Is G Fuel Energy Drink Gluten-Free? (True Facts)

G Fuel Energy Drinks

G Fuel has been tagged to be THE OFFICIAL DRINK OF ESPORTS. Created by Gamma Labs, the drink has been specialized for those who are involved in bodybuilding, heavy lifting, sports, and video games.

It has been advertised to be healthier and cleaner than most energy drinks in the market.

A 16 fl. oz. can of G Fuel contains 300 mg of caffeine, Vitamin C, B Vitamins, and an antioxidant blend. It has no added sugar, carbohydrates, and calories. But does it contain gluten?

G Fuel energy claims to be gluten-free. But we really need to analyze a few ingredients which may contain gluten. Because those with gluten-allergy can’t tolerate traces of it and it is a health hazard.

Let’s begin!

G Fuel Ingredients

Having a look at the ingredients of G Fuel is important to figure out if the drink is gluten-free overall.

ingredients
Ingredients Of G Fuel Energy
IngredientsSourceGluten-free?
Carbonated WaterSyntheticYes
CaffeineNaturally obtained from guarana or syntheticYes
Natural and Artificial ColorsSyntheticYes
Sodium GluconateSyntheticYes
Malic and Citric AcidNaturally extracted from fruits or syntheticYes
Potassium Beta-HydroxybutyrateSyntheticYes
Vitamin C, Vitamin B3, Vitamin B6, Vitamin B12Natural or syntheticYes
MaltodextrinProcessed from wheatYes
Sucralose and Acesulfame Potassium Processed from natural sources or syntheticMost probably
L-TyrosineSyntheticYes
Potassium CitrateSyntheticYes
Antioxidant BlendNatural sources- fruits and vegetablesYes
L-TheanineNatural or SyntheticYes
Steviol GlycosidesPlant-basedYes
If the ingredient is gluten-free or not
  • Carbonated Water
  • Natural and Artificial Flavors
  • Sodium Gluconate
  • Malic Acid
  • Caffeine (Purecaf™)
  • Potassium Beta-Hydroxybutyrate (goBHB®)
  • Vitamin Blend (Maltodextrin, Vitamin C, Vitamin B3, Vitamin B6, Vitamin B12)
  • L-Tyrosine
  • Sucralose
  • Potassium Citrate
  • Citric Acid
  • Acesulfame Potassium
  • Antioxidant Blend (Green Coffee Bean Extract, Green Tea Extract, Turmeric Extract, Tart Cherry, Blueberry, Broccoli, Kale)
  • L-Theanine
  • Steviol Glycosides

G Fuel Nutritional Facts

energy drink can
No Calories, Fats or Carbs!
Calories0 mg
Caffeine300 mg
Total Fat0 mg
Carbohydrates0 mg
Proteins0 mg
Sodium70 mg
Potassium85 mg
Vitamin C45 mg
Niacin4 mg
Vitamin B60.4 mg
Vitamin B120.6 mcg
Nutritional Facts of G Fuel

Does G Fuel Energy Drink Contain Gluten?

According to the FDA, companies should only label an item as gluten-free if it contains less than 20 parts per million (ppm) of gluten.

That means eating a typical gluten-free item may contain about 6-10 milligrams of gluten.

G Fuel energy drink’s label does say it’s gluten-free, but unfortunately, we can’t be sure if the products are completely free of it. To know more about the matter, you may contact the manufacturer to be sure.

Is Maltodextrin In G Fuel Energy Drink Gluten-Free?

Due to the processing methods used to develop maltodextrin from wheat, it contains no gluten. So it isn’t harmful to people with celiac disease or other gluten allergies.

So you can be assured that maltodextrin in G Fuel Energy has no gluten, despite of being derived from wheat.

Is The Sugar In G Fuel Energy Drink Gluten-Free?

G Fuel energy drink doesn’t contain added sugar, but it does contain an artificial sweeteners named Sucralose, Acesulfame Potassium, and Steviol Glycosides.

Sucralose is considered to be gluten-free. It’s made from sugar using the multi-step chemical process in laboratories. And most sugars are derived from beets or sugarcane.

