Skip to Content

Is Mother Energy Drink Vegan? (Full Details)

Image of the sugar-free version and original version of Mother energy drinks
Is Mother Energy Drink Gluten-Free?

Mother energy drink has two versions: The original version and the sugar-free version. Are they both vegan?

To quickly answer that question, both versions of Mother energy drink are considered vegan.

This was officially stated on their website, which saves you a lot of time. However, it’s still a good habit to analyze the ingredients of Mother energy drink to see if it’s vegan.

If you want to know more about each ingredient of Mother energy drink, keep on reading.

Let’s start.

Nutrition Facts in Mother Energy Drink

Here are the nutrition facts for both the original version and sugar-free version of Mother energy drink:

Typical ValuesMother Original (500ml)Mother Sugar-Free (500ml)
Energy228 calories23 calories
Fat(Of which Saturated)0g (0g)0g (0g)
Carbohydrate(Of which Sugars)51g (51g)0.5g (0g)
Vitamin B3 (Niacin)9mg9mg
Vitamin B5 (Pantothenic Acid)3.3mg3.3mg
Vitamin B61mg1mg
Vitamin B120.5μg0.5μg
Always remember to read the nutrition facts of energy drinks before buying.
Ingredients of Mother energy drinks
What Are the Ingredients of Mother Energy Drinks?

Ingredients in Mother Energy Drink

The following are the ingredients of the original version and the sugar-free version of Mother energy drink:

Mother Original Version

  • Carbonated water
  • Sucrose 
  • Acidity Regulators (Citric Acid, Sodium Citrate) 
  • Taurine 
  • Flavour 
  • Colour (Caramel IV)
  • Potassium Sorbate
  • Caffeine 
  • Vitamins B2
  • Vitamin B3
  • Pantothenic Acid (B5) 
  • Vitamin B6 
  • Vitamin B12
  • Guarana Extract

Mother Sugar-Free Version

  • Carbonated Water 
  • Sweeteners (Acesulphame Potassium and Sucralose)
  • Acidity Regulators (Citric Acid, Sodium Citrate)
  • Taurine
  • Colour (Caramel IV)
  • Preservative (Potassium Sorbate)
  • Caffeine
  • Flavour
  • Vitamins [Niacin (B3), Pantothenic Acid (B5), Vitamin B6, Vitamin B12]

Are the Ingredients in Mother Energy Drink Vegan?

Both the original version and sugar-free version of Mother energy drink are considered vegan.

IngredientsIs it vegan?
Carbonated WaterYes
SucroseYes (Sucrose is not guaranteed to be vegan. However, Mother energy drink confirmed that their energy drinks are vegan.)
Citric AcidYes
Sodium CitrateYes
Flavour Yes
Caramel IV Yes
Potassium SorbateYes
Vitamin B2Yes
Vitamin B3Yes
Vitamin B5Yes
Vitamin B6Yes
Vitamin B12Yes
Guarana ExtractYes
All ingredients of Mother energy drinks (original version) are gluten-free.

Is the Caffeine in Mother Energy Drink Vegan-Friendly?

The caffeine in both versions of Mother energy drinks is safe for vegans.

Mother energy drinks are extracted from guarana. It’s undoubtedly vegan since it’s a plant from the Amazon basin.

Caffeine is the ingredient used to keep you awake, but it can also:

  • stimulate and manage your central nervous system
  • improve your memory
  • minimize your body fatigue
  • enhance your exercise performance

How Much Caffeine Is in Mother Energy Drink?

Mother Energy has 160mg of caffeine in a single serving for both original and sugar-free versions.

Side Effects of Caffeine:

  • Rapid heart rate
  • Anxiety
  • Insomnia
  • Muscle breakdown
  • Minor addiction
  • Loss of bladder control
  • High blood pressure
  • Digestive issues
  • Fatigue

Is There Sugar in Mother Energy Drink?

sugar cubes
How much sugar is in it?

The original version of Mother Energy Drink has 51g of sugar per can.

This amount of sugar for an energy drink is high. It exceeds the recommended intake of sugar, which I’ll explain later.

If you prefer drinking the original version of Mother energy drink, it would be best to know what to do after consuming too much sugar.

Here are some examples of what you need to do:

  • Consume some peanut butter
  • Do physical activities like taking the stairs
  • Drink tea with lemon
  • Eat some probiotic food
  • Prepare a healthy meal for later

Is the Artificial Sweetener in Mother Energy Drink Vegan?

The sugar-free version of Mother Energy Drink contains two artificial sweeteners that are vegan-friendly: Acesulfame Potassium and Sucralose.

Also known as ace-K, acesulfame potassium contains salt minerals. It has no animal ingredients, which makes it safe for vegans.

Sucralose is also safe for vegans. However, ethical vegans don’t consider sucralose as vegan-friendly. This is because animals are used for testing in the process of creating sucralose.

