Is Rockstar Energy Drink Vegan? (Truth Revealed)

A can of Rockstar Energy.
Rockstar Energy’s motto is “Party Like a Rock Star.”

Rockstar Energy is crafted for people with an active lifestyle from athletes, gym-goers, fitness enthusiasts, and even rock stars to provide sudden recovery from stressed conditions.

If you have an active and healthy lifestyle and want to go vegan, you can consider Rockstar Energy since it’s vegan-friendly and will definitely provide you with the boost you need for your active lifestyle.

Rockstar confirms that their energy drinks are suitable for vegetarians and vegans.

Do you want to know why? Read until the end and I’ll reveal the truth.

Nutrition Facts Of Rockstar Energy

Let’s check first the nutrition facts of Rockstar Energy.

NutrientsAmount
Per 16 fl. oz
Energy122 calories
Fat0g
Carbohydrates
(of which sugars)
26g
(24g)
Protein2.0g
Salt0.82g
Vitamin B316mg
Vitamin B61.4mg
Vitamin B122.5mcg
Ingredients and nutrition facts of Rockstar Energy.
Rockstar Energy’s backside of the can is where the ingredients and nutrition facts are printed.

Ingredients In Rockstar Energy

Here are the ingredients in Rockstar Energy.

  • Sucrose
  • Flavor Enhancer (Erythritol)
  • Taurine
  • Acidity Regulator
  • Flavoring
  • Acid (Citric Acid)
  • Caffeine
  • Guarana Extract
  • Ginseng Extract
  • Sucralose
  • Acesulfame Potassium
  • Glucuronolactone
  • Carbonated Water
  • Colors (Caramel E150c, Riboflavin E101)
  • Inositol
  • Vitamin B3
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12

Calories In Rockstar Energy

A Rockstar Energy 16 fl. oz can have 122 calories.

For future reference, you can consume 1600 to 2400 calories for females and 2000 to 3000 calories for males, which is the recommended intake based on the Dietary Guidelines for Americans.

Rockstar Energy calories are higher than other energy brands like Celsius, which only has ten calories, and G Fuel cans, which don’t have calories.

It might bother you if you’re on a low-calorie diet or trying to lose weight. Alongside consuming Rockstar, you can also consider the calories of other food you eat to maintain a healthy eating lifestyle.

If you’re seeking an alternative and you’re in for zero-calorie energy drinks, you might want to read my article about Best Zero-Calorie Energy Drinks.

Nonetheless, if you’re okay with Rockstar Energy’s calorie content, I can suggest this drink for you.

Is Caffeine In Rockstar Energy Vegan?

A cup of coffee beans with leaves.
Caffeine is plant-based.

A serving of Rockstar Energy contains 160mg of caffeine, and it’s vegan.

Caffeine is a plant-based stimulant. It’s naturally found in the leaves and fruits of several plants. And, it’s the most common ingredient in many food and drinks, such as:

  • Coffee
  • Chocolate
  • Teas
  • Soft drinks
  • Energy drinks
  • Yerba Mate drinks

If caffeine is consumed in moderation or if you follow the recommended daily intake, which is 400mg per day can provide several benefits, including:

  • Improves mood
  • Decreases the risks of depression
  • Stimulates brain function
  • Boosts metabolism
  • Burns fat
  • Enhances exercise performance
  • Protection against heart disease
  • Reduces the risk of type 2 diabetes
  • Liver protection

Is Sugar In Rockstar Energy Vegan?

Strawberry and a teaspoon of white sugar.
Sucrose is naturally found in fruits and vegetables.

Sugar can be found in fruits and vegetables. And for sure, the sucrose in Rockstar Energy is vegan.

Sucrose is the scientific name of table sugar. It’s found naturally in several fruits, vegetables, and grains.

It’s commonly used in many processed foods, like:

  • candy
  • ice cream
  • breakfast cereals
  • canned foods
  • soda
  • sweetened beverages

Sucrose in processed foods is usually extracted from sugar cane or sugar beets.

