Is Venom Energy Drink Gluten-Free? (Expounded)

venom energy drink
Venom Energy Drink

From the company that brought you Dr. Pepper and 7-Up, Venom Energy Drink follows Monster’s footsteps, offering a sugary, caffeinated energy drink to keep you wide awake while the boost lasts.

Now, you’re probably wondering about my take on Venom and how its ingredients hold up. Is it safe for people with celiac disease? Can we consider it to be gluten-free? Does it have gluten in it?

If you want a detailed review and a breakdown of Venom Energy Drink’s ingredients, stick with me to find out everything you need to know about Venom Energy Drink. From its ingredients, nutrition, and whether or not you should add Venom Energy to your gluten-free drinks list.

Let’s get started…

Venom Energy Drink Nutrition Facts

First up, let’s take a look at Venom Energy’s nutritional value in comparison to some other well-known energy drinks.

Typical Value
(Standard Serving)
Venom
(16 fl.oz)
Energy230 calories
Protein0g
Carbohydrate
(Of which Sugars)
57g
(54g)
Sodium300mg
Caffeine160mg
Vitamin B2 (Riboflavin)3.2mg
Vitamin B3 (Niacin)36mg
Vitamin B5 (Pantothenic Acid)
Vitamin B64mg
Vitamin B1212μg
Venom Energy Drink Nutritional Value

Venom Energy Drink Ingredients

The ingredients are always key to how effective or healthy an energy drink is, so I’ve listed here all the ingredients contained in Venom Energy Drink:

  • Carbonated Water
  • High Fructose Corn Syrup
  • Glucose
  • Citric Acid
  • Maltodextrin
  • Taurine
  • Sodium Citrate
  • L-Carnitine
  • Inositol
  • Sodium Benzoate (Preservative)
  • Potassium Sorbate (Preservative)
  • Niacinamide (Vitamin B3)
  • Natural Flavors
  • Sucralose
  • Ginseng Extract
  • Pyridoxine Hydrochloride (Vitamin B6)
  • Guarana Extract
  • Caramel Color
  • Riboflavin (Vitamin B2)
  • Cyanocobalamin (Vitamin B12)

How Many Calories Does Venom Energy Drink Have?

A 16 fl.oz can of Venom Energy has 230 calories, which is quite a lot.

Considering that the daily recommended caloric intake for healthy adults ranges between 2000 to 2400 calories for women and 2400 to 3000 calories for men, Venom has around 1/10th of your daily caloric intake.

Having too many calories a day for an extended period of time can lead to weight gain and other issues, so be prepared to burn off a lot of calories when you have a can of Venom Energy.

As a quick reminder, energy drinks such as Venom aren’t a substitute for actual meals, despite their high calories. So if you’re feeling a bit hungry, maybe put down the energy drink and grab a healthy bite instead.

In any case, it can’t be denied that a can of Venom Energy is a pretty easy source of energy for your cells, even if it isn’t the healthiest.

How Much Caffeine Is In Venom Energy Drink?

coffee beans
Caffeine Goodness

Each 16 fl.oz can of Venom Energy Drink has 160mg of caffeine.

Venom has a pretty average amount of caffeine for an energy drink, with 160mg being on par with Rockstar and Monster.

While it’s not the strongest energy drink on the market, it’ll certainly give you a boost when you need it.

Personally, I prefer my energy drinks to have somewhere between 50 to 100mg of caffeine per serving, so160mg is a bit more than what I’d usually choose.

Of course, depending on your caffeine metabolism, 160mg might be a good amount for you, so it really depends on your caffeine sensitivity to figure out how much caffeine you should have per serve.

Be warned though, the FDA recommends a daily caffeine limit of no more than 400mg per day, and too much caffeine may lead to some serious side effects, such as:

  • Insomnia
  • Shakiness
  • Anxiousness
  • Increased Heart Rate
  • Stomachaches
  • Nausea
  • Headaches

So, be sure to not have any other caffeinated beverages if you plan on having Venom Energy, and definitely don’t have too many cans of Venom in a day.

How Much Sugar Is In Venom Energy Drink?

sugar cubes
Sugar Cubes

There’s 54g of sugar in each 16 fl.oz can of Venom Energy Drink, which is around 4.3 tablespoons.

The American Heart Association (AHA) recommends a daily added sugar limit of no more than 25g for women and 36g for men. A can of Venom Energy definitely goes over that limit.

Just to put things in perspective, 54g of sugar is around 4.3 tablespoons, which is definitely not something you want to be having more than once a day. In fact, even doing that every day probably isn’t a great idea.

Having too much sugar over a long period of time can lead to a variety of potential health problems, most notably:

  • Weight Gain
  • Type II Diabetes
  • Increased risk of heart disease
  • Acne
  • Increased risk of depression

You’re also bound to end up with a sugar crash after the effects of Venom Energy wears off, mostly due to the spike and subsequent crash in blood sugar that the drink will cause.

