Is G Fuel Energy Drink Vegan? (Truth Exposed)

G Fuel Energy Drink

G Fuel Energy Drink might have everything you need in an energy drink, but, if you’re an environmentalist or simply health-conscious, you’re probably wondering:

Is G Fuel Energy Drink vegan-friendly?

Cutting to the chase, G Fuel Energy Drink is not entirely vegan-friendly, as suggested by G Fuel’s official Twitter, as it does contain ingredients that are sourced from animals.

If you’re an ethical vegan, this will definitely steer you away from having G Fuel Energy Drink, but if you’re into veganism for the health benefits, read on for a more in-depth look at G Fuel Energy Drink and how they might benefit you.

Let’s get started…

G Fuel Energy Drink Ingredients

Here’s a quick list of every ingredient in a G Fuel can:

  • Carbonated Water
  • Natural and Artificial Flavors
  • Sodium Gluconate
  • Malic Acid
  • Caffeine (Purecaf™)
  • Potassium Beta-Hydroxybutyrate (goBHB®)
  • Vitamin Blend (Maltodextrin, Vitamin C, Vitamin B3, Vitamin B6, Vitamin B12)
  • L-Tyrosine
  • Sucralose
  • Potassium Citrate
  • Citric Acid
  • Acesulfame Potassium
  • Antioxidant Blend (Green Coffee Bean Extract, Green Tea Extract, Turmeric Extract, Tart Cherry, Blueberry, Broccoli, Kale)
  • L-Theanine
  • Steviol Glycosides

Is G Fuel Energy Drink Carbonated?

As G Fuel Energy Drink list carbonated water as an ingredient, as such, they are carbonated.

If you like G Fuel Powder because of the lack of fizz, G Fuel Energy Drink might not be the best thing for you since they’re carbonated.

Apart from losing its smooth feel, you also can’t control how much formula goes into the drink, which might be an issue if you have a low caffeine metabolism, in which case, the G-Fuel Powder might be more suitable.

So while it’s a lot easier to grab a G Fuel Energy Drink from the store, the powdered version offers more flexibility without the fizz.

Are G Fuel Energy Drink Ingredients Vegan?

Now that you have an idea of the ingredients present in a can of G Fuel, let’s dive deeper into their source to determine how vegan they are:

IngredientsPropertiesSourceIs It Vegan?
Sodium GluconatePreservativeOrganic/ SyntheticYes
Malic AcidSour taste and food additive.SyntheticYes
CaffeineStimulantPlant-Based/SyntheticYes
Potassium Beta-HydroxybutyrateKetone, possibly provides energySyntheticYes
MaltodextrinThickener, preservative and flavor improver.Plant-basedYes
Vitamin CGrowth, development and repair of all body tissues.Plant-based/ SyntheticYes
Vitamin B3Converts nutrients into energy and has antioxidant effectsSyntheticYes
Vitamin B6Support immune functions and promote brain healthSyntheticYes
Vitamin B12Development of brain and nerve cellsFugal/Plant-Based/
Synthetic
Yes
L-TyrosineAmino AcidSyntheticUsually, but not in Gfuel Cans.
SucraloseSweetenerSyntheticYes
Potassium CitrateAcidity regulatorSyntheticYes
Citric AcidNatural preservative, adds a sour taste to the drinkSyntheticYes
Acesulfame PotassiumSweetenerSyntheticYes
Antioxidant BlendFruit and begetable extracts with antioxidising proertiesPlant-basedYes
L-TheanineAmino acid, Improves cognitive memoryPlant-Based/SyntheticYes
Steviol GlycosidesSweetenerPlant-basedYes
Table listing G Fuel ingredients and their sources.

The table above has been cross-referenced with PETA’s animal derivative ingredients list, which you could check with in case you’re still skeptical.

While almost all of the ingredients above are synthetically sourced or are derived from plants, L-Tyrosine happens to be an ingredient that isn’t universally vegan.

Is L-Tyrosine in G Fuel Energy Drink Vegan?

L-Tyrosine can often be derived from plant or synthetic material, but some variations of it come from animal sources, which makes it a non-vegan ingredient.

In terms of its properties, L-Tyrosine is a beneficial amino acid that assists in memory and counteracts the effects of sleep deprivation, but whether it’s vegan or not is an entirely different story.

According to the information on tyrosine on PETA’s website:

Amino acid often of plant or synthetic origin but sometimes hydrolyzed from casein (milk)

PETA

While it’s safe to assume that most of the content in G Fuel Energy Drink could be vegan, L-Tyrosine is probably what prevents G Fuel from being vegan.

If you’re an ethical vegan, as in someone who doesn’t consume animal products due to environmental and/or animal cruelty reasons, you should probably consider other energy drink alternatives than G Fuel cans.

That being said, if you’re a vegan for health reasons, then the L-tyrosine content won’t negatively impact your overall diet, so read on to learn more about G Fuel Energy Drink from a health perspective.

Does G Fuel Energy Drink Contain Sugar?

No sugar, no calories.

G Fuel Energy Drink is labeled as sugar-free, so you’ll be pleased to know that canned G Fuel, similar to the powder version, doesn’t have any added sugar present in the drink.

As G Fuel Energy Drink has no sugar, you don’t have to worry about the short or long-term effects of overconsumption of sugar as you do with other energy drinks.

Furthermore, the lack of sugar means that G Fuel Energy Drink is also calorie-free, so having one won’t negatively impact your weight loss or dieting efforts.

Besides that, with the lack of sugar present, you’ll also get to avoid the dreaded sugar crash; G Fuel Energy Drink can’t raise your blood sugar levels if there’s no sugar present in the drink

While you’ll get to avoid the dangers of sugar in G Fuel Energy Drink, the drink is still sweetened with artificial sweeteners, notably Sucralose and Acesulfame Potassium.

