Skip to Content

Is Mother Energy Drink Gluten-Free? (Clarified)

Mother energy drink is a product of well known Australian brand. It’s available in a variety of delicious flavours and is packed with healthy nutrients.

A quick answer to the question is that Mother energy drink is most probably gluten-free.

Although it doesn’t officially claim to be gluten-free, there are no traces of wheat, barley, or rye in Mother energy drink.

This drink claims to boost your mental as well as physical performance. It increases your focus, thus helping you perform your workloads better. 

I will give you a detailed overview of the gluten status of the ingredients of the Mother energy drink. So stay with me.

Ingredients Of Mother Energy Drink

A label of ingredients of Mother energy drink
Ingredients of Mother energy drink

Mother energy drink is available in original and sugar-free versions. Here are the ingredients of both versions.

Original

  • Carbonated water
  • Sucrose 
  • Acidity Regulators (Citric Acid, Sodium Citrate) 
  • Taurine 
  • Flavour 
  • Colour (Caramel IV)
  • Potassium Sorbate
  • Caffeine 
  • Vitamins B2
  • Vitamin B3
  • Pantothenic Acid (B5) 
  • Vitamin B6 
  • Vitamin B12
  • Guarana Extract

Sugar-Free

  • Carbonated Water 
  • Acesulfame Potassium
  • Sucralose
  • Acidity Regulators (Citric Acid, Sodium Citrate)
  • Taurine
  • Colour (Caramel IV)
  • Preservative (Potassium Sorbate)
  • Caffeine
  • Flavour
  • Niacin (B3)
  • Pantothenic Acid (B5)
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12

Suplement Facts Of Mother Energy Drink

Take a look at this table to know about nutritional facts of Mother energy drink.

NutrientsOriginal (500 ml)Sugar-Free (500 ml)
Energy228 kcal23 kcal
Fats (Saturated)0 g0 g
Proteins0 g0.3 g
Carbohydrates (Sugar)51 g (51 g)0.5g (0 g)
Caffeine160 mg160 mg
Sodium240 mg240 mg
Vitamin B39 mg9 mg
Vitamin B53.3 mg3.3 mg
Vitamin B61 mg1 mg
Vitamin B120.5 mcg0.5mcg
Taurine2 g2 g
Supplement facts of Mother energy
Label showing nutritional facts of Mother energy drink
Nutritional facts of Mother energy drink

Ingredients Overview Of Mother Energy Drink

Let’s see whether the ingredients of Mother energy are gluten-free or not.

IngredientIs it Gluten-Free?
Carbonated water Yes
Sucrose  Yes
Acidity Regulators (Citric Acid, Sodium Citrate)Yes
TaurineYes
Flavour Yes
Colour (Caramel IV)Yes
Potassium SorbateYes
Caffeine Yes
Vitamins B2Yes
Vitamin B3Yes
Pantothenic Acid (B5)Yes
Vitamin B6 Yes
Vitamin B12Yes
Guarana ExtractYes
Acesulfame PotassiumYes
SucraloseYes
All the ingredients of Mother energy drink are gluten-free

Calories In Mother Energy

Mother Energy has 228 calories in a 500ml can, while the sugar-free version contains 23 calories in a can of 500ml.

It’s recommended that a man should consume 2600 calories in a day and a woman should consume 2000 calories daily.

If the amount of calories you consume doesn’t matter to you, you shouldn’t worry about the calories present in Mother Energy. If the number of calories does matter, consider taking the sugar-free option.

Is The Caffiene Of Mother Energy Drink Gluten-Free?

Coffee beans in a cup and saucer
A rich source of caffeine

The caffeine of the Mother energy drink is extracted from Guarana seeds, so it is gluten-free.

Mother energy drink contains 160 mg of caffeine which is pretty moderate. You should also know that amount of caffeine varies with the size and flavour of the Mother energy drink.

In my opinion, 160 mg of caffeine is enough to keep you alert and energized for almost 10 to 12 hours.

According to the FDA, you can consume 400 mg of caffeine in a day. If you go for more than this amount, your body will go into a caffeine crash.

Is Sugar Of Mother Energy Drink Gluten-Free?

The sugar in Mother energy drink is gluten-free.

Sugar is a simple carbohydrate with no traces of wheat, barley, or any gluten-related product.

Mother energy drink contains 51 mg of sugar in 500 ml drink, a vast amount that isn’t recommended daily.

According to Food Standards (AUS), a healthy adult can consume 50g (12 teaspoons) a day, and the amount of sugar in Mother Energy is a lot more than the sugar intake limit.

You should consume sugar in moderation to gain benefits like:

  • Improve your mood
  • Give you a boost of energy
  • Can help you to store energy for later use
  • Improve your cognitive skills

You can always opt for a sugar-free version of Mother energy drink to be on the safe side.

Are Artificial Sweeteners Of Mother Energy Drink Gluten-Free?

The artificial sweeteners of Mother energy drinks are gluten-free.

The sugar-free version of Mother energy drink contains two artificial sweeteners named Sucralose and Acesulfame Potassium (Ace K). Both of these have no traces of gluten in them, and they are FDA approved.

Sucralose is 600 times sweeter than sugar and is manufactured by the processing of white sugar. It has zero calories in it and is safe for you to consume. It’s also used in a variety of food products.

Acesulfame Potassium is 200 times sweeter than sugar and is also used in many bakery items and a variety of beverages.

Both of these sweeteners are being used for decades in the food industry. Although they are safe for you, you should still be cautious about using them in a large amount. This will help you to avoid any side effects associated with them.

