effects are gliadin.

What Is Gluten Intolreance?

Gluten intolerance is manifest by an adverse reaction to gluten. In simple words, whenever you eat food that has gluten, you feel sick right after consuming it.

You will feel the following symptoms:

  • bloating
  • abdominal pain
  • diarrhoea
  • depression
  • headache
  • skin rash
  • nausea
  • joint pain

There are several causes of gluten intolerance, including:

  • celiac disease
  • non-celiac gluten sensitivity
  • wheat allergy
  • gluten ataxia
  • dermatitis herpertiformis

If you’re suffering from gluten intolerance, you must avoid products that contain gluten. It’s a good thing that Relentless Energy is gluten-free which can be safely consumed by a person with gluten intolerance.

The video shows the symptoms of gluten intolerance.

How Can You Know If A Food Or Drink Is Gluten-Free?

Looking for a gluten-free label is the best way to determine if a food or drink is gluten-free.

Most of the product in the UK that is gluten-free has a logo of Crossed Grain Trademark certification.

However, there’s another way to determine if a product is gluten-free, it’s by checking the ingredient list of the product. It’s not that complicated to analyze if an ingredient or product is gluten-free. The key is to know where that product or component originates.

There shouldn’t be traces of the following:

  • wheat
  • rye
  • barley
  • malt
  • tricale
  • spelt

You can also check their website through their product checker if a food or drink is certified gluten-free.

Is Relentless Energy Gluten-Free?

You can check the table below that shows detailed information on whether Relentless Energy ingredients are gluten-free or not.

IngredientsSourcesIs It Glute-free?
CaffeinePlant-basedYes
Guarana Seed ExtractGuarana Yes
SucraloseSugar Yes
Potassium SorbateSynthetic Yes
Sodium CitrateCitric Acid Yes
Sodium BenzoatePlant-based Yes
Citric AcidPlant-based Yes
TaurineDairy Products
Synthetic
Yes
B VitaminsPlant-based
Animal-based
Synthetic
Yes
ErythritolPlant-based Yes
Caramel E150dSugar Yes

Based on the table above, the ingredients in Relentless Energy are all gluten-free. None of the ingredients has traces of gluten.

Can A Person With Celiac Disease Consume Relentless Energy?

Since Relentless Energy is gluten-free, it can be consumed by a person with celiac disease.

Celiac disease is one of the most critical forms of gluten intolerance. It can lead to digestive system damage.

Here are the most common symptoms of celiac disease.

  • diarrhoea
  • constipation
  • smelly faeces
  • fatigue
  • skin reactions
  • depression
  • anxiety
  • unexplained weight loss
  • iron-deficiency anaemia
  • autoimmune disorders
  • joint and muscle pain
  • leg and arm numbness

Even though Relentless is gluten-free, it’s safe to consult first with your physician to avoid any health problems.

Can Relentless Energy Trigger Wheat Allergy?

Relentless Energy can’t trigger wheat allergy since it doesn’t have traces of gluten.

Wheat allergy is a type of allergy that causes the immune system to react to wheat and gluten.

The common symptoms of wheat allergy are:

  • skin rash
  • digestive issues
  • nasal congestion
  • anaphylaxis
  • headache
  • difficulty of breathing
  • cramps
  • nausea
  • vomiting
  • diarrhoea

Can A Person With Gluten Ataxia Consume Relentless Energy?

You can consume Relentless Energy if you have Gluten Ataxia.

Relentless Energy is gluten-free and can be consumed by a person suffering from gluten ataxia.

Gluten ataxia is a disorder when antibodies are released when digesting gluten and attack a part of the brain called the cerebellum.

The cerebellum is the one that is responsible for movement and has an effect on activities, such as:

  • balance
  • speech
  • posture
  • walking
  • running

It’s a rare condition that has the following symptoms:

  • problems with movements
  • unsteadiness
  • issue with coordination
  • loss of precise movement skill
  • difficulty talking
  • vision issues
  • symptoms of nerve damage

The best treatment for this condition is to completely remove all forms of gluten from a person’s diet.

Flavours Of Relentless Energy

You can choose from seven flavors of Relentless energy.

  • Origin
  • Zero (sugar-free version)
  • Apple Kiwi
  • Cherry
  • Mango
  • Lemon Ice
  • Passion Punch

Alternatives To Relentless Energy

If you want to explore something similar to Relentless, you can try the following energy drinks:

Final Verdict

If you’re on a gluten-free diet, you can safely consume a can of Relentless Energy. A can per day is enough to have a significant boost of energy.

Aside from being gluten-free, it also contains B vitamins that are essential for your different body functions.

However, you must consume only one can of Relentless Energy since it contains 160mg of caffeine and 24g of sugar, leading to several adverse effects if not consumed moderately.

Overall, you don’t have to worry if you have gluten intolerance or are under a gluten-free diet and want to have a strong kick of energy because Relentless Energy is definitely gluten-free.

Related Articles