Is Moose Juice Vegan? (Honest Truth)

A bowl of salad.
Veganism is the practice of refraining from the use and consumption of animal products.

Moose Juice is an energy drink produced by Muscle Moose, a UK company famous for its fitness-focused product line.

Athletes, gym buffs, and people with an active lifestyle are mostly the consumer of Moose Juice.

However, if you’re on a vegan diet, you might wonder if Moose Juice is a vegan drink.

Here’s a quick answer: As per my researchMoose Juice may not be vegan-friendly because some of its ingredients may be animal-based.

But, if you want an accurate answer, you can check the Muscle Moose website.

You can also read this article until the end to understand how I came up with that answer.

Let’s begin.

Nutrition Facts Of Moose Juice

If you’re curious about this drink, might as well check its nutrition facts so you’ll know if this drink is suitable for you.

NutrientsAmount
Per 500ml can
Total Carbohydrates1.67g
Sugar0g
Total fat0g
Protein2.2g
Salt0g
Folic Acid400mcg
Vitamin B330mg
Vitamin B640mg
Vitamin B12500mcg
Caffeine 200mg
Energy15 calories
Nutrition Facts of Moose Juice
Nutrition facts of Moose Juice

Ingredients In Moose Juice

Here are the ingredients of Moose Juice.

  • Carbonated water
  • D-Glucuronolactone
  • Branch Chain Amino Acids (BCAA)
  • Taurine
  • Caffeine anhydrous
  • L-Tyrosine
  • L-Carnitine
  • L-Tartrate
  • Pyridoxine Hydrochloride
  • Nicotinamide
  • Sucralose
  • Choline Bitartrate
  • Acesulfame Potassium
  • Cyanocobalamin
  • Folic Acid
  • Flavourings
  • Malic Acid
  • Citric Acid
Ingredients of Moose Juice
Ingredients of Moose Juice

More information about its ingredients here: Moose Juice Caffeine And Ingredients.

Calories In Moose Juice

If you’re on a low-calorie diet, Moose Juice is suitable for you since it only contains 15 calories per 500ml can.

According to the UK National Health Service (NHS), the daily intake of calories will depend on the following factor:

  • Age
  • Metabolism
  • Lifestyle
  • Size

In general, the maximum daily intake of calories is 2,000 for females and 2,500 for males.

In the event that you want to maintain a healthy weight, you need to balance the number of calories that you consume with the amount that you burn if you engage in physical activity.

Therefore, the number of calories in Moose Juice won’t negatively affect you if you’re maintaining a healthy weight.

Does Moose Juice Contain Sugar?

Sugarfree printed in the wall.
Moose Juice is sugar-free

Moose Juice doesn’t contain sugar.

One of the positive attributes of Moose Juice is that it doesn’t contain sugar since added sugar isn’t an excellent choice for your health.

NHS recommends that adults shouldn’t consume more than 30g of sugars per day.

Overconsumption of sugar will result in different health problems, such as:

  • Inflammation
  • Weight gain
  • Obesity
  • Hypertension
  • Diabetes

If you want more sugar free energy drinks check this article out: 10 Best Sugar-Free Energy Drinks.

Is Caffeine In Moose Juice Vegan?

The 200mg of caffeine in Moose Juice is Vegan.

Caffeine is a natural stimulant that is derived from plants. There are actually 60 plant species that have caffeine, including:

  • Cocoa beans
  • Kola nuts
  • Tea leaves
  • Coffee beans
  • Yerba mate
  • Guarana berries
  • Guayusa
  • Yaupon holly

Moose Juice caffeine content doesn’t go beyond the 400mg maximum daily intake limit set by the European Food Safety Authority (EFSA).

If consumed moderately, caffeine has several health benefits, such as:

  • Promotes weight loss
  • Increases alertness
  • Improves physical performance
  • Enhances brain function
  • Reduces the risk of type 2 diabetes
  • Protection from Alzheimer’s Disease
  • Reduces the risk of Parkinson’s Disease
  • Liver protection
  • Fights depression

Is Artificial Sweetener In Moose Juice Vegan?

Sucralose and Acesulfame Potassium are the artificial sweeteners in Moose Juice are both considered vegan.

Sucralose is an artificial sweetener made from sugar that passes through different chemical processes that make it calorie-free and 600 times sweeter than sugar.

Most people recognize sucralose as a vegan since it’s derived from sugar and is plant-based.

However, ethical vegans don’t consider sucralose as vegan-friendly since it involves animal testing.

But, if you’re a vegan that only concerned about a healthy diet and not about animal cruelty, you might consider sucralose vegan.

Another artificial sweetener in Moose Juice is Aceseuelfame potassium or Ace K. It’s 200 times sweeter than sugar and has a mildly bitter aftertaste.

Ace K is a mineral salt and therefore doesn’t have any animal by-products and consider as a vegan.

Furthermore, the use of artificial sweeteners in the UK is approved by EFSA.

Is BCAAs In Moose Juice Vegan?

BCAAs are mostly animal-based or synthetically made. It’s not indicated how BCAAs in Moose Juice are derived, and it may not be vegan.

BCAAs or Branched-chain amino acids are proteins that are burned by the muscle for energy.

It has several proven benefits, such as:

  • Prevention of muscle breakdown
  • Decreases muscle soreness
  • Increases muscle growth
  • Reduces exercise fatigue

Most BCAAs or the traditional BCAAs are synthesized from duck feathers, other animal by-products, and even human hair due to their keratin content.

