Is Raze Energy Drink Vegan Friendly? (Answered)

Raze Energy Drink
Raze Energy Drink

Let’s take a closer look at Raze Energy Drink, one of the prominent pre-workout energy drinks available in the market, to answer a fairly simple question about it:

Is Raze Energy Drink suitable for vegans?

The short answer is that Raze does advertise itself as being vegan-friendly, so it should be perfectly alright to have a can of Raze even if you follow a vegan diet.

But if you still doubt Raze’s claim, let’s dive deeper into Raze Energy Drink’s ingredients and their sources to find out just how vegan their drink is in addition to its dietary insights.

Let’s get started…

Raze Energy Drink Ingredients

First off, let’s take a look at Raze Energy Drink’s ingredients and see if there’s anything of interest:

  • Carbonated Water
  • Citric Acid
  • reFRESH Performance Complex (Betaine Anhydrous, Caffeine Anhydrous, Taurine, Potassium Citrate, L-Tyrosine, Choline Bitartrate
  • BCAA Aminos (L-Leucine, L-Isoleucine, L-Valine)
  • Carnitine L-Tartrate
  • Alpha GPC
  • Caffeine Citrate
  • Natural and Artificial Flavors
  • Sucralose
  • Potassium Sorbate
  • Sodium Benzoate
  • Acesulfame Potassium
back of the can
Ingredients and Nutrition Facts

Raze has its own in-house nutrition complex called the reFRESH Performance Complex.

Ingredient complexes are pretty tricky to evaluate, considering we don’t really know how much of the actual ingredients are in the complex (unless you happen to take an energy drink to an actual lab).

So it’s best to take any possible benefits of an ingredient complex, such as those found in Raze, with a grain of salt.

Now, let’s get back to figuring out if Raze is vegan.

Are Raze Energy Drink Ingredients Vegan?

Now that you’ve got an idea about the ingredients in Raze, let’s take a closer look at each of their properties and source.

IngredientsPropertiesSourceIs It Vegan?
Citric AcidNatural preservative, adds a sour taste to the drinkPlant-based/
Synthetic
Yes
Betaine AnhydrousPossibly improves exercise performanceSyntheticYes
Caffeine AnhydrousStimulantPlant-based/SyntheticYes
TaurineStimulates metabolismSyntheticYes
Potassium CitrateAcidity RegulatorSyntheticYes
L-TyrosineAmino AcidSyntheticUsually Vegan
Choline BitratrateDietary supplementPlant-based/ SyntheticYes
BCAA Aminos ((L-Leucine, L-Isoleucine, L-Valine))Essential amino acidsSyntheticYes
Carnitine L-Tartrateweight loss, may have an impact on brain functionOrganic/Plant-based/SyntheticUsually Vegan
Alpha GPCPossibly improves brain functionSyntheticYes
Caffein CitratePossible stimulantSyntheticYes
SucraloseSweetenerSyntheticYes
Potassium SorbatePreservativeSyntheticYes
Sodium BenzoatePreservativeSyntheticYes
Acesulfame PotassiumSweetenerSyntheticYes
Details of all the ingredients in Raze.

I’ve personally cross-referenced the table above with PETA’s animal-derivative ingredients list, so everything should be up to scratch.

While almost all of the ingredients above are synthetically sourced or plant-based, there are a few that are somewhat questionable on the vegan scale, namely L-Tyrosine and Carnitine L-Tartrate.

While almost all of the ingredients above are synthetically sourced or plant-based, there are a few that are somewhat questionable on the vegan scale, namely L-Tyrosine and Carnitine L-Tartrate.

Is L-Tyorsine in Raze Vegan-Friendy?

Since Raze states that its product is vegan, we can assume that the L-Tyrosine in Raze is derived from plant or synthetic material.

L-Tyrosine is an amino acid that assists in memory and countering the effects of sleep deprivation, which makes it a pretty useful energy drink component.

L-Tyrosine is often derived from synthetic or plant sources, but some variations are sourced from animals, which could make it non-vegan.

While the L-Tyrosine in Raze is vegan-friendly, it’s not always the case in other energy drinks, so be sure to check with the manufacturer before having any.

Is Carnitine L-Tartrate in Raze Vegan-Friendly?

Since Raze is advertised as being vegan-friendly, we can generally assume that the carnitine content is from a plant-based or synthetic source.

Interestingly, if you’re vegan or vegetarian, you would probably have a lower level of carnitine present in your system; hence, the carnitine present in Raze may be helpful in supplementing your needs.

Of course, if you’re vegan and are concerned about the carnitine levels in your body, you should probably opt for supplements instead of having a can of Raze, as that would be more beneficial.

Are BCAAs in Raze Vegan-Friendly?

As BCAAs can be extracted from plants, it’s safe to assume that the BCAA in Raze is vegan-friendly.

BCAAs, or branch-chained amino acids, are essential nutrients that bring loads of benefits, and since the body can’t produce it by itself, the only way you can get BCAAs is from outside sources,

Considering that Raze is claimed to be overall vegan-friendly, the BCAA content should be sourced synthetically or is plant-based.

How Much Caffeine Is In A Raze Energy Drink?

coffee beans
Pure Caffeine

Each 16 fl.oz can of Raze Energy Drinks contains 300mg of caffeine from a mixture of caffeine anhydrous and caffeine citrate.

