Is Reign Gluten-Free? (Find Out)

Quick Summary: Yes, Reign Energy Drink is gluten-free!

Reign does not have any traces of wheat, barley, and gluten-based components in its nutrition facts and ingredients. Based on this information, it’s safe to assume that Reign is a gluten-free beverage.

Reign Energy Drinks are caffeinated beverages endorsed for pre and post-workout exercises.

They have a powerful blend of amino acids, supplements, and 300 mg of caffeine that will definitely keep you up and about.

However, can this drink fit into every diet regimen, a gluten-free diet, in particular?

Well, you’re about to find out!

I highly suggest you keep on reading.

For starter, let get to the basics – what exactly is a gluten-free diet?

What is a Gluten-Free Diet?

gluten-free diet is a type of diet where you avoid food with gluten, which is a protein commonly found in wheat, rye, barley, and triticale (a combination of wheat and rye).

A gluten-free eating plan is a must for people with celiac disease and other gluten-related health conditions.

Celiac Disease refers to a condition where gluten triggers an autoimmune response in your small intestine. Over time, this autoimmune response damages the lining of the small intestine, resulting in the malabsorption of nutrients.

Aside from people with celiac disease, a gluten-free diet is a necessity for people with the following medical conditions:

  • Wheat Allergy
  • Gluten Ataxia
  • Non-Celiac Gluten Sensitivity

However, some people still follow a gluten-free diet even though they do not suffer from any of the aforementioned medical conditions.

This is because a gluten-free diet promises the following health benefits:

  • eases digestive symptoms
  • reduces chronic inflammation
  • boosts energy
  • promotes weight loss

If you want to know more about gluten, check out this cool video below.

WATCH AND LEARN: What is Gluten?

Now that you know all about gluten and why people go on gluten-free diets, let’s go back to Reign Energy Drink and inspect its ingredients to confirm whether or not this drink is gluten-free.

What Are the Ingredients in Reign?

The ingredients list of Reign Energy Drink on the back of the can.

To check whether Reign is gluten-free, we’ll inspect its ingredients closely.

Here is a list of Reign Energy Drink ingredients as seen on its packaging:

  • Carbonated Water
  • Citric Acid
  • Sodium Citrate
  • L-Leucine
  • Natural Flavors
  • Caffeine
  • L-Isoleucine
  • L-Valine
  • Sodium Benzoate
  • Sucralose
  • Potassium Citrate
  • Potassium Sorbate
  • Acesulfame Potassium
  • Niacinamide (Vitamin B3)
  • Magnesium Lactate
  • Coenzyme Q-10
  • Pyridoxine Hydrochloride (Vitamin B6)
  • Cyanocobalamin (Vitamin B12)

In the addition, the four varieties of Reign Inferno has the following additional ingredients:

  • L-Citrulline
  • Panax Ginseng Extract
  • Natural Caffeine
  • L-Carnitine
  • Green Tea Extract
  • Capsicum

The Inferno series contain more stimulants and amino acids, which in theory, greatly improves physical performance and alertness.

So you can think of it as an upgrade from the regular version of Reign Energy Drink. 

Just so you know, Reign does not have a direct label saying it is a gluten-free beverage. So, you better check the ingredients closely to ensure that it is safe on a gluten-free diet.

However, based on its ingredients list, I think it’s safe to say it has no traces of gluten.

According to the Food and Drug Administration, products that are explicitly labeled as gluten-free must contain less than 20 parts per million of gluten.

This amount is tested safe to consume by people with gluten-intolerance.

You can find other variations of the gluten-free label, such as:

  • naturally gluten-free food
  • prepared food that doesn’t have a gluten-containing ingredient
  • food that has not been cross-contaminated with gluten-containing ingredients during production
  • food with a gluten-containing ingredient that has been processed to remove gluten

Don’t be confused because all of these labels mean the exact same thing – they are gluten-free and safe to consume.

Just bear in mind that a wheat-free labeled product is completely different from a gluten-free product.

Wheat is one source of gluten but there may be other ingredients such as barley in the product that could trigger an autoimmune response. You may also suffer from other related symptoms like abdominal pain and diarrhea.

Now, let’s move on to Reign Energy Drink nutrition facts.

Reign Nutrition Facts

Nutritional Facts Label of Reign Energy Drink.

You can refer to the table below to get a clearer assessment of Reign Energy Drink nutritional value.

NutrientsAmount (16 fl. oz.)
Calories10
Protein0 g
Fat0 g
Carbohydrate3 g
Sodium200 mg
Potassium70 mg
Caffeine300 mg
Vitamin B321.6 mg
Vitamin B62.0 mg
Vitamin B126.25μg
Nutritional Information of Reign Energy Drink

The minimal calorie level in Reign makes it an ideal fitness beverage. When you’re trying to curb your weight, you watch what you eat; and a low-calorie beverage like Reign is a perfect choice. Additionally, you don’t have to worry about excessive sugar intake because Reign Energy Drink is sugar-free.

However, the main source of worry in the formulation of Reign is its caffeine content. With 300 mg of the stimulant, this energy drink is almost at the limit of the recommended safe daily intake of caffeine.