However, there are also plant-based BCAAs that are four times more expensive than the traditional ones.

You can never tell which BCAAs are being used in Moose Juice since it’s not indicated in the can and you can’t just assume whether it’s vegan or not.

Is Taurine In Moose Juice Vegan?

Taurine is commonly found in meat and fish, but there are also synthetically made. Since there’s no indication on Moose Energy whether it’s synthetically made or not, we can say it might not be vegan.

Taurine is a usual ingredient in energy drinks. And, when it’s combined with caffeine, it improves mental performance.

However, there are energy drinks containing taurine but are considered vegan since they use synthetic taurine.

But, in Moose Juice, we can’t figure out what taurine has been used since there is further information about the taurine source.

Are Moose Juice Ingredients Vegan?

The table below will show if the ingredients in Moose Juice are vegan or not.

IngredientsSourceIs it Vegan?
Caffeine Plant-basedYes
SucralosePlant-basedYes
Acesulfame PotassiumPlant-based Yes
TaurineAnimal-based
Synthetic
Probably
BCAAAnimal-based
Synthetic
Probably
L-TyrosineAnimal-based
Plant-based
Synthetic
Probably
L-CarnitineAnimal-based
Synthetic
Probably
L-TartrateAnimal-based
Synthetic
Probably
Choline BitartrateAnimal-based
Synthetic
Probably
B-VitaminsAnimal-based
Plant-based
Synthetic
Probably

Is Moose Juice Vegan?

Probably Moose Juice isn’t vegan, and there’s no clear information on the product label that it’s vegan.

Based on the sources of the ingredients of Moose Juice, there are only three ingredients that are considered vegan.

And, most of the ingredients may be vegan or not.

The best way to confirm if it’s vegan or not is to check with its manufacturer.

The video explains vegan.

How Long Does It Take For Moose Juice To Work?

You’ll experience the effect of caffeine in Moose Juice 10 minutes after drinking it.

The effects will be at their peak levels in a span of 30-60 minutes, and you’ll feel the jitteriness and restlessness.

Eventually, the caffeine will start to wear out after five hours, which is called a half-life. It means half of the amount you consume will be left in your bloodstream.

If you consume Moose Juice, which contains 200mg of caffeine, there will still be 100mg in your bloodstream after five hours. It’ll take up to 10-12 hours before it’s entirely out of your system.

Can You Drink Moose Every Day?

You can drink Moose Juice every day but you should take it in moderation and avoid excessive consumption.

Drinking in moderation means that you must limit to one serving per day of Moose Juice.

The amount of caffeine in Moose Juice is 200mg. If you drink two cans per day, it’ll be a total of 400mg, which is the recommended maximum intake.

Considering that it doesn’t go beyond the maximum limit, however, you might also consume other food and beverage that contains caffeine within the day. And, it’ll probably take you beyond the limit.

If you want more information click this link: Can You Drink Moose Juice Every Day?.

Side Effects Of Moose Juice

Moose Juice contains caffeine, and overconsumption of caffeine will result in several adverse effects, such as:

  • Insomnia
  • Headaches
  • Rapid heartbeat
  • Muscle breakdown
  • Dizziness
  • Vomiting
  • Nausea
  • Hypertension
  • Frequent urination
  • Anxiety
  • Digestive issue
  • Dependency

That being said, you should limit your consumption to one can to prevent these side effects and enjoy the benefits it offers.

If you want to know more about this topic check this article out: Is Moose Juice Bad For You?.

Is Moose Juice Good For Everyone?

There are people that are restricted to drinking Moose Juice, like children below 18 years of age, pregnant, breastfeeding moms, and people with medical conditions.

According to NHS, caffeinated drinks isn’t suitable for children. Since Moose Juice contains caffeine, you shouldn’t give them to a child.

If you’re pregnant, a high level of caffeine can result in low birth weight and cause miscarriage.

For breastfeeding moms, you shouldn’t exceed 200mg of caffeine per day because caffeine can pass on to your baby through breastmilk.

If you’re a person with medical conditions, it would be best if you first consult your physician before consuming Moose Juice or other energy drinks. This is to avoid anything that may be detrimental to your health.

What Are The Flavours Of Moose Juice?

Moose Juice has five flavours, such as:

  • Mojito
  • Green Apple
  • Berry
  • Blue Raspberry
  • Passion Fruit

What Are The Alternatives To Moose Juice

If you want a vegan energy drink, you can try the following:

You might also consider reading my other article regarding Best Energy Drinks For Losing Weight if you’re in for healthier energy drink options.

Final Words

On a final note, Moose Juice probably isn’t vegan given the fact that the Muscle Moose manufacturer doesn’t state if the drink is vegan or not.

It’s safe if you consider other energy drinks that are certified vegan or vegan-friendly.

Most of the ingredients might be animal-based and synthetically made. But we can’t further conclude if they’re vegan since there is no sufficient information.

However, if you really want to know if Moose Juice is vegan, check Muscle Moose to know the truth.

For those who aren’t vegan, Moose Juice is a good option for an energy drink. It’s sugar-free and low in calories.

It also contains BCAAs, B Vitamins, and other amino acids that have many benefits in store for you.

But, be careful with the caffeine since it’s 200mg, and you should stick to one can per day.

Related Articles

Jenny

The only thing I like more than a delicious energy drink is uncovering the TRUTH about energy drinks. Well, that's a bit of an exaggeration, but I like to share the facts that I uncover and I hope you find my words interesting and useful.

Recent Posts