Is Uptime Energy Drink Vegan? (Deep Dive)

Uptime contains 142 mg of caffeine,150 calories, and 37 g of sugar. The brand’s use of cane sugar instead of regular sugar makes it exclusive.

But is it suitable for people with a vegan diet?

I will analyze all its ingredients deeply for you to make an educated choice about this drink. If you want to know more about Uptime and its ingredients, go ahead and read till the end.

Let’s get started…

Nutrition Facts Of Uptime Energy Drink

Here are the nutritional facts of the original and sugar-free versions of the Uptime energy drink.

Per 12 fl. oz
Per 12 fl. oz
Energy150 calories5 calories
Caffeine142 mg142 mg
Carbohydrates38 g(37 g sugar)1 g (0 g)
Proteins0 g0 g
Vitamin C9 mg9 mg
Calcium115 mg115 mg
Sodium 0 mg0 mg
Nutrition facts of Uptime energy drink
Image of nutritional facts of Uptime energy drink
Nutrients present in Uptime energy drink

Ingredients Of The Uptime Energy Drink

Uptime energy drink is available in two versions.

  • Original Uptime Energy Drink
  • Sugar-free Uptime Energy Drink

Here is the list of the ingredients of both energy drinks:


  • Natural Caffeine
  • Filtered Carbonated Water
  • Angelica Root Extract
  • Ascorbic Acid
  • Cane Sugar
  • Panax Ginseng Root Extract
  • Coenzyme Q10
  • Citric Acid
  • Natural Flavors
  • Calcium Citrate
  • Potassium Sorbate
  • Potassium Benzoate
  • L-Theanine


  • Natural Caffeine
  • Filtered Carbonated Water
  • Citric Acid
  • Natural Flavors
  • Calcium Citrate
  • Coenzyme Q10
  • Panax Ginseng Root Extract
  • Potassium Sorbate (Preservative)
  • Potassium Benzoate (Preservative)
  • Angelica Root Extract
  • L-Theanine
  • Ascorbic Acid
  • Sucralose

Are The Ingredients of Uptime Vegan?

Let’s have a look at the sources of every ingredient to determine their vegan status.

NutrientSourceIs it Vegan?
Natural CaffeinePlant-basedYes
Panax Ginseng Root ExtractPlant-basedYes
Angelica Root ExtractPlant-basedYes
Cane SugarPlant-basedYes/Unclear (Ethical Concerns)
Citric AcidOrganicYes
Calcium CitrateSyntheticYes
Potassium BenzoateSyntheticYes
Ascorbic AcidPlant-basedYes
Co-enzyme Q10SyntheticYes
Ingredients of Uptime Energy Drink

Calories In Uptime Energy Drink

Uptime energy drink has 150 calories in its original and 5 calories in the sugar-free version.

The daily calorie intake for men is 2500 while for women is 2000. This also depends on your lifestyle. If you have a sedentary lifestyle, you should consume fewer calories.

If you are on a low-calorie diet, you can opt for the sugar-free version of the Uptime energy drink. It’s not only vegan-friendly but also a healthy energy drink.

You can cross-reference the information given above with the PETA‘s List of animal derivative ingredients.

Is Caffiene In Uptime Energy Drink Vegan?

Image of green tea leaves from a green tea field
Green tea leaves-a natural source of caffeine

A single bottle of Uptime energy drink contains 142 mg of caffeine and is obtained from natural sources.

This caffeine can be obtained from natural sources and can also be made in the lab. The Uptime energy drink’s caffeine content is natural.

Caffeine can be derived from the following:

  • Cocoa Beans
  • Guarana Seeds
  • Kola Nuts
  • Green Tea Leaves
  • Coffee Beans

It would help if you didn’t consume more than the FDA‘s daily recommended dose of caffeine of 400 mg. Otherwise, you will experience things like:

  • Insomnia
  • Headache
  • Palpitations
  • Nausea
  • Tremors

Is Sugar In Uptime Energy Drink Vegan?

No one knows the type of cane sugar Uptime Energy Drinks uses, so I can’t say if the sugar is vegan.

While the organic, unrefined, and raw version of cane sugar is vegan, refined cane sugar is understandably a bit of a problem.

Since we don’t exactly know which version of cane sugar Uptime uses, it’s hard to conclude whether the sugar content in Uptime original is vegan.

Too much sugar can lead to sugar crashes along with other symptoms like:

  • Obesity
  • Cardiovascular Diseases
  • Acne
  • Type 2 Diabetes
  • Cancer
  • Depression
  • Cellular Ageing
A precise video to show you what sugar do to your body.