Fortunately, both Sucralose and Acesulfame Potassium have been approved for general use by the FDA, so it works as a healthier alternative to sugar that won’t hamper your diet.

However, there’s still quite a bit of uncertainty regarding their overall health effects in the long-run. So while it should be perfectly safe, cutting down on anything artificial is always a good idea.

How Much Caffeine Is in a G Fuel Can?

Each can of G Fuel Energy Drink contains 300mg of caffeineranking it as one of the energy drinks with the highest caffeine content.

With 300mg per 16 fl.oz, a can of G Fuel is one of the most highly caffeinated energy drinks available on the market, equal to both Reign and Bang in terms of its sheer amount of caffeine.

It’s a lot of caffeine in a can, which may not be too suitable for you if you’re caffeine-sensitive or are not used to it. But, if you need some extra prep in your step, you can’t go wrong with a G Fuel can.

For reference, the FDA generally approves a caffeine intake limit of no more than 400mg per day. Any more than that might lead to side effects such as:

  • Restlessness and shakiness
  • Insomnia
  • Headaches
  • Dizziness
  • Abnormal heart rhythm
  • Dehydration
  • Anxiety
  • Dependency

Caffeine metabolism also plays a factor in how likely you are to suffer from a caffeine overdose.

While G Fuel might be great if you’re a hardened caffeine user, you might want to switch to something milder if you don’t have such a high tolerance, and definitely put the can down when you start to feel jittery.

Is G Fuel Energy Drink Gluten-Free?

G Fuel cans are manufactured alongside products that handle wheat, which might alter the final product.

G Fuel can warning label.

While the G Fuel Energy Drink formula itself doesn’t contain any gluten, G Fuel Energy Drink is apparently manufactured in a facility that also processes wheat.

This means, while highly unlikely, a can of G Fuel Energy Drink may contain traces of wheat within the drink, which might pose a problem if you have celiac disease.

I would personally recommend that you stay away from G Fuel cans if you have celiac disease, given the possibility of cross-contamination.

If you’re worried that this applies to its powdered variation, regular G Fuel Powder is gluten-free and isn’t processed in the same facility, so you should be fine if you have the powdered version of G Fuel instead.

Check out my analysis on if G Fuel Powder is Gluten-Free.

Still, if you’re not too sure about the gluten content, it’s best to consult a health specialist to determine if adding any energy drink to your diet would prove beneficial to you.

Is G Fuel Energy Drink Keto-Friendly?

As G Fuel Energy Drink is sugar-free and have zero calories, they should perfectly complement a keto diet if you’re following one.

The Keto Diet is a low-carb, high-fat diet that can provide a multitude of health benefits, such as weight loss and general health improvements.

You can find out more about keto diets in this video here:

Keto Diet

Of course, undergoing a keto diet means you should probably stay away from anything that might contain too many carbs, so sugary energy drinks are definitely out the window.

G Fuel Energy Drink doesn’t contain any sugar or other complex carbohydrates that might greatly affect your carb intake, so G Fuel Energy Drink should complement your keto diet nicely.

Can I Have G Fuel Energy Drink If I’m Vegan?

Ultimately, whether you choose to have G Fuel Energy Drink depends on the type of vegan you are. If you’re an ethical vegan, you should probably stay away from G Fuel cans.

On the other hand, if you’re vegan for the health benefits, the small protein content in G Fuel Energy Drink shouldn’t pose an issue to you.

Like many other things, veganism is a sliding scale. In the case of G Fuel Energy Drink, where you land on that scale will greatly impact your decision to have the drink or not.

As L-Tyrosine is an animal derivative, if you lean more towards ethical veganism, you’ll probably try to avoid G Fuel Energy Drink, and opt for other energy drinks instead.

However, if you’re a vegan for the health benefits, then the small protein content shouldn’t dissuade or ruin your plant-based diet too severely.

In short, it’s mostly your call to make. That being said, there are plenty of other energy drinks out there that are vegan-certified, so you could go for those instead of worrying over G Fuel Energy Drink.

G Fuel Energy Drink Price

While their website lists a 12-pack of 16 fl.oz G Fuel Cans at around $32, most retailers sell them at about $24 per 12-pack.

For comparison, Bang is about $25 for a 12-pack while Reign is only around $19 for the same.

G Fuel Energy Drink is surprisingly pricey, roughly equating to between $2 to $4 depending on where you get them.

They also take some time to deliver, my purchase taking nearly 8 days to reach my door, which isn’t particularly fast.

Flavors Of G Fuel Energy Drink

If you’re already planning to try G Fuel Energy drink, here are all the flavors you could try from:

  • Blue Ice
  • Rainbow Sherbet
  • Sour Cherry
  • FaZeberry
  • Sour Blue
  • Bahama Mama
  • Raging Gummy
  • Nemesis Tea
  • Tropical Rain

Alternative to G Fuel Energy Drink

You might also want to check these other energy drinks out if G Fuel is not to your liking:

Final Thoughts

G Fuel Energy Drink is filled with healthy ingredients like amino acids while containing a high amount of caffeine. The caffeine amount of G Fuel Energy Drink is a a hundred milligrams away from the FDA limit, so one can is the definite ideal consumption rate.

G Fuel Energy Drink is a good energy drink for those who live a busy life, and want to deal with fewer drawbacks than most energy drinks.

Related Articles

Jenny

The only thing I like more than a delicious energy drink is uncovering the TRUTH about energy drinks. Well, that's a bit of an exaggeration, but I like to share the facts that I uncover and I hope you find my words interesting and useful.

Recent Posts