Side Effects of Sugar

Health associations suggest that daily sugar intake should be no more than 24g for women and 36g for men. This is because too much sugar can lead to side effects like:

  • Weight Gain
  • Stress
  • Increased Risk of Heart Disease
  • Higher Risk of Developing Acne
  • High Blood Pressure

Is the Taurine in Mother Energy Drink Vegan?

The taurine from the original version and sugar-free version of Mother energy drinks is vegan-friendly.

This ingredient is a type of amino acid that tends to be added to energy drinks.

Taurine can be found in meat, fish, and dairy. However, taurine in energy drinks and supplements is frequently synthesized. This makes taurine vegan-friendly.

Unlike other amino acids, taurine is a significant amino acid, but it doesn’t help make protein. It has a variety of functions in our bodies.

It has certain benefits like:

  • improving the health of your heart
  • fighting diabetes
  • protecting your liver cells
  • boosting your exercise performance

To know more about why taurine is added in energy drinks, here’s a video that thoroughly explains it:

What Is Taurine and Why’s It in My Energy Drink?

Is Mother Energy Drink Healthy?

Drinking Mother energy drinks is only bad for you if you consume too much of it.

The reason why Mother energy drink can be bad for you is only due to drinking too much. If you drink it moderately, it won’t affect your health.

Benefits of Going Vegan

A lot of people become vegan because of its benefits. Here are the following benefits of veganism:

  • There are a lot of nutrients that your body needs in vegan foods.
  • Becoming vegan alleviates your risk of suffering from cancer and other diseases as well.
  • You can boost your mood by consuming vegan products.
  • You can achieve a healthy body weight by consuming vegan products.
  • Veganism can help prevent you from getting type 2 diabetes.
  • Being vegan can be beneficial for your skin.
  • Pain of arthritis can be reduced when you consume vegan products.

Benefits of Mother Energy Drinks

Here are the benefits of drinking both versions of Mother energy drinks:

Mother Original Version

  • Enough caffeine to make you feel awake
  • Boosts your mood
  • Increases your reaction time

Mother Sugar-Free Version

  • Taste sweetness without the harmful effects of sugar
  • Enough caffeine to make you feel awake
  • Boosts your mood
  • Increases your reaction time

How Many Calories Are In A Single Can Of Mother Energy Drink?

Mother energy drink in a fridge
Mother Energy

The original version of Mother Energy has 228 calories in a 500ml can. On the other hand, the sugar-free version contains 23 calories in a can of 500ml.

The calorie content of the original version of Mother energy drinks is high. If you don’t want to gain more weight, the sugar-free version may be better for you.

You must know the recommended intake per day to avoid consuming too many calories.

Men shouldn’t consume more than 2,500 calories per day. On the other hand, women should limit themselves to only 2,000 calories per day.

How Many Cans Of Mother Energy Drink Should You Consume Per Day?

To be safe, only drink one can of Mother Energy in a day.

Although drinking energy drinks daily is not a good habit, limiting yourself to one can of Mother energy drink will not result in significant health issues.

One can of Mother energy drink has a significant amount of caffeine. If you drink more than one, your health may be jeopardized due to its side effects.

There are also other caffeinated goods you can consume throughout the day, such as coffee or chocolate.

Is Mother Energy Drink Keto-Friendly?

The original version of Mother energy drink isn’t keto-friendly, but the sugar-free version of Mother energy is considered keto-friendly.

Keto-diet means consuming fewer carbohydrates like sugar. Sadly, the original version of Mother energy drinks contains too much sugar.

If you want a keto-friendly energy drink, you should drink the sugar-free version of Mother energy drinks.

How Many Flavors Does Mother Energy Drink Have?

There are six flavours for Mother energy drinks, they are:

  • Frosty Berry
  • Sugar-Free
  • Original
  • Passion
  • Tropical Blast
  • Epic Swell (Australian exclusive)

Where Can You Buy Mother Energy Drink?

There are two options for you to buy both versions of Mother energy drinks. You can either buy them in physical stores or buy them through online sites.

If you prefer to buy products through physical stores, here are two physical stores that have both versions of Mother energy drink:

  • Target
  • Walmart

However, if you choose to buy online, here are a few sites that you can check out:

Other Vegan-Friendly Energy Drinks

assorted energy drink brands
Alternatives for Mother Energy

Besides Mother energy drinks, there are also other vegan-friendly energy drinks like:

Final Thoughts

Mother energy drinks are considered vegan-friendly. It’s confirmed on their website. Through analyzing its ingredients, it’s a vegan energy drink.

However, this energy drink might not be for you if you’re an ethical vegan since the creation of sucralose sometimes uses animals for testing.

The caffeine content of Mother energy drinks is sufficient enough to keep you awake. What only differs from the two versions of Mother energy drinks is the sugar content.

The original version has a lot of sugar, while the sugar-free version uses artificial sweeteners, which are less harmful than sugar.

Despite Mother energy drinks being vegan-friendly, it’s best for your health if you consume them moderately. Keep in mind that energy drinks are only harmful when you drink too much of them.

Related Articles