Although the sugar present in Uptime will give you a much-needed energy boost, long-term consumption can cause serious problems.

Is Artificial Sweetener In Uptime Energy Drink Vegan?

The sugar-free version of Uptime contains sucralose, which is a synthetic but vegan-friendly sweetener.

Sucralose is manufactured by processing table sugar multiple times. It’s 600 times sweeter than normal sugar.

It’s sold under the brand name Splenda and is FDA approved. It is generally recognized as a safe sweetener.

Is L-Theanine In Uptime Energy Drink Vegan?

L-Theanine is derived from green and black tea. It’s perfectly vegan.

The health benefits of L-Theanine are:

  • Eases anxiety and stress
  • Increases focus and attention
  • Boosts immunity
  • Treatment of tumor and cancer
  • Blood pressure management
  • Promotes relaxation
  • Improves sleep quality

Is Panax Ginseng Root Extract Vegan?

Panax Ginseng root is plant-based and vegan-friendly.

The several health benefits of ginseng root extract are:

  • Antioxidant
  • Enhance brain function
  • Improve sexual health
  • Boost immunity
  • Boost energy

Is Uptime Keto Friendly?

A decorative image showing the word keto
The Keto diet is meant for weight loss

Uptime energy drink contains 38g of carbs. Unfortunately, it isn’t keto-friendly. However, the sugar-free version of Uptime is keto-friendly.

A Keto diet is a diet consisting of a high content of proteins and fats but low carbs.

So you have to choose a sugar-free energy drink to complement your diet. Keeping this in mind, the sugar-free version of Uptime is your drink of choice as it has zero sugar and is low in calories.

Benefits Of Uptime Energy Drink

Uptime is packed with a lot of beneficial nutrients which can provide various health benefits such as;

  • Keeps you awake
  • Makes you feel refreshed
  • Increases focus and concentration
  • Boost physical performance
  • Improves athletic performance

Side Effects Of Uptime Energy

As long as you drink it in moderation, Uptime Energy shouldn’t cause you any side effects.

However, if you’re sensitive to caffeine, then you might experience these side effects.

  • Nervousness
  • Anxiety
  • Irritability
  • Nausea
  • Tremors
  • Sweating
  • Restlessness
  • Irregular Heart Rate

It’s better to have Uptime Energy is controlled amount to avoid these side effects.

Is Uptime A Healthy Energy Drink?

Uptime is a healthy energy drink if you consume it moderately, especially its sugar-free version.

The sugar-free version of uptime energy drink has zero sugar and only 5 calories in it. This makes it a healthy choice for those on a low-calorie diet or wants to lose weight.

However, in the case of the original version of Uptime energy drink, it is not healthy to consume it daily because of its high sugar content.

Moreover, you should also monitor your caffeine consumption along with sugar to avoid any risks.

How Much Uptime Energy Drink Can Drink In A Day?

You should not drink more than one bottle of Uptime energy drink in a day.

The caffeine content of Uptime energy drink is moderate. However, the sugar content of Uptime is already exceeding the daily set limit.

If you drink more than one bottle, you are bound to experience a sugar crash, which will not be a pleasant experience.

Just stick to a maximum of one bottle daily, and you can enjoy its benefits to the full extent.

Flavors Of The Uptime Energy Drink

A bottle of Uptime energy drink in blood orange flavor
Uptime energy drink in blood orange flavor

The Uptime energy drink is available in different fruity flavors.


  • Original Citrus
  • White Peach Lemonade
  • Blood orange


  • White Peach Lemonade
  • Original Citrus
  • Blood Orange
  • Mango Pineapple
  • Blueberry Pomegranate
  • Sweet Summer Melon

Alternatives Of Uptime Energy Drink

If you feel that Uptime Energy is not for you, or if you’re simply interested in other drinks, then feel free to check these out:

Final Takeaway

To sum it up, Uptime’s sugar-free version is entirely vegan friendly, while I am not so sure about the original one.

I have discussed the ingredients of the Uptime energy drink in detail. And you already know that the original version contains cane sugar which is not ethically vegan.

But overall, it is a good energy drink that will give you a steady energy boost. You can consume it to keep yourself energized and focused throughout the day.

It is packed with various healthy and beneficial nutrients. Aside from the context of vegan or non-vegan, if you want to have a healthy energy drink with some good supplements in it, you can surely buy this one.

Related Articles


The only thing I like more than a delicious energy drink is uncovering the TRUTH about energy drinks. Well, that's a bit of an exaggeration, but I like to share the facts that I uncover and I hope you find my words interesting and useful.

Recent Posts