The raw materials and manufacturing process of acesulfame potassium is gluten-free. It’s processed from Acetyl ketene and is widely used in foods like pasta, sauces, crackers, baked goods, drinks.

Sucralose, on the other hand, is not tested for cross-contamination with other gluten-containing components. As a result, they cannot be completely trusted to be gluten free.

Steviol Glycosides is extracted from the leaves of the Stevia rebaudiana, so it’s plant-based. Thus it’s gluten-free.

Is The Caffeine In G Fuel Drink Gluten-Free?

Caffeine can either be derived from plants like cocoa beans, kola nuts, guarana or be synthesized in a laboratory.

So it can be considered to be gluten-free unless it hasn’t been cross-contaminated. Caffeine may not be gluten-free if it’s processed in a facility that also processes gluten-containing ingredients.

Is G Fuel Energy Drink Bad For You?

energy drink
G Fuel energy drink comes in various flavors

If you limit your consumption to one can per day, G fuel is not considered harmful. Just like any other energy drink.

In my opinion, the drink is an all-rounder. It contains 300 mg of caffeine which gets you through the day. But if you don’t have much tolerance for caffeine, this drink might be a bad idea.

Caffeine-sensitive people can’t metabolize caffeine quickly, so it stays in their system for longer. Because of this, even a small amount of caffeine can be too much for them.

Other than that, the drink contains vitamin C, B3, B6, and B12 which are required by your body for various purposes. However, if you’re a minor, pregnant, or nursing, you should avoid a G Fuel energy drink.

If you think you’re a good consumer and drink in moderation, I believe this drink is just as good for your health as most energy drinks.

If you think you’re a good consumer and drink in moderation, I believe this drink is just as good for your health as most energy drinks.

Can You Drink G Fuel Energy Drink Everyday?

You can absolutely drink G Fuel every day but only if you limit yourself to have one can a day. Did you know you could only have about 400 mg of caffeine in a day? This is the daily intake limit set by FDA.

So having more than one drink definitely crosses the safe limit and caffeine overdose is a serious issue. It can cause symptoms like:

  • Chest Pain
  • Jitters
  • Vomiting
  • Irregular Heartbeat
  • Insomnia
  • Headache

Also, a high amount of caffeine is all bad news for people who suffer from acid reflux. Caffeine does trigger acid reflux causing a burning sensation in the chest, stomach, and vomit.

If energy drinks worsen your acid reflux condition, do check out my list of a few potent drinks best for acid reflux.

Lastly, Maltodextrin is another component to be aware of. It has calories and can raise blood sugar as it’s a carbohydrate. So keeping all these factors in mind, it’s advisory to have only one can a day.

G-Fuel Energy Flavors and Price

If you’re already planning to try G Fuel Energy drink, here are all the flavors you could try from:

  • Blue Ice
  • Rainbow Sherbet
  • Sour Cherry
  • FaZeberry
  • Sour Blue
  • Bahama Mama
  • Raging Gummy
  • Nemesis Tea
  • Tropical Rain

Taking information from the official website, a 12-pack of 16 fl. oz G Fuel Cans may cost around $32. Other sites or stores may sell them at about $24 per 12-pack.

G Fuel is quite expensive compared to other drinks. A pack of 12 C4 energy drinks costs less than $30, Bang costs about $25 and Reign costs $19.

Having trouble choosing which flavor you may like? Watch this review to learn more.

G Fuel Review

Gluten-Free Energy Drinks Alternatives

In Conclusion

People who don’t have celiac disease or other gluten allergies can drink the drink with confidence. G Fuel is a highly effective drink that can assist you in remaining alert and focused on your sport or work.

Those with gluten allergies shouldn’t take the risk just because it claims to be gluten-free. Minute amounts of gluten may still be present, or it may have been unintentionally contaminated with gluten. To be certain that you are safe, you should contact the manufacturers.

Related Articles

Jenny

The only thing I like more than a delicious energy drink is uncovering the TRUTH about energy drinks. Well, that's a bit of an exaggeration, but I like to share the facts that I uncover and I hope you find my words interesting and useful.

Recent Posts