Is Extra Joss Gluten-Free? (Analyzed)

Extra Joss is an Asian energy drink that’s mainly formulated for people with active lifestyles. It’ll boost the energy and stamina that are necessary for accomplishing challenging and physical activities.

But, if you’re on a gluten-free diet, have you ever wondered if Extra Joss is gluten-free?

In brief, Extra Joss can be consumed by people that are under a gluten-free diet.

Keep reading if you want more details about Extra Joss.

What Is Gluten?

A cup of cereal.
Gluten is usually found in grains.

Gluten is a family of proteins commonly found in grains, such as wheat, rye, barley, and spelt. It has several benefits in bread products.

It’s also commonly used as an additive to improve texture and promote moisture retention in different processed food products.

There’s a variety of whole and processed foods that contain gluten, including:

  • whole wheat
  • wheat bran
  • barley
  • wheat germ
  • cracked wheat
  • crackers
  • bread
  • breadcrumbs
  • pasta
  • soba noodles
  • veggie burgers
  • cookies and pastries
  • barley malt
  • soy sauce
  • bouillon
  • beer

However, people with celiac disease can’t tolerate it and must eliminate it from their diets.

What Is A Gluten-Free Diet?

A gluten-free diet is a meal plan that eliminates gluten foods, which are commonly found in wheat, barley, rye, and spelt.

It’s crucial in managing signs and symptoms of celiac disease and other health conditions associated with gluten.

They’re also popular with people that are not suffering from any gluten-related condition and claim to be beneficial.

A gluten-free diet can provide several benefits, such as:

  • Relieve digestive symptoms
  • Reduces chronic inflammation in person with celiac disease
  • Boost energy
  • Help you lose weight

Nutritional Information Of Extra Joss

Let’s take a look at the nutritional information of Extra Joss.

Typical
Values
Amount
Per 4.6g sachet
Calories0 calories
Protein0g
Carbohydrate
(Of which Sugars)
0g
Sodium
Caffeine50mg
Vitamin B23mg
Vitamin B316mg
Vitamin B5 5mg
Vitamin B61.5mg
Vitamin B9100μg
Vitamin B121μg

Ingredients Of Extra Joss

Next would be the list of ingredients of Extra Joss.

  • Ginseng Extract
  • Royal Jelly
  • Taurine
  • Caffeine
  • Vitamin B2
  • Vitamin B3
  • Vitamin B5
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B9
  • Vitamin B12
  • Mix Fruit Flavor
  • Citric Acid
  • Trimethylxanthane

Is Caffeine In Extra Joss Gluten-Free?

The caffeine in Extra Joss is derived from plants or synthesized in a laboratory which makes it gluten-free.

You can get a moderate amount of 50mg gluten-free caffeine in a serving of Extra Joss. And that amount can provide you several benefits, including:

  • Enhances energy levels
  • Promotes weight loss
  • Boosts physical performance
  • Reduces the risk of type 2 diabetes
  • Protects the liver
  • Provides essential nutrients

The FDA sets the recommended daily limit of caffeine to 400mg per day, and consuming too much caffeine can cause:

  • insomnia
  • jitters
  • anxiousness
  • fast heart rate
  • upset stomach
  • nausea
  • headache
  • dysphoria

If you want to know the ingredients inside of Extra Joss, read: Extra Joss: Caffeine And Ingredients (Discussed).

Are The Artificial Sweeteners In Extra Joss Gluten-Free?

A spoon of sweetener.
Ace K and aspartame are both gluten-free.

Acesulfame potassium and aspartame don’t contain any presence of gluten.

Acesulfame potassium is a gluten-free artificial sweetener in white crystalline powder and is commonly used in gluten-free food products to provide a sweet taste.

In manufacturing, acesulfame potassium, different organic substances, and potassium hydroxide are used and don’t include any gluten impurity.

On the other hand, aspartame is another popular sweetener in the form of granules or powder and is colored white.

It doesn’t use any substance that has a presence of gluten during the manufacturing process.

Are Other Ingredients Of Extra Joss Gluten-Free?

Ginseng extract, royal jelly, and taurine in Extra Joss are also gluten-free.

Ginseng extract was being used in Chinese medicine for centuries. It’s a slow-growing, short plant and with fleshy roots. It can give you several health benefits, such as:

  • Sharper brain function
  • Reduces inflammation
  • Increased energy
  • Treatment of erectile dysfunction
  • Flu prevention
  • Lowering blood sugar
  • Boosts immune system

Royal jelly is a milky secretion produced by the worker bee and serves as food for their queen. In addition, some people use it as medicine and offers various health benefits, including:

  • Relief of menopause symptoms
  • Helps in wound healing
  • Reduces glucose level in the blood
  • Lessens premenstrual syndrome

Taurine is a type of amino acid common in an energy drink because research shows that it can enhance mental performance when mixed with caffeine.