The amount of sugar in rockstar Energy is 24g per serving, almost at the maximum limit of sugar intake, which is 25g for women and 36g for men.

Overconsumption of sugar may cause several adverse effects, including:

  • weight gain
  • heart disease
  • acne
  • diabetes
  • depression
  • wrinkles
  • sugar crash
  • fatty liver
  • dental caries

So if you want a healthier option, you can switch to the sugar-free version of Rockstar Energy. You can also check out 10 Best Sugar-Free Energy Drinks for more no-sugar drink choices.

Are The Artificial Sweetener In Rockstar Energy Vegan?

Rockstar energy also contains artificial sweeteners namely, acesulfame potassium, and sucralose. Both are considered vegan.

Sucralose is an artificial sweetener that’s made out of sugar and is definitely plant-based.

It passes through a particular process that makes it calorie-free and 600 times the sweetness of sugar.

Mostly, sucralose is considered vegan since there’s no animal by-product in sucralose.

Nevertheless, ethical vegans never recognize sucralose as vegan-friendly. For some reason that animal testing is involved and causes the death of animals.

Apart from that issue, if you don’t consider yourself an ethical vegan and just want to follow a healthy diet and lifestyle. You can consider sucralose as a vegan.

Acesulfame potassium or Ace-K, on the other hand, is a mineral salt. It doesn’t require any animals to be killed or harmed when producing it.

And, therefore, it’s considered vegan.

Ace-K is commonly used in different food and drinks, such as:

  • carbonated drinks
  • fruit juices
  • beverage concentrates
  • tabletop sweeteners
  • dairy products
  • ice cream
  • desserts
  • gelatins
  • fruits and vegetables preserve
  • jam, jellies and marmalades
  • baked goods
  • confectionery
  • chewing gum
  • salad dressings
The video explains sucralose.

Are The Vitamins In Rockstar Energy Vegan.

The B Vitamins in Rockstar Energy are vegan since it’s plant-based and synthetically made in a lab.

Vitamin B3 or Niacin’s best plant sources are yeast, peanuts, and quinoa.

There are also animal by-products that are sources of niacin, including liver, chicken breast, fish, poultry, pork, and beef.

Vitamin B6 can be found in cereals, beans, vegetables, liver, meat, and eggs.

And lastly, Vitamin B12 sources are clams, beef liver, cereals, salmon, milk, yogurt, ham, and eggs.

However, these B Vitamins can be synthetically produced in the laboratory.

Is Taurine In Rockstar Energy Vegan?

The taurine content in Rockstar Energy is synthetically sourced and doesn’t originate in animal by-products, and is thus considered vegan.

Taurine is commonly found in animal-sourced foods, including:

  • Fish
  • Seafood
  • Meat
  • Poultry
  • Dairy products

It’s commonly combined with caffeine as ingredients in energy drinks and is believed to improve mental performance.

Study shows that vegans have lower levels of taurine compared to those meat-eaters.

But, nowadays, synthetic taurine is widely available in supplements and can consume by vegetarians and vegans.

So, the taurine contents in Rockstar Energy and other energy drinks are synthetically sourced for vegan drinkers.

Are The Ingredients In Rockstar Energy Vegan?

Here’s the summary of the ingredients of Rockstar Energy that shows if it’s vegan or not.

IngredientsSourceIs It Vegan?
CaffeinePlant-basedYes
SucrosePlant-basedYes
SucralosePlant-based
Synthetic
Yes
Acesulfame PotassiumSyntheticYes
B VitaminsSyntheticYes
TaurineSyntheticYes
Guarana ExtractPlant-basedYes
Ginseng ExtractPlant-basedYes
GlucuronolactonePlant-based
Synthetic
Yes
InositolPlant-based
Synthetic
Yes
ErythritolPlant-basedYes
Citric AcidPlant-based
Synthetic
Yes
Sodium citratePlant-basedYes
Caramel E150cSyntheticYes
Riboflavin E101Synthetic Yes

Is Rockstar Energy Vegan?

