Is 3D Energy Drink Vegan? (Truth of the Matter)

Yes, 3D energy drinks are indeed vegan!

The vegan status of this drink is confirmed on their website, so you can rest assure that this beverage can be a safe addition to your vegan diet.

But there are a few gray areas that might lead you to reconsider whether or not 3D Energy is vegan-friendly.

For reference, a standard can of 3D Energy is infused with B-Vitamins, 200 mg caffeine, 15 calories, and energy-boosting ingredients, which are blended to give a burst of energy.

For now let’s see if this drink is really vegan or not.

Let’s get started, shall we?

Is 3D Energy Truly Vegan? Find Out!

What is in 3D Energy Drink?

Here’s a quick list of the ingredients used in 3D Energy Drink:

  • Carbonated Water
  • Citric Acid
  • Erythritol
  • Sodium Citrate
  • Natural and Artificial Flavor
  • Caffeine
  • Sucralose
  • Sodium Benzoate
  • Potassium Sorbate
  • Gum Acacia
  • Acesulfame Potassium
  • Vitamin B3 (Niacinamide)
  • Sodium Chloride
  • Vitamin B5 (Pantothenic acid)
  • Vitamin B6 (Pyridoxine hydrochloride)
  • Vitamin B12 (Cyanocobalamin)
  • Taurine
  • Panax Ginseng Root Extract
  • L-Carnitine Tartrate
  • Guarana Seed Extract
  • Inositol
  • D-Glucuronolactone

The long list of ingredients for 3D Energy probably made you more perplexed about 3D Energy Drink’s vegan status. But don’t worry, I’m going to make it easy for you.

The table below will help you get a clear idea about the sources and vegan status of the ingredients used in 3D Energy Drink.

Ingredients in 3D EnergySource
Caffeineplant-based
Carbonated Watersynthetic
Citric Acidplant-based
Vitamin B3 (Niacinamide)synthetic
Vitamin B5 (Pantothenic acid)usually synthetic
Vitamin B12 (Cyanocobalamin)fungal, bacterial, synthetic
Vitamin B6 (Pyridoxine hydrochloride)synthetic
D-Glucuronolactoneplant
L-Carnitine Tartratesynthetic
Sodium Chlorideseawater/ mineral deposits
Taurineusually synthetic
Guarana Seed Extractplant-based
Gum Acaciaplant-based
Panax Ginseng Root Extractplant-based
Acesulfame Potassiumsynthetic
Potassium Sorbatesynthetic
Sucralosesynthetic
Natural and Artificial Flavorsplant-based/ synthetic
Erythritolplant-based
Sodium Citratesynthetic
Sodium Benzoatesynthetic
Ingredients of 3D Energy and their sources

In the table, we can see that most of the ingredients of 3D are either synthetic or sourced from plants.

However, if you’re still doubtful, I’ve done an extensive breakdown of all the major ingredients of 3D Energy Drink to show their vegan status.

So, keep reading!

Is the Caffeine used in 3D Energy Drink Vegan?

Since caffeine either comes from plants or is synthetically produced, it’s totally vegan friendly.

Caffeine is the primary ingredient of energy drinks that gives you a short-term boost, making you feel more alert. 3D Energy Drink contains 200 mg of caffeine per 16 fl. oz can.

But although caffeine is vegan-friendly, you must be careful about keeping your caffeine consumption within the recommended limit.

The FDA advises a daily caffeine intake of no more than 400 mg, which implies you can drink up to two cans of 3D Energy drinks.

However, regardless of your caffeine tolerance, I do not recommend consuming more than one can of 3D Energy because you might potentially overdose yourself in the process.

Are the Artificial Sweeteners used in 3D Energy Vegan?

Are the Artificial Sweeteners used in 3D Energy Vegan?

3D Energy contains chemical sweeteners like sucralose, acesulfame potassium, and erythritol, all of which are vegan-friendly.

Sucralose is a calorie-free sweetener synthesized in laboratories, which is 400 to 700 times sweeter than normal sugar.

Acesulfame K, also known as Ace-K, is also a calorie-free sweetener mostly used in sugar-free food. But since it’s sometimes tested on animals, there has been a debate over whether or not it is vegan.

Erythritol is obtained from fully natural sources, has no side effects, and is nearly identical to sugar, except without the calories.

Overall, if you’re a moral vegan, you should really look into these artificial sweeteners before adding it to your food or beverage.

However, it’s worth mentioning that although they have the vegan label on them, they’re not considered fully safe for your health.

Both Acesulfame K and sucralose are known to have certain properties that can be detrimental to your health but you should be fine as long as you keep your intake within a healthy limit.

Are the B-Vitamins in 3D Energy Drink Vegan?

Just like most energy drinks, 3D Energy contains a bunch of B-Vitamins, and they are mostly sourced from plants or synthesized in laboratories.

Here’s a list of the B-Vitamins found in 3D Energy:

  • Vitamin B3 (Niacin)
  • Vitamin B5 (Pantothenic Acid)
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12

Out of all these B-Vitamins, there are doubts regarding the vegan status of vitamin B12 because it’s often obtained from animals. You may find it inconvenient if you follow a strict vegan diet.

Since we don’t know the exact source of the vitamin B12 used in 3D Energy Drink, it’s entirely up to you to choose whether you find it suitable for your vegan diet.

Are the Preservatives Used in 3D Energy Drink Vegan?

Are The Preservatives Used in 3D Energy Vegan?
What About The Preservatives Used in 3D Energy?

The preservatives used in 3D Energy are sodium benzoate and sodium citrate, both of which are vegan-friendly.

Sodium benzoate and sodium citrate are safe to consume at a certain level.

Generally, a moderate level of preservatives in food is regarded harmless. But excessive use can result in various negative health effects.

Therefore, I’d advise you to keep your consumption of 3D Energy to a minimum level since the exact amount of preservatives present in the drink isn’t known.

Is the Taurine used in 3D Energy Drink Vegan-Friendly?

Energy drink companies like 3D use synthesized taurine in their drinks. So there’s no need for you to stress over its vegan status.

Taurine is a kind of amino acid that is naturally formed in the human body and has several advantages such as:

  • boosts metabolism
  • helps prevent neurological and cardiovascular diseases
  • protection against muscle damage and brain aging
  • improves overall performance

It’s true that taurine once used to be obtained from animals. But, in recent times, it’s synthesized in laboratories.

So, we can all assume that the taurine used in 3D Energy is vegan-friendly!

Is 3D Energy Drink Vegan?

Is 3D Energy Drink Vegan?
Can you include 3D Energy in your vegan diet?

I believe it’s safe to assume that 3D Energy Drink is truly vegan and suitable for a vegan diet. It’s a healthy vegan energy drink that does not include any animal-derived ingredient.

However, you still might be worried regarding the exact source of the vitamin B12 used in 3D Energy Drink and the matter of the artificial sweetener being tested on animals.

That’s why I would recommend directly contacting the company to ensure the vegan status of these particular components.

I’ve met a lot of vegans who have unhesitantly included 3D Energy into their meals. So, if you don’t seem to mind the vegan status of the sweetener and vitamin, you may surely enjoy a can or two of 3D now and then.

Is 3D Energy Drink bad for you?

3D Energy Drink may not be bad for you if you consume it moderately.

But know that some of the ingredients of this drink could be bad for you if consumed long-term.

Overconsumption of energy drinks like 3D Energy is associated with a variety of health problems like cardiovascular disease, impaired oral health, and other adverse effects.

But you can always minimize your intake to prevent the common side effects of energy drinks in general. And I’d say it’s safest to limit yourself to one can of 3D Energy Drink every day.

I have explained further my take on whether or not 3D Energy could be bad for you through this article. Check it out!

Does 3D Energy Drink Actually Work?

3D Energy Drink definitely works when consumed in moderation.

With all of these powerful ingredients combined in a single can, I am confident that it will provide you with enough energy to last for few hours.

It’s an excellent choice for a morning or mid-day pick-me-up, as well as a pre-workout beverage.

Overall, it is an effective energy booster, in my opinion.

To learn more about whether 3D Energy actually works, check out this article I’ve written.

Is 3D Energy Gluten-Free?

Is 3D Energy Gluten-Free?
Does 3D Energy contain Gluten?

Although the company claims 3D Energy is gluten-free, they readily admit that the drinks do come into contact with wheat-based ingredients during the manufacturing process.

Yes! They are, however, manufactured in facilities that come into contact with products that contain wheat, milk, eggs, nuts, and shellfish. There hasn’t been a single case reported of any individual with these allergies experiencing any negative reactions after consuming 3D.

3Denergydrinks

So, if you’re on a gluten-free diet because of health conditions like celiac disease, to be safe, I wouldn’t suggest you have 3D Energy Drink.

However, the brand has mentioned that no adverse effects have been reported by people with wheat allergies so far. So the decision is totally up to you.

That being said, if you choose to incorporate 3D energy into your gluten-free diet, talk to your doctor beforehand to make sure it’s right for you.

3D Energy Drink Flavors

Did you know 3D Energy comes with a variety of delicious flavors? They’re perfect for every occasion. You just need to choose one according to your mood and taste!

  • Gold/Pinacolada
  • Chrome/Strawberry Lemonade
  • White/Grapefruit
  • Blue/Frozen Bombsicle
  • Red/Fruit Punch
  • Green/Citrus Soda
  • Purple/Grape
  • Orange/Orange Soda
  • Red, White, & Blue/Freedom Popsicle
  • Pink/Cotton Candy

For a detailed overview of the flavors, you can check the following video!

3D Energy Drink Flavor Review

Final Thoughts

3D Energy can be considered vegan-friendly as most of its ingredients are either plant-based or artificially synthesized.

Additionally, it has proven to be successful in giving a natural energy boost in a range of delightful flavors.

The only thing in 3D that might be unacceptable to a lot of vegan people is the testing of ingredients on animals.

So if you’re a strict vegan, you can contact the company and check whether their ingredients are manufactured in a vegan-approved process.

Also, be mindful of your consumption because just like any other energy drink, drinking too much 3D Energy can lead to various health problems.

All in all, 3D is a great option if you want an efficient energy drink that’s also vegan-friendly.

Jenny

The only thing I like more than a delicious energy drink is uncovering the TRUTH about energy drinks. Well, that's a bit of an exaggeration, but I like to share the facts that I uncover and I hope you find my words interesting and useful.

Read Next