Raze isn’t satisfied with giving you regular caffeine, instead offering you a combination of caffeine anhydrous and caffeine citrate, which are both from synthetical sources and are thus vegan-friendly

Caffeine anhydrous is simply more concentrated caffeine, though research has yet to find evidence on if it provides a significant boost in sports performance when compared to regular caffeine.

On the other hand, caffeine citrate is an odd ingredient to have, considering it’s mostly used for short-term treatment for breathing problems in premature infants.

Caffeine citrate supposedly works faster than regular caffeine, with the downside being you only get half the regular caffeine’s kick from a similar serving of caffeine citrate.

That said, overall, Raze contains 300mg of caffeine and is one of the strongest energy drinks available on the market.

Do note, however, that the FDA sets a recommended daily limit of no more than 400mg of caffeine per day, where having any more than that can lead to some possible serious side effects, such as:

  • Restlessness
  • Insomnia
  • Headaches
  • Dizziness
  • Increased Heart Rate
  • Dehydration
  • Anxiety
  • Dependency

I doubt you’d want any of these side effects, so be sure that you stay below the caffeine limits. With that said, do note that while the proposed caffeine limit is 400mg, your mileage may vary depending on a whole host of factors.

This difference may be due to how we metabolize caffeine at a different rate. If you have a slower metabolism rate, you will feel the full effects of caffeine even though you may have only taken a few sips.

As such, be aware of your own personal tolerances before downing a can of Raze Energy Drink; while caffeine can definitely be beneficial to you, you can certainly have too much of a good thing.

How Much Sugar Is In A Raze Energy Drink?

You’ll be glad to know that Raze Energy Drink is entirely sugar-free, but it does, however, contain artificial sweeteners, namely sucralose and acesulfame potassium.

According to the American Heart Association (AHA), the limit of consuming added sugars are:

Men150 calories / day37.5 g or 9 tsp.
Women100 calories / day25 g or 6 tsp.
Sugar Limits for Men and Women

Always consume sugars in moderation. You don’t want to get addicted to them, as too much sugar will lead to the following:

Short-Term Effects:

  • Low Energy Levels (Sugar Crash)
  • Low Mood
  • Fatigue
  • Bloating

Long-Term Effects:

  • Acne
  • Weight Gain / Obesity
  • Type 2 Diabetes
  • High-Blood Pressure
  • Accelerate Skin Aging Process
  • Fatty Liver
  • Cavities
  • Increased Risk of Cancer

With Raze being sugar-free, you don’t have to worry about the health and nutritional impact of sugar which will also save you from doing a lot of math as you won’t need to calculate its calorie content.

Apart from health reasons, Raze being sugar-free also means that you don’t have to worry about the possibility of sugar being processed through bone-char, which would be an issue if you’re an ethically-focused vegan.

As a plus, you also get to avoid the dreaded sugar crash, as the lack of sugar means that Raze doesn’t raise your overall blood-sugar level, which means that there wouldn’t be a drop either.

On the other hand, Raze Energy Drink does contain sucralose and acesulfame potassium. Both ingredients are zero-calorie sweeteners and shouldn’t add anything to the drink’s overall nutritional content.

If you’re concerned about artificial sweeteners, don’t worry because the FDA has approved them for general use.

Therefore, as long as you aren’t constantly drinking cans of Raze (bad idea by the way), you should be alright.

Is Raze Energy Drink Actually Vegan-Friendly?

While not officially certified by any formal body, Raze does seem to meet all the requirements of a vegan-friendly energy drink.

Considering that Raze’s official website and Amazon page states that the energy drink is vegan-friendly, there shouldn’t be any concerns about having the drink if you’re vegan from both a health and ethical perspective.

Still, Raze isn’t officially vegan-certified, so if you want some peace of mind, there are plenty of other vegan energy drinks out there that won’t have you scrutinizing their ingredients.

But, if you need that energy boost before a workout or simply a drink to wake you up, Raze is still a pretty good choice.

For more in-depth knowledge, I’ve linked down a video review for you to watch.

RAZE Energy Drink Review

Raze Energy Drink Flavors

Raze Energy Drink comes in a variety of fruity and candy-like flavors, so even without sugar, it’ll definitely sate your sweet tooth. Below are some of its flavors:

  • Baja Lime
  • Voodoo
  • Apollo
  • Galaxy Burst
  • Guava Mango
  • Strawberry Colada
  • Sour Gummy Worms
  • Watermelon Frost
  • Grape Bubblegum
  • Phantom Freeze

Alternative Vegan Energy Drinks

Want other vegan alternatives to Raze? Take a look at these and see if any of them grab your interest:

Key Takeaways

To wrap it all up, Raze Energy Drink can be considered vegan, even without a proper vegan certified label on it. Most of the ingredients used are derived naturally or synthetically which makes it a good recommendation for anyone following a vegan diet.

However, if you’re a pure ethical vegan who does not want any sort of animal involvement in your food and drinks, then this may not be an ideal energy drink for you.

In that case, my advice to you would be to only have products that are vegan certified and not base your decision only on the ingredient and nutrition label.

Since there are a few ingredients used in Raze Energy Drink that we cannot be 100% certain about whether it has any animal involvement, we cannot completely rule out if it’s truly a vegan drink.

You should probably try doing research on some other vegan-friendly energy drinks, or you can contact the manufacturer directly if you have any specific questions.

Related Articles

Jenny

The only thing I like more than a delicious energy drink is uncovering the TRUTH about energy drinks. Well, that's a bit of an exaggeration, but I like to share the facts that I uncover and I hope you find my words interesting and useful.

Recent Posts