It can also give you different health benefits that include:

  • Fights diabetes
  • Improves heart health
  • Boosts exercise performance
  • Improves eyesight and hearing
  • Reduces seizures
  • Liver protection
  • Improved sports performance

Is Extra Joss Gluten-Free?

Slices of bread
The ingredients of Extra Joss are all gluten-free.

Extra Joss is definitely gluten-free.

The table below shows the ingredients of Extra Joss are all gluten-free.

IngredientsIs It Gluten-Free?
Ginseng ExtractYes
Royal Jelly Yes
Taurine Yes
Caffeine Yes
B Vitamins Yes
Aspartame Yes
Acesulfame Potassium Yes
Mix Fruit Flavor Yes
Citric Acid Yes
Trimethylxanthane Yes

Based on the table below, all the ingredients of Extra Joss are gluten-free, which means it doesn’t contain traces of wheat, barley, rye, and spelt.

Can Extra Joss Be Consumed By A Person With Celiac Disease?

Since Extra Joss is glute-free, it can be safely consumed by a person with celiac disease.

Celiac disease is a health condition that can affect your small intestine and can be triggered by gluten. And this condition has the following symptoms:

  • Digestive problems (bloating, constipation, diarrhea, and pale stools)
  • Severe blistering skin rash
  • Unexplained anemia
  • Musculoskeletal problems (muscle cramps, joint, and bone pain)
  • Growth problems
  • Tingling sensation in the legs
  • Depression

However, if you have celiac disease before drinking Extra Joss, you must consult first with your doctor to assure that it’s safe for you even though it is gluten-free.

The video explains celiac disease and gluten.

Can Extra Joss Trigger Wheat Allergy?

Extra Joss doesn’t trigger wheat allergy since it has no traces of wheat.

Wheat allergy is an allergic reaction to food that has wheat. And the primary treatment is excluding wheat from your diet. Most of the time, it’s confused with celiac disease.

The following are the symptoms of wheat allergy.

  • swelling of mouth and throat irritation
  • itchy rashes
  • swelling of the skin
  • nasal congestion
  • headache
  • difficulty of breathing
  • Cramps
  • nausea, or vomiting
  • diarrhea
  • anaphylaxis

Is Extra Joss Good For You?

If you have a moderate consumption of Extra Joss, it will not cause you any adverse effects.

Extra Joss contains caffeine which will provide you with a significant boost of energy level. And if it’s consumed in moderation, you will get several benefits, including:

  • Provides additional supplements
  • Feel refreshed
  • Improves physical performance
  • Improves brain function
  • Reduces tiredness
  • Enhances alertness

It also contains B vitamins which are vital for various body functions and help in the promotion of:

  • cell health
  • growth of red blood cells
  • energy levels
  • good eyesight
  • healthy brain function
  • good digestion
  • healthy appetite
  • proper nerve function
  • hormones and cholesterol production
  • cardiovascular health
  • muscle tone

How Many Servings Of Extra Joss Can You Have In A Day?

You can drink one serving of Extra Joss per day. However, if you need an extra boost in a day, you can drink two servings occasionally.

Drinking a serving of Extra Joss in a day can give you 50mg of caffeine. And it can give you an energy boost to finish your task.

But, there are times that multiple tasks and activities are needed to accomplish throughout the day, so you need an extra boost in the middle of the day.

Moreover, please don’t make it a habit to drink two or more servings of Extra Joss or any energy drink to avoid caffeine dependency and later result in caffeine withdrawal.

The following are the common signs and symptoms of caffeine withdrawal.

  • headache
  • fatigue
  • anxiety
  • difficulty in concentration
  • depression
  • irritability
  • tremors
  • low energy

So it would be best to stick to one serving of Extra Joss per day so you won’t be able to experience caffeine dependency and withdrawal.

Does Extra Joss Works?

Extra Joss contains 50mg of caffeine that can give you enough energy boost and enhance alertness for the day.

Once you consume the caffeine, it enters the brain and acts as adrenaline to your body. It’ll wake you up and give you enough energy for your performance.

It’ll take about 5-6 to feel the effect of the caffeine. You won’t get sugar crash since Extra Joss is sugar-free and it isn’t Highly Caffeinated.

However, if you want a highly caffeinated energy drink, read: What Are The Strongest Energy Drinks? (Highly Caffeinated)

Can You Drink Extra Joss Everyday?

you can drink Extra Joss every day but limit yourself.

Though Extra Joss isn’t highly caffeinated, it’s still best if you drink it occasionally.

If you have phenylketonuria (PKU), you should avoid artificial Sweetener like aspartame

And if you’re cutting sugar in your diet, you don’t need to worry since Extra Joss is sugar-free

if you’re interested in other healthy Drinks like Extra Joss, visit: What Are The Healthiest