Is Venom Energy Drink Vegan? (Answered)

A can of Venom Energy Drink
Venom Energy Drin

Venom is a very classic kind of energy drink. It contains lots of caffeine and sugar to give you that boost in energy. It doesn’t try to hide what it is by labeling itself as a “fitness drink”.

This energy drink is made by the makers of Dr. Pepper and 7-Up, both of which are very successful beverage brands in the USA. So, it’s safe to say that Venom knows what it is doing.

But we have to ask the question, is Venom Energy Drink vegan?

The short answer is: Although Venom has not officially been vegan certified, they use ingredients which are animal-free.

In order to understand to what extent they are vegan, we’ll be discussing that throughout this article. So, sit back and relax as we try to find out what the truth is about Venom Energy Drink.

Let’s get started…

Venom Energy Drink Nutrition Facts

Label of Nutrition Facts for Venom Energy Drink
Venom Nutrition Facts

The nutrition facts for a can of Venom Energy Drink.

NutritionAmountPercentage(%)
Calories230
Fat0 g0
Sodium300 mg13
Carbohydrate (with added sugar)57 g21
Added Sugar54 g108
Protein0 g0
Riboflavin200
Niacin200
Vitamin B6200
Vitamin B12200
Caffeine160 mg
Nutrition Facts Table for Venom Energy Drink

Venom Energy Drink Ingredients

Ingredients label for a can of Venom Energy Drink
Venom Energy Drink Ingredient List

The ingredients that are available in a can of Venom Energy Drink:

  • Carbonated Water
  • High Fructose Corn Syrup
  • Glucose
  • Citric Acid
  • Maltodextrin
  • Taurine
  • Sodium Citrate
  • L-Carnitine
  • Inositol
  • Sodium Benzoate (Preservative)
  • Potassium Sorbate (Preservative)
  • Niacinamide (Vitamin B3)
  • Natural Flavors
  • Sucralose
  • Ginseng Extract
  • Pyridoxine Hydrochloride (Vitamin B6)
  • Guarana Extract
  • Caramel Color
  • Riboflavin (Vitamin B2)
  • Cyanocobalamin (Vitamin B12)

Which Of These Ingredients Are Vegan Friendly?

The majority of ingredients found in Venom seem to not cause problems for vegans.

We can rule quite a few of these ingredients from this list as they don’t naturally or artificially come from animal by-products. They are:

  • Carbonated Water
  • High Fructose Corn Syrup
  • Glucose
  • Citric Acid
  • Maltodextrin
  • Sodium Citrate
  • Inositol
  • Sodium Benzoate
  • Potassium Sorbate
  • Ginseng Extract
  • Guarana Extract
  • Caffeine

All of these ingredients are either synthetically made in a lab or extracted from plants. So, we can confirm that these ingredients are relatively safe for vegans to have.

Is The Sugar Content Found In Venom Vegan?

Jar of sugar
Sugar by itself can be considered vegan

A 16 fl. oz can of Venom Energy Drink contains 54 g of sugar. It also contains sucralose, which is an artificial sweetener. Both of these components by themselves are not derived from animals. So, they can be considered safe for vegans.

Sucralose

Sucralose is a zero-calorie sweetener famously used in the production of Splenda. It’s made from a multi-step chemical process using regular sugar.

It’s approved by the FDA for general purpose use in 15 food categories, making it reliably safe to have.

Although there may be some concerns regarding the consumption of artificial sweeteners, since no animal products are involved, we can definitively say that it’s vegan-friendly in this regard.

Are The L-Carnitine Found In Venom Vegan?

L-Carnitine is a form of amino acid that’s naturally found in meat and dairy products. Its primary function is to burn body fat and convert it into energy.

L-Carnitine is primarily derived from animals, but they can be made synthetically as well. But, as Venom doesn’t clarify from which source L-Carnitine is taken from, we cannot definitively say that it’s vegan.

Are The B-Vitamins Found In Venom Vegan?

Picture of different kinds of Vitamins
Venom contains Vitamin B2, B3, B6, and B12

Most vitamins used in energy drinks are either synthetically produced or extracted from plants.

The vitamins found in Venom Energy Drink along with their sources.

VitaminSource
Vitamin B2 (Riboflavin)Synthetically made
Vitamin B3 (Niacin)Synthetically made
Vitamin B6Synthetically made
Vitamin B12Extracted from plants (yeast)
List of vitamins found in Venom Energy Drink

Is The Taurine Found In Venom Vegan?

Similar to L-Carnitine, Taurine is another form of amino acid that is needed for the body. It’s naturally found in animal products. However, most energy drink brands use a synthetic version of it, which is vegan-friendly.

Taurine can be found in meat, fish, and dairy products. It helps to maintain electrolyte balance, regulate good digestion by forming bile salts, support your nervous system, improves your immune system, etc.

I have linked a YouTube video on taurine describing what role it plays in energy drinks.

Role of taurine in energy drinks

Is The Flavoring Used In Venom Vegan?

Picture of an assortment of fruits
Venom is available in many different fruity flavors

Venom Energy Drink can be found in 8 different flavors. 5 of them are the regular variants, while 3 of them are low-calorie variants.

These flavors are:

  • Black Mamba
  • Death Adder
  • Killer Taipan
  • Mojave Rattler
  • Black Cherry Kiwi
  • Low Calorie Citrus
  • Low Calorie Strawberry Apple
  • Low Calorie Watermelon Lime

In the case of flavoring, manufacturers usually extract them from plants, fruits, or animals. Since Venom does not disclose the information where their natural flavoring comes from, it’s hard to say for sure if they are from animal by-products or not.

Is Venom A Healthy Drink For Vegans?

Most Energy Drinks contain a lot of added sugar

Venom is not a healthy drink for vegans. That is mainly due to the high sugar content.

Venom Energy Drink contains 54 g of sugar. According to the FDA, the daily recommended intake for added sugar should be limited to 50 g per day.

This means that having even a single can of Venom Energy Drink will be exceeding the recommended level by 4 g. This could have future health implications like:

  • high blood sugar
  • inflammation
  • weight gain
  • diabetes
  • fatty liver disease

To get a more deeper understanding of whether Venom Energy Drink is bad for you or not, you can read my other article here.

What Are Some Vegan Alternatives To Venom Energy Drink?

There are plenty of vegan energy drink options out there that is comparatively better than Venom such as:

All of these energy drinks are vegan-certified. So, you can have them without any worries.

Final Thoughts

To wrap it all up, Venom Energy Drink can be considered vegan, even without a proper vegan certified label on it. Most of the ingredients used are derived naturally or synthetically which makes it a good recommendation for anyone following a vegan diet.

However, if you’re a pure ethical vegan who does not want any sort of animal involvement in your food and drinks, then this may not be an ideal energy drink for you. In that case, my advice to you would be to only have products that are vegan certified and not base your decision only on the ingredient and nutrition label.

Since there are a few ingredients used in Venom that we cannot be 100% certain about whether it has any animal involvement, we cannot completely rule out if it is truly a vegan drink.

You should probably try doing research on some other vegan-friendly energy drinks, or you can contact the manufacturer directly if you have any specific questions.

If you want to have a full in-depth review of Venom Energy Drink, then you can also check out my article here.

Other Related Topics

Jenny

The only thing I like more than a delicious energy drink is uncovering the TRUTH about energy drinks. Well, that's a bit of an exaggeration, but I like to share the facts that I uncover and I hope you find my words interesting and useful.

Recent Posts