G Fuel is suitable for when you need that extra kick to fuel those long gaming sessions. It’s a pretty great energy drink all around.
But is it actually vegan?
The short answer is, unfortunately, a resounding no. According to G Fuel’s own Twitter account, G Fuel is unfortunately not vegan-compliant, which is a shame.
So there you have it, but if you want to learn more about G Fuel’s ingredients and how well they may suit your particular diet, stick around…
G Fuel Powder Ingredients
G Fuel has plenty of ingredients and complexes in its formula, which is one of the many benefits this energy powder has over its competitors.
Here’s a list of the more common G Fuel ingredients down below, barring certain flavors and colorings (which vary from flavor to flavor).
G Fuel’s Energy Complex consist of 1.85g of the following ingredients:
- L-Citrulline Malate
- Caffeine (150mg)
Besides 0.15g of caffeine, we don’t know the breakdown of the remaining 1.7g of this complex.
G Fuel’s Focus Complex has 1.2g of the following ingredients:
- Choline Bitartrate
- Adenosine-5 Triphosphate Disodium Salt (ATP)
- Toothed Clubmoss
- Aerial Parts Extract
- Bacopa Leaf Extract
There’s no information on the exact breakdown of each of these ingredients.
G Fuel’s Antioxidant Complex mostly consists of dried fruit powders which round up to 163.5mg, inclusive of the following:
- Cabbage Palm Berry Extract
- Pomegranate Fruit Extract
- Pineapple Fruit Powder
- Apple Fruit Powder
- Orange Fruit Powder
- Blueberry Fruit Powder
- Grape Seed Powder
- Grapefruit Seed Powder
- Plum Fruit Powder
- Watermelon Fruit Powder
- Lemon Fruit Powder
- Lime Fruit Powder
- Melon Fruit Powder
- Sour Cherry Fruit Powder
- Papaya Fruit Powder
- Peach Fruit Powder
- Pyrus communis Fruit Powder
Again, there’s no information on how much of each individual ingredient is actually included.
- Natural and Artificial Flavors
- Citric Acid
- Malic Acid
- Silicon Dioxide
- Acesulfame Potassium
Here’s a video breakdown of all G Fuel Powder’s ingredients:
Are G Fuel Powder Ingredients Vegan?
While it would be pretty easy to assume that G Fuel is vegan, this is sadly not the case, as you can see from the tweet below.
As for exactly which ingredient prevents G Fuel from being vegan-friendly, take a look at the table below, which I’ve cross-referenced with PETA’s own animal-derivative ingredients list:
|Ingredients||Properties||Source||Is It Vegan?|
|Taurine||Amino acid; helps stimulate metabolism.||Synthetic||Yes|
|L-Citrulline Malate||Amino acid, improves athletic performance||Plant-based||Yes|
|Glucuronolactone||Helps improve your attention span and athletic performance||Synthetic||Yes|
|Choline Bitartrate||Muscle growth and delaying fatigue.||Synthetic/Organic||Unclear|
Disodium Salt (ATP)
|Used by cells for energy, does nothing when consumed orally.||Synthetic/Organic||Yes|
|Toothed Clubmoss||Plant Extract||Plant-based||Yes|
|Aerial Parts Extract||Plant extract.||Plant-based||Yes|
|Bacopa Leaf Extract||Plant extract.||Plant-based||Yes|
|Fruit Powders||Powdered fruit, adds flavor and other nutrients.||Plant-based||Yes|
|Maltodextrin||Thickening agent and preservative.||Synthetic||Yes|
|Citric Acid||Natural preservative, adds a sour taste to the drink||Plant-based/|
|Silicon Dioxide||Anti-caking agent.||Synthetic||Yes|
|Acesulfame Potassium||Artificial Sweetener||Synthetic||Yes|
Is L-Tyrosine in G Fuel Powder Vegan?
Although L-Tyrosine is often derived from plant or synthetic material, some variations of it come from animal sources, which potentially makes it a non-vegan ingredient.
In terms of its properties, L-Tyrosine is a beneficial amino acid that assists in memory and counteracts the effects of sleep deprivation, but whether it’s vegan or not is an entirely different story.
According to the information on L-Tyrosine on PETA’s website:
Amino acids are often of plant or synthetic origin, but it’s sometimes hydrolyzed from casein (milk)PETA
If you’re an ethical vegan, as in someone who doesn’t consume animal products due to environmental and/or animal cruelty reasons, you should probably consider other energy drink alternatives rather than G Fuel.
That being said, if you’re a vegan for health reasons, the L-Tyrosine content in G Fuel won’t negatively impact your overall diet, so read on to learn more about G Fuel from a health perspective.
How Much Caffeine Is In G Fuel Powder?
Each 7g serving of G Fuel has between 140 and 150mg of caffeine, which is actually pretty average for an energy drink of its size. The variation depends on which flavor you choose, because the ingredients do vary slightly from one to another.
Considering that it’s recommended to mix each 7g of G Fuel powder with 12 to 16 fl.oz of water, the caffeine content in G Fuel is actually a pretty standard amount of caffeine for an energy drink.
Of course, depending on your caffeine metabolism, 150mg might be just the right amount for you.
On the bright side, since you can adjust each serving of G Fuel to suit your personal preferences, G Fuel is an energy drink that you can enjoy even if you happen to be slightly caffeine-sensitive.
Consume all caffeinated drinks in moderation and you’ll be just fine.
Does G Fuel Powder Have Artificial Sweeteners?
While free of regular sugar, G Fuel does contain sucralose and acesulfame potassium, both of which are artificial sweeteners.
G Fuel’s sugar-free nature means it’s a lot healthier than most sugary energy drinks and won’t trigger a sugar-induced energy crash, even if you have a little too much of it.