As you probably know, too much caffeine in the body may lead to adverse effects and symptoms related to caffeine overdose. 

These include but are not limited to:

  • insomnia
  • anxiousness
  • increased heart rate
  • digestive issues
  • nausea
  • headaches

For reference, the FDA recommends that you limit your daily caffeine intake to a maximum of 400 mg to avoid overdosing from the stimulant.

So, while the amount of caffeine in Reign is still within the permissible range, it is close to the limit and increases your risk of suffering from caffeine overdose.

Going back to our main question, we can infer here that Reign does not contain any traces of glutinous ingredients.

Is Reign Bad for You?

Reign is not bad for you if consumed in low amounts.

However, it is not an advisable drink for children, lactating women, pregnant women, and people with low caffeine tolerance due to its high caffeine level.

According to the American Academy of Pediatrics, energy drinks should be completely off-limits to children because it may have adverse effects on their development.

Similarly, studies show children are more prone to experience palpitations, sleeping problems, headache, nausea, vomiting, diarrhea, and seizures due to energy drinks.

For that reason, Reign is bad for the young ones!

On the flip side, it works fine as an energy booster. The 300 mg caffeine can certainly give you an all-day boost.

For an in-depth explanation of this topic, please refer to this article.

Is Reign Energy Drink Gluten-Free?

Reign Energy Drink is gluten-free!

Yes! Reign is definitely a gluten-free beverage.

Based on the ingredient list above, there are no traces of wheat, barley, rye, or other glutinous ingredients on this drink.

So, it is a safe drink for you if you’re someone living with gluten-related conditions such as celiac disease, wheat allergy, and non-celiac gluten sensitivity.

Is Reign Energy Drink Healthy?

In my opinion, Reign Energy Drink is not that healthy because of the chemical based ingredients used on its formulation.

Let’s face it, most energy drinks aren’t healthy.

But Reign does contain vitamins and supplements making it quite an acceptable drink, in general. Also, it is a sugar-free beverage which is convenient if you’re following a low-sugar diet.

Curious to know what kind of vitamins you can obtain from a can of Reign?

Check out this table!

Health BenefitsRole
Vitamin B3helps the body release energy; keeps skin healthy.
Vitamin B6stores energy from protein and carbohydrates; healthy formation of red blood cells
Vitamin B12releases energy from food; forms red blood cells; keeps the nervous system healthy
B-Vitamins found in Reign and their roles.

Aside from these B-Vitamins, your body also receives a boost from the three types of amino acids, namely;

  • L-Isoleucine
  • L-Valine
  • L-Leucine

For a thorough review of Reign Energy Drink, go read this article.

Is Reign Energy Drink Made by Monster?

Reign is another product of Monster Beverage Corporation.

Yes, Reign Energy Drink is made by Monster!

Reign was launched in 2019 by the Monster Beverage Corporation and it comes in 16 different flavors which are:

  • Cherry Limeade
  • White Gummy Bear
  • Lilikoi Lychee
  • Melon Mania
  • Sour Apple
  • Carnival Candy
  • Razzle Berry.
  • Strawberry Sublime
  • Mang-O- Matic
  • Peach Fizz
  • Lemon Hdz
  • Orange Dreamsicle
  • Reign Inferno Red Dragon
  • Reign Inferno Jalapeno Strawberry
  • Reign Inferno True Blu
  • Reign Inferno Watermelon

Indeed, that’s quite a range of flavor choices! With this list, you can certainly pick a flavor to your liking.

Also, aside from Reign, Monster Beverage Corporation also market the following energy drink brands:

  • NOS
  • Full Throttle
  • Burn
  • Samurai
  • Relentless
  • Mother
  • Power Play
  • BU
  • Nalu
  • BPM
  • Gladiator
  • Ultra Energy
  • Mutant
  • Predator

What Energy Drinks are Gluten-Free?

For your reference, here’s are some gluten-free energy drinks that are worth trying:

What Drinks Contain Gluten?

You should avoid these drinks if you think you are sensitive to gluten:

  • lagers
  • dessert wine
  • wine coolers
  • ales
  • beers
  • malt beverages

The Bottom Line

So, there are no traces of wheat, rye, barley, and other gluten-based ingredients in Reign.

Therefore, it is considered a gluten-free beverage!

Still, I suggest performing due diligence before consuming this drink to confirm if all ingredients are truly gluten-free and safe to drink for someone with gluten issues.

Also, talk to your doctor before including Reign to your gluten-diet.

A standard can of Reign contains a low amount of calories, zero sugars, zero fats, B-Vitamins, and massive caffeine. That much content in a single can certainly give you a quick boost.

Undeniably, the main concern is, its high caffeine levels. So, you shouldn’t drink more than a single can a day for safety.

But for now, you can rest assure that Reign is a gluten-free drink. That said, grab a can now and let’s drink to that!

Jenny

The only thing I like more than a delicious energy drink is uncovering the TRUTH about energy drinks. Well, that's a bit of an exaggeration, but I like to share the facts that I uncover and I hope you find my words interesting and useful.

Read Next