Also, you should definitely choose another energy drink if you happen to be diabetic or have a pre-existing health condition. High sugar is already pretty bad for a healthy individual, so it’s going to be a lot worse if you’re not healthy to begin with.

Does Venom Energy Have Artificial Sweeteners?

Apart from sugar, Venom Energy Drink also contains artificial sweeteners, namely sucralose.

It’s pretty uncommon for an energy drink to double down on both sugar and artificial sweeteners, but Venom Energy is one of the rare ones that do it.

Sucralose is a zero-calorie sweetener, so it doesn’t really add any calories or nutritional value, which is great in a sugar-free energy drink.

The FDA has approved artificial sweeteners for general use, so it shouldn’t be all that worrying for you to have them in moderation.

And in any case, you should probably be more worried about Venom’s sugar content rather than it’s artificial sweetener content.

Is the Caffeine in Venom Energy Drink Gluten-Free?

Caffeine in Venom Energy Drink is absolutely gluten-free as it’s either derived from plants or synthesized in laboratories.

Caffeine is the main energy-boosting ingredient of most energy drinks. And Venom Energy Drink has about 160 mg of caffeine per 16 fl. oz. can.

Caffeine is responsible for a variety of benefits such as improved awareness, response speed, and keeping you awake.

However, the fact that caffeine is gluten-free doesn’t imply that it’s healthy to overconsume it.

Consuming more caffeine than you can tolerate or exceeding the FDA-recommended daily limit can be highly detrimental to your health.

So, it’s always a good idea to limit your intake of caffeinated beverages like Venom Energy Drink.

Is The Sugar In Venom Energy Drink Gluten-Free?

Venom Energy Drink contains 54 g of added sugar, none of which is gluten-based.

Natural sugars sourced from plants contain absolutely no gluten (like sugarcane). You don’t have to worry about the sugar of Venom Energy Drink not being gluten-free.

The high sugar content, on the other hand, is something you should be careful about, as it exceeds the daily intake limit.

Is Sucralose In Venom Energy Drink Gluten-Free?

Sucralose is a gluten-free artificial sweetener obtained through synthetic means. Therefore, it’s totally gluten-free.

However, artificial sweeteners like sucralose and acesulfame potassium can worsen certain digestive symptoms, which you should avoid if you’re gluten intolerant.

Of course, there isn’t a lot of sucralose in Venom Energy Drink. But considering that energy drinks are highly carbonated, you may want to opt for something else if you have stomach sensitivity.

Is Taurine In Venom Energy Drink Gluten-Free?

Taurine is a gluten-free organic amino acid that has no connection to the gluten protein compound found in wheat, barley, or rye products.

It’s a popular energy drink component, which is chemically distinct from gluten.

In terms of what taurine does, research suggests that it could be good for nerve development, as well as heart and brain wellbeing.

Is Maltodextrin In Venom Energy Drink Gluten-Free?

Although Maltodextrin comes from wheat, it’s gluten-free and is harmless to gluten-sensitive individuals.

So if you’re following a gluten-free diet, you can be assured that the maltodextrin in Venom Energy Drink won’t be a problem for you.

Is Venom Energy Drink Actually Gluten-Free?

Venom Energy Drink doesn’t seem to have any considerable traces of gluten and is unlikely to be cross-contaminated with gluten-based items.

Although Venom Energy Drink has no certifications of actually being gluten-free, it’s safe to say that it may actually be gluten-free

That being said, I would like to assume that it is safe to include Venom Energy Drink in a gluten-free diet. However, you need to consider the amount of caffeine and sugar in this drink as it can potentially cause harm to your health.

Even if Venom Energy Drink is gluten-free, it’s best to contact a healthcare professional if you decide to add this energy drink to your diet.

For further information, check out this full video review on Venom Energy Drink.

Venom Energy Drink Review

Other Gluten-Free Energy Drinks

If you like Venom Energy Drink, you might as well try one of these delicious and powerful gluten-free energy drinks:

Key Takeaways

Venom Energy Drink’s ingredients are totally gluten-free and it doesn’t use any rye, barley, or wheat-based product.

However, before including this energy drink in your gluten-free diet, I’d suggest you take your doctor’s opinion on it, especially if you’re diagnosed with celiac disease or other gluten-related issues.

All in all, I think Venom Energy Drink is a fantastic energy drink that can be safely added to a gluten-free diet.

So, sit back and chill while sipping on your favorite Venom Energy Drink.

Related Articles

Jenny

The only thing I like more than a delicious energy drink is uncovering the TRUTH about energy drinks. Well, that's a bit of an exaggeration, but I like to share the facts that I uncover and I hope you find my words interesting and useful.

Recent Posts