Is NOS Gluten-Free? (Straight Facts)

Is your favorite energy drink gluten-free? Let’s find out!

It’s very easy for food or beverage containing gluten to slip into our diet accidentally. Sometimes, we forget to check, and other times it’s not clear whether these goods are gluten-free.

However, since you’re here, I’m more than willing to tell you about the gluten content of your go-to energy drink – NOS.

Short answer: All NOS Energy Drink flavors are 100% gluten-free. 

All six flavors of NOS Energy Drinks are gluten-free. This is good news for NOS drinkers on a gluten-free diet or those with medical conditions associated with gluten consumption.

In this article, I will share with you the common sources of gluten and how this can affect your body. Hopefully through this article, you will develop a deeper understanding of gluten and how you can watch out for it in your drinks or meals!

What is Gluten?

Gluten is the main component in bread and pasta!

Gluten is a group of proteins commonly found in cereal grains, wheat, rye, and barley. The most common grain rich in gluten is wheat.

As you may have guessed, gluten is usually found in bread and pasta. It is naturally found in baked goods too.

Now, you may think about how gluten affects your body. Well, the answer lies behind the two main proteins in gluten, namely: glutenin and gliadin.

Glutenin is the rubbery part of gluten that makes it a perfect ingredient in making dough. It keeps the dough elastic so it won’t break easily. Gliadin, on the other hand, is the component of gluten that allows the bread to rise during baking.

Of the two, experts believe that gliadin may have certain components that could affect the body.

What is Celiac Disease?

Gliadin is said to be the main reason behind the celiac disease

Simply put, celiac disease is a digestive disorder associated with gluten consumption. People who have celiac disease have bodies that react badly to gliadin because they don’t recognize this protein.

As a result, the body fights the gluten, and the overreaction damages the wall of their small intestine.

People with celiac disease are rarely diagnosed because its primary symptoms, diarrhea and stomach discomfort, are very common ailments. However, these minor warnings should not be ignored because the damage to the small intestine may worsen over time. 

Here are the other symptoms of celiac disease:

  • abdominal pain
  • anemia
  • bloating or a feeling of fullness
  • bone or joint pain
  • constipation
  • diarrhea
  • gas
  • heartburn
  • itchy, blistery rash (doctors call this dermatitis herpetiformis)
  • headaches or fatigue
  • mouth ulcers

However, keep in mind that celiac disease is different from gluten sensitivity.

What is Gluten Sensitivity?

If you want to learn more, go ahead and watch this clip!

Gluten sensitivity, meanwhile, is the body’s intolerance to gluten. It is also called “Non-celiac gluten sensitivity” because it’s not an autoimmune deficiency. 

There might be abdominal discomfort but there is no small intestine damage. A person with gluten sensitivity may experience pain and bloating after consuming food with gluten in them.

Based on my research, gluten sensitivity improves once you watch your diet and stay away from glutinous food and beverages.

Here is also a list of symptoms you can note if you suspect that you or your loved ones may be gluten-sensitive:

  • diarrhea and constipation
  • bloating
  • abdominal pain
  • fatigue
  • nausea
  • headaches

I know some of the symptoms of gluten sensitivity are very similar to celiac disease, so to be sure, you should still seek the opinion of a medical professional. This is because a doctor can conduct tests to determine if it’s gluten-sensitivity or celiac disease.

Now, let’s talk about NOS energy drinks and find out if they really are gluten-free.

Are NOS Energy Drinks gluten-free?

NOS Energy Drinks are gluten-free and wheat-free. So, you have nothing to worry about if you have celiac disease or if you’re gluten intolerant. 

You can still enjoy a can of NOS in all its six flavors without worrying about the side effects!

Based on my observation, energy drinks do not usually include gluten in their formulation. When it comes to energy drinks, I think your primary concern would be the sugar and caffeine levels.

For instance, the caffeine content in NOS is at 160 mg for every 16 fl. oz, which is fairly average. However, NOS does have a high sugar level at 54 mg, which is twice the daily suggested value by the American Heart Association.