A plate with letters that's spelled out vegan.
Rockstar is suitable for vegans.

Based on the sources of the ingredients, Rockstar Energy is indeed vegan.

All of the ingredients in Rockstar Energy are vegan. They are plant-based and synthetically sourced.

No animal has been killed or harmed, and no animal by-product is present in Rockstar Energy ingredients.

So if you’re a vegan and a vegetarian, it’s safe for you to try Rockstar Energy.

What Happen If You Drink Too Much Rockstar Energy?

If you drink Rockstar Energy excessively, there are several adverse effects that you might experience.

Rockstar Energy contains 160mg of caffeine and 24g of sugar in one serving.

If you consume excessive sugar and caffeine, several health problems will arise, and you’ll experience the following:

  • Headaches
  • Migraines
  • Increased anxiety
  • Insomnia
  • Addiction
  • Jitters
  • Nervousness
  • Vomiting
  • Allergic Reactions
  • High blood pressure
  • Stress
  • Fatigue
  • Tooth enamel damage

To avoid those effects, you must drink Rockstar Energy in moderation.

Check out my blog regarding caffeine in energy drinks to know more about the ideal energy drink caffeine to take.

How Many Cans Of Rockstar Energy Can you Drink In A Day?

You can drink one can of Rockstar Energy in a day.

Consuming a can of Rockstar Energy a day is sufficient for your energy boost and mental alertness.

A can has 160mg of caffeine and 24g of sugar, and if you consume two cans, that will be a total of 320mg of caffeine and a whopping 48g of sugar.

When it comes to caffeine, 320mg is still within the maximum limit.

But alongside Rockstar Energy, you’ll be going to consume other food and beverage that contains caffeine and makes your intake go beyond the limit.

And, 48g of sugar is actually too much and beyond the maximum limit set by the health authorities.

In order for you to experience the benefits of Rockstar Energy, you must strictly stick to one can a day.

How Long Does Rockstar Energy Last?

A can of Rockstar Energy can give you an energy boost for 4 to 5 hours.

Given that Rockstar Energy contains caffeine that has a half-life of up to 5 hours.

If you drink Rockstar Energy, you’ll get 160mg of caffeine, and after 5 hours, you can still have 80mg of caffeine in your body.

Furthermore, the effects of Rockstar Energy from caffeine will reach their peak within 30 to 60 minutes after drinking and it might make you jittery.

After 10 hours, that will be the time that caffeine would go entirely out of your body.

If you’re curious about how strong is this energy drink, read my comparison article of Rockstar Energy and coffee.

What Are The Flavors Of Rockstar Energy?

Rockstar Energy has a total of 20 flavors that you can choose from.

  • Original Rockstar
  • Blackout
  • Boom Whipped Strawberry
  • Boom Whipped Orange
  • Punched Fruit Punch
  • Pure Zero Silver Ice
  • Pure Zero Watermelon
  • Recovery Lemonade
  • Revolt Killer Grape
  • Revolt Killer Citrus
  • Sugar-Free
  • Rockstar Sugar-Free
  • Rockstar Pure Zero
  • Rockstar Thermo
  • Rockstar Xdurance
  • Rockstar Juiced

What Are The Alternatives Of Rockstar Energy?

You can try the following energy drinks in replacement for Rockstar Energy.

Final Points

Rockstar Energy is definitely vegan. All of its ingredients are plant-based and synthetically sourced.

There are no animal by-products in every ingredient of Rockstar Energy.

Needless to say, Rockstar Energy aside from being vegan, has several benefits for you, but only if you’re going to drink it in moderation.

If you overconsume it, instead of getting the benefits, it’ll give adverse effects and health issues. And, if worsened, it can be detrimental to your health.

Just a piece of advice, drink Rockstar Energy in moderation and set a strict limit to one can a day.

Related Articles

Jenny

The only thing I like more than a delicious energy drink is uncovering the TRUTH about energy drinks. Well, that's a bit of an exaggeration, but I like to share the facts that I uncover and I hope you find my words interesting and useful.

Recent Posts