That said, G Fuel does contain sucralose and acesulfame potassium. As both are zero-calorie sweeteners, you’ll be able to get 200 to 700 times the sweetness of sugar with practically zero guilt.
As both Sucralose and Acesulfame Potassium have been approved for general use by the FDA, they work as a healthier alternative to sugar that won’t hamper your diet.
However, there’s still quite a bit of uncertainty regarding the long-term use of artificial sweeteners on the body. So while it’s fine to have on occasion, you’re also better off not having too much of it.
Is G Fuel Powder Gluten-Free?
While not officially certified, G Fuel doesn’t seem to contain or have any traces of wheat, barley, or rye products, so it’s safe to assume that it’s gluten-free.
If you happen to have celiac disease or you’re simply trying to cut down on the gluten in your life, G Fuel might be a pretty good addition to your energy drink rotation list.
Of course, just because it’s gluten-free doesn’t exactly mean it’s healthy, so always try to keep those servings of G Fuel to a tolerable minimum.
As a side note, although the original G Fuel Powder is gluten-free, G Fuel Cans don’t seem to be entirely gluten-free due to the manufacturing process, so do be aware of that before you go grabbing one off the shelf.
Check out my “Is G Fuel Powder Gluten-Free? (Analyzed)” article for more information.
Is G Fuel Powder Keto-Friendly?
As a keto-compliant diet often requires you to cut down on carbs, G Fuel is a pretty good choice, although there are a couple of other energy drinks that might work even better for a keto diet.
The Keto Diet is a low-carb, high-fat diet that offers plenty of purported health benefits, such as weight loss and general health improvements.
As a regular 7g serving of G Fuel only has 25 calories, it’s not too detrimental for a keto diet and can work perfectly well if you plan around it.
Note: the precise calorie count varies between G Fuel flavors. Read the label to check how many calories are in your flavor.
Granted, it’s a lot easier to stick with a zero-calorie energy drink when on the keto diet, but if you’re a die-hard G Fuel fan, you don’t have to worry too much about it either.
Is G Fuel Powder Actually Vegan-Friendly?
As stated by the official G Fuel Twitter account, G Fuel is not vegan-compliant. However, from a nutritional perspective, there’s actually not a lot in G Fuel that’s detrimental to a vegan-based diet.
If you’re an ethical vegan, you’re probably not going to be picking up a tub of G Fuel Powder anytime soon, for good reason. Since there are plenty of other vegan-certified energy drinks out there for you to choose from, why risk it?
But if you’re a vegan mostly for the health benefits, you’ll probably find G Fuel to be a perfectly serviceable energy drink for your needs, as it really doesn’t have that much of a negative effect on you nutritionally.
Still, if you want a worry-free experience, there are plenty of energy drinks out there that may not be officially vegan-certified but are definitely far more suited for a vegan diet.
How Much G Fuel Powder Can You Have In A Day?
In my opinion, you should only consume 14g of G Fuel Powder in a day to avoid any caffeine-related side effects.
Each scoop (7g) of G Fuel Powder contains around 150 mg of caffeine. If you consume two scoops, then it catapults you to about 300 mg caffeine in a day.
For reference, the FDA recommends you limit your caffeine intake to 400 mg per day. Three hundred milligrams of caffeine in G Fuel Powder is quite close to the daily limit.
Consuming more than two scoops may cause you to experience the side effects of caffeine overdose. The symptoms of caffeine overdose include:
How Much Is G Fuel Powder?
G Fuel is priced at around $35 per tub on their official site but can go for as low as $30 depending on where you decide to purchase them.
A tub of G Fuel Powder is advertised to be around 40 servings, with 9 ounces per pack, making it a bang for your buck. Depending on the flavor you’re looking to get, the energy powder is either available or on a wait list system.
Starter kits are also readily available with 7 servings of 7 g packets, or approximately one scoop for $15 a kit. This kit involves a 16 oz. shaker cup.
There are a variety of options available ,and bundles are priced depending on the inclusion.
This of course, leads us to the next question.
Where Can I Buy G Fuel Powder?
You can purchase G Fuel Powder on their official website, where they offer highly customizable purchases including a Build Your Own Box option. You can also put yourself on the waitlist for flavors that are presently not available, and the store will notify you when stocks arrive.
If you are looking for a cheaper online option, Amazon is a good place to scout for G Fuel Powder. Many online retailers would have G Fuel on their stores, if you are diligent enough to look for one. Though these stores are not official retailers, so purchase with caution.
Walmart and Amazon Go are some of the in-store options available. Select 7 Elevens which you may phone in before going, may also carry the brand.
For more, G Fuel has a Store Locator option for you to check out.
G Fuel Flavors
With over 35 flavors, there’s definitely a G Fuel flavor out there that will suit your taste buds. Here are just some of the flavors that you might enjoy:
- Battle Juice
- Bahama Mama
- Blue Ice
- Bubble Gum
- Cherry Limeade
- Nemesis Tea
- Peach Cobbler
- Rainbow Sherbet
- Star Fruit
- Shiny Splash
- Snow Cone
- Strawberry Banana
- Tropical Rain
- Wumpa Fruit
Alternatives To G Fuel Powder
If you’ve changed your mind about G Fuel Powder energy drinks, then you can try these other tasty and effective gluten-free energy drinks:
G Fuel Energy powder is extremely potent while also being healthy and high in antioxidants. Gamma Lab has worked hard to make the focus and energy complexes as simple to use as possible.
The caffeine content of the drink is ideal for me. It keeps me going throughout the day without making me jittery. But I wouldn’t recommend drinking more than one serving per day.