Is Game Fuel Vegan? (Revealed)

Game Fuel Energy Drink
Game Fuel Energy Drink

Straight to the point: Game Fuel is not officially vegan certified, but it is considered vegan healthwise, although the food coloring is a little bit controversial to ethical vegans.

Game Fuel is designed for gamers to help them achieve better focus and mental endurance for prolonged virtual battles.

It is packed with energy-boosting ingredients like caffeine, calories, B-Vitamins, and sugar put together to create a powerful and effective energy drink.

It is a perfect drink for gamers and anyone with lower caffeine tolerance. But the question here is, is it indeed vegan-friendly?

Well, you’ve come to the right place as I’m here to shed some light such a question.

Without more ado, let’s look at the list of Game Fuel ingredients before getting on to the nitty gritty details.

Game Fuel Ingredients List

  • Carbonated Water
  • High Fructose Corn Syrup
  • White Grape Juice Concentrate
  • Citric Acid
  • Sodium Polyphosphates (To Protect Flavor)
  • Natural and Artificial Flavor
  • L-Theanine 
  • Gum Arabic
  • Sodium Benzoate (To Preserve Freshness)
  • Caffeine
  • Acesulfame Potassium
  • Sucralose
  • Glycerol Ester of Rosin
  • Calcium Disodium EDTA (To Protect Flavor)
  • Niacinamide
  • Panax Ginseng Root Extract
  • Sucrose Acetate Isobutyrate
  • Calcium Pantothenate (Vitamin B5)
  • Yerba Mate Extract
  • Beta Carotene (Vitamin A)
  • Pyridoxine Hydrochloride (Vitamin B6)
Game Fuel Ingredients List
Game Fuel Ingredients List on the back of the can.

Are The Ingredients In Game Fuel Vegan?

IngredientsSourceIs it Vegan? (Yes or No)
High Fructose Corn Syrupcorn starchYes
Citric Acidcommonly synthesized from glycerolYes
Sodium Polyphosphateschemically synthesized Yes
 L-theanine extracted from tea leavesYes
Gum Arabicacacia plantsYes
Sodium Benzoatechemically synthesized Yes
Panax Ginseng Root ExtractPanax Ginseng plantYes
Acesulfame Potassiumsynthesized chemicallyYes
Sucralosesynthesized from table sugar/sucroseYes
Glycerol Ester of Rosinchemically synthesizedYes
Niacinamidechemically synthesizedYes
Calcium Disodium EDTAsynthesized from ethylenediamine,
formaldehyde, and sodium cyanide
Yes
Yerba Mate ExtractYerba Mate PlantYes
Pyridoxine Hydrochloridechemically synthesized Yes
Calcium Pantothenatechemically synthesizedYes
Beta Carotenechemically synthesizedYes
Sucrose Acetate Isobutyratesynthesized from sucrose, acetic, and isobutyric anhydrides Yes
Caffeinesynthesized from urea, methyl chloride, and ethyl acetateYes
Gamer Fuel ingredients, their sources, and if they’re vegan.

Looking at PETA’s list of animal derivative ingredients, I would say that Game Fuel is vegan-friendly and could be relatively safe for people who follow the vegan diet.

Are the artificial coloring in Game Fuel vegan?

The food coloring in Game Fuel is something that puts off a vegan consumer because some of them are tested on animals.

If you are a hard-core vegan, the thought of testing food coloring on animals is concerning, even if the ingredients are considered vegan-friendly.

As I see it, Game Fuel may not be considered vegan because of the food coloring used.

However, if you’re a vegan for health reasons, food coloring wouldn’t be much of an issue because it plays a small role in overall nutrition.

Is Glycerol Ester of Rosin vegan?

Glycerol ester of rosin is also known as ester gum which is extracted from stumps of longleaf and slash pine trees and then enriched with glycerin.

It can be found in food and beverages such as fruit-flavored sodas, sports drinks, vitamin-enhanced water, and many more. It also serves as a stabilizer and thickening agent which maintains the consistent texture of products.

Glycerol ester of rosin is sourced from plants which makes it vegan-friendly. It is also used in food marketed as organic and products labeled as vegan.

The FDA has approved it for use in food and beverages under certain conditions.

Is the sugar in Game Fuel vegan?

The truth of the matter is, it is hard to tell whether or not the sugar in Game Fuel is indeed vegan because there is no specific mention of it anywhere.

Sugar is technically vegan because it is usually sourced from plants, but the main concern is how it is processed which raises some concern to ethical vegans.

The use of animal charred bone in the refining process is a big issue, especially when companies do not mention how they process the sugar used on their food and beverages.

That being said, it is a wise idea to contact the energy drink manufacturer to get a direct answer or to go with sugar-free drinks for safer options.

The sugar count of a standard 16 fl. oz can of Game Fuel is 23 g which is pretty close to the recommended daily intake for women. I strongly recommend limiting your sugar intake to avoid risking your overall health.

FYI, here’s the recommended sugar intake per day for men and women:

  • 25 g of sugar for women
  • 36 g of sugar for men

Are the artificial sweeteners in Game Fuel bad for you?

The artificial sweeteners in Game Fuel could be bad for you if you consume the drink irresponsibly.

Sucralose and acesulfame potassium are the artificial sweeteners found in Game Fuel.

Sucralose is used as a no-calorie sweetener in a variety of food and beverages. It is 400 to 700 times sweeter than sugar has no bitter aftertaste.

On the other hand, acesulfame potassium is often combined with sucralose to disguise the bitter taste. It is 200 times sweeter than sugar is also used in food and beverages.

The side effects of these artificial sweeteners depend on how often you have them on food – if you’re used to having it, probably you won’t feel any of the side effects, for now. However, for health reasons, it is wise to stay away from anything with artificial sweeteners.

Sucralose and acesulfame potassium are both approved as a non nutritive sweetener by the FDA.

That being said, having a can of Game Fuel once in a while is perfectly safe.

If you’re asking if these artificial sweeteners are vegan-friendly, I have mixed opinion.

Generally speaking, artificial sweeteners are made in the lab and created using chemicals, which makes them technically vegan.

However, there are some sweeteners that have been tested on animals, making them non-vegan in all aspects.

For example, Splenda or sucralose is considered non-vegan even if it sourced from non-derived animal ingredients. There were reports suggesting that animals were used to test the effects of sucralose – at least 12000 animal deaths were reported.

So, if you’re a moral vegetarian, I truly understand if you strongly think that Game Fuel is not your cup of tea.

Is the caffeine in Game Fuel vegan?

Caffeine is naturally sourced from plants which makes it totally vegan. That being said, I presume the caffeine in Game Fuel is vegan.

Caffeine is sourced from fruits, leaves, beans of coffee, guarana, and other caffeine-based plants.

Keep in mind the dangers of drinking too much caffeinated beverages because they are easy to digest in large quantities.

On a side note:

A 16 fl. oz can of Game Fuel contains 90 mg of caffeine, which is about right to get that caffeine kick and keep you energized for the entire day.

The FDA proposed a daily caffeine intake of 400 mg for healthy adults.

As you can see, the caffeine in Game Fuel is quite low which means that you can probably consume 2 cans per day. But be mindful of the dangers of caffeine OD.

Some of the symptoms of caffeine overdose are:

  • headache
  • diarrhea
  • vomiting
  • palpitations
  • fever
  • insomnia

Probably, you won’t feel any of these symptoms if you have high caffeine tolerance. Even so, I strongly suggest drinking Game Fuel in moderation to avoid any of the nasty symptoms.

Stalks of Wheat
Gluten is a protein found in grains.

Is Game Fuel gluten-free?

Game Fuel does seem to have any traces of barley, wheat, or rye products. Therefore, it is safe to assume that is a gluten-free drink.

If you happen to have wheat allergy or gluten sensitivity issues, Game Fuel is the right choice for you.

Game Fuel, being gluten-free doesn’t mean that it is healthy for you. Still, it is best to keep your consumption on a moderate level to avoid any of the side effects.

To get a better view of the side effects of gluten rich diet, I have listed some of the symptoms below.

  • bloating
  • fatigue
  • skin issues
  • joint and muscle pain

If you’re curious to learn about the benefits and adverse effects of a gluten-free diet in non-celiac disease patients, check this study.

The Bottom Line

While not officially been tagged vegan-friendly, Game Fuel is considered a safe addition to a vegan diet.

Health-wise, we can assume that Game Fuel fits the vegan-friendly criteria, though there may be some concern with the coloring and artificial sweeteners.

In my opinion, your take on whether or not Game Fuel is vegan depends on your view as a vegan in general. Surely, you won’t support any product that involves animal-testing.

On the other hand, if you’re a vegan due to health reasons, I can say that Game Fuel is by the book. But keep in mind, that despite being “vegan-friendly,” it is wise to consume it in moderation to avoid any adverse effects.

As an afterthought, give this video a quick watch if you want to discover foods that are surprisingly vegan.

30 foods that are surprisingly vegan!

Jenny

The only thing I like more than a delicious energy drink is uncovering the TRUTH about energy drinks. Well, that's a bit of an exaggeration, but I like to share the facts that I uncover and I hope you find my words interesting and useful.

Read Next