Is Guarana Extract Of Mother Energy Drink Gluten-Free?

The Guarana extract of Mother energy is free from gluten as it’s extracted from the seeds of the Guarana plant.

Guarana is a native plant of the Amazon and contains natural caffeine. The caffeine in guarana extract keeps your brain stimulated. It’s great for your heart and muscles.

However, if you consume it in huge amounts, it might cause severe problems for you. These include:

  • Insomnia
  • Nervoueness
  • Stomach Irritation
  • Vomiting

Is Taurine Of Mother Energy Drink Gluten-Free?

Taurine is gluten-free and is used in a variety of gluten-free products.

It’s an organic amino acid that’s produced synthetically. The raw materials used in the taurine synthesis are mostly synthetic, so there’s no chance of having any gluten in them.

Mother energy drink contains 2g of taurine in it. This taurine, when combined with caffeine, improves your mental performance.

Besides this, taurine has a lot of health benefits.

  • Maintain water and electrolyte balance
  • Regulates minerals within youe cells
  • Acts as an antioxidant
  • Regulates your immune system

Are Vitamins Of Mother Energy Drink Gluten-Free?

Image of vitamin supplements
Vitamins are an essential part of your daily food intake.

The vitamins of Mother energy drink are gluten-free.

Mother energy drink contains a healthy blend of B vitamins. Here is the table showing vitamins and their health benefits.

VitaminsFunctionDaily Intake LimitAmount Per Serving
( Mother energy)
Vitamin B3It helps you to maintain healthy skin and nervous system,
Converts your food into energy
35 mg9 mg
Vitamin B6 Boosts your immune system
Maintains standard amino acids in the blood
100 mg1 mg
Vitamin B5It helps in the production of red blood cells
Boosts your metabolism
3.3 mg
Vitamin B12Aids in DNA production
Maintains your healthy blood cells
0.5 mcg

All these vitamins are mainly produced synthetically. It’s safe to assume that they are gluten-free.

Is It Safe To Drink Mother Energy Drink Every day?

It’s safe to drink Mother energy drink daily if you consume it moderately.

It contains 51 mg of sugar, which is almost double the daily sugar limit for an adult.

So if you’re drinking a Mother energy drink, you should cut down your sugar intake in any other foods. You should also closely watch for side effects due to too much sugar.

These are:

  • You may feel thisrstier than usual
  • Have to pee more often
  • Your vision is blurred
  • You feel numbness or tingling sensation in your body

If you feel any of these symptoms, you should probably get your blood sugar levels checked.

Is Mother Energy Drink Vegan-Friendly?

All the ingredients in mother energy drinks are vegan. None of its ingredients is derived from an animal source.

Mother energy drink is a healthy vegan energy drink. But it would help if you still were moderate in drinking it.

Just drink responsibly to enjoy its full benefits without worrying about its side effects.

How To Know If A Product Is Gluten-Free?

Most gluten-free products have a clear label showing their gluten-free status.

If you are unable to find a gluten-free label, check for the allergen labels. It will tip you off about the presence of any wheat in your product.

You can also check the ingredients present on the label carefully to check for obvious ingredients like

  • Wheat
  • Barley
  • Rye
  • Malt
  • Brewer’s yeast
  • Oats (unless specifically labeled gluten-free)

Problems Caused By Gluten Sensitivity

Gluten sensitivity might be genetic or non-genetic. You can suffer from various health problems if you’re gluten-sensitive.

If you are gluten intolerant, you can have any of these problems:

  • Celiac Disease
  • Non Celiac Gluten Sensitivity
  • Wheat Allergy
  • Gluten Ataxia
  • Dermatitis Herpetiformis

You might experience these symptoms on eating gluten-containing food.

  • Diarrhea and Constipation
  • Bloating
  • Abdominal Pain
  • Fatigue
  • Nausea
  • Headache

Side Effects Of Mother Energy Drink

The side effects of Mother energy drink are most likely related to its caffeine and especially its high sugar content.

The caffeine of Mother energy is pretty moderate if you stick to one can per day. But its sugar content is way off the charts, even for a single serving of energy drink.

So you can go through these unwanted effects occasionally.

  • Anxiety
  • Insomnia
  • Occasional rapid heartbeat
  • Headaches
  • Dehydration
  • Heartburn
  • Upset Stomach
  • Irritability
  • Jitters
  • Restlessness and shakiness

If you experience any of these effects, you should probably consult a medical professional and stop drinking this energy drink at once.

Flavours Of Mother Energy Drink

Mother energy drink is available in seven flavours.

  • Original
  • Sugar-Free
  • Tropical Blast
  • Passion
  • Frosty Berry
  • Razzle Berry
  • Epic Swell (Australian exclusive)
Mother energy on the isles of super market
Mother energy in different flavours

Alternatives Of Mother Energy Drink

You cal also try these energy drinks that are pretty similar to that of Mother energy.

Final Verdict

Mother energy drink is exclusively gluten-free energy drink. All its ingredients are probably synthetic or based on plant origin. None of them is extracted from wheat, barley, or any gluten-containing grains.

Mother energy is a good energy drink that contains caffeine, sugar, and nutrients like taurine and vitamin B complex.

Although the amount of all other nutrients is pretty optimum, it has way too much sugar. It gives you a nice energy boost that can help you with your daily routine and any intensive workout.

But it would help if you stuck to only one can per day. If you want to drink more than a can, you should probably opt for its sugar-free version.

Related Articles