As I have mentioned, energy drinks rarely contain gluten. It’s actually alcoholic beverages that usually contain gluten, so make sure to stay away from consuming the following:

  • beers
  • ales
  • lagers
  • malt beverages
  • dessert wines
  • wine coolers

Is Gluten-Free Food Effective For Weight Loss?

A gluten-free diet does not guarantee weight loss!

There is a widespread belief that restricting gluten consumption will lead to weight loss, but there is actually no conclusive evidence to support this claim.

Limiting gluten consumption is recommended only for people with celiac disease and gluten intolerance to prevent intestine damage or adverse side effects in the body.

If you don’t have these two conditions, there is no other reason to restrict yourself from eating glutinous food like pasta, bread, and pastries.

In fact, there are studies which reveal that eating whole grains containing gluten can improve heart health and lower cholesterol levels.

In my opinion, it is always healthy to maintain a balanced diet. Part of this is eating glutinous food in moderation. 

If you’re looking for ways to reduce weight, stick with the tried and tested weight loss methods like exercise rather than experimenting on your diet by avoiding glutinous food.

By sticking to known weight loss methods, you won’t have to deprive yourself of some of the benefits of eating whole grains! Additionally, you don’t have to wonder whether these methods will work or not because they’re already tried and tested.

Can Gluten Trigger Allergies?

Wheat allergy is another concern in eating food with gluten.

Eating food with gluten will not trigger other existing allergies that you may have. But people with wheat allergy may experience some of the common symptoms in an allergy attack.

Wheat allergy is an allergic reaction that occurs after eating food with wheat, or in some instances, inhaling wheat-based flour.

Health professionals say that you are likely to have a wheat allergy if you have other skin conditions such as eczema.

But if you’re an avid NOS buyer, you don’t have to worry about any of this! Like I’ve said before, NOS energy drink is definitely wheat-free!

What Other Energy Drinks Are Gluten-Free?

Aside from NOS, many energy drinks in the market are also gluten-free, like Monster, Game Fuel, and Full Throttle.

Let’s take a deeper look at each of them.

Game Fuel

Game fuel is best for gamers looking to improve their game performance!

Game Fuel is another 100% gluten-free energy drink. 

It comes from the same company that manufactures the popular soda Mountain Dew. As suggested by the name, this energy drink is perfect for gamers who need an energy boost and sharp focus during long hours of gaming.

It contains a reasonable amount of caffeine at 90 mg and sugar at 23 grams. These caffeine and sugar levels are acceptable based on the recommended daily intake.

Full Throttle

Full Throttle is another gluten-free energy drink!

For a different energy drink with a kick, you can also consider Full Throttle, which has a caffeine content of 160 mg per regular 16 fl. oz.

Like NOS and Game Fuel, it’s also gluten-free, so it is safe to consume for gluten-sensitive people.

Monster Zero Ultra

Monster Zero Ultra is a good deal for a cheaper price.

If you’re on a tight budget, your best choice would be Monster Zero Ultra.

Monster Zero Ultra is a gluten-free energy drink with less sugar than the regular Monster energy drink brand.

Compared to Monster, the Zero Ultra does not have 190 calories or an excess of 54 mg of sugar. That mean, you’ll feel energized without the excess calorie baggage.

A Final Word

You don’t have to miss out on energy drinks if you are gluten intolerant or have celiac disease, because NOS Energy drinks are gluten-free and wheat-free.

NOS Energy Drinks also have six flavors you can choose from – Original, GT Grape, Nitro Mango, Sonic Sour, Power Punch, and Turbo, so you’ll never run out of choices. 

I know it can get difficult to consistently watch out for your gluten consumption, especially if you’re gluten intolerant, but I hope this informative guide was able to help you out!

Drink NOS energy drink safely and moderately!

Jenny

The only thing I like more than a delicious energy drink is uncovering the TRUTH about energy drinks. Well, that's a bit of an exaggeration, but I like to share the facts that I uncover and I hope you find my words interesting and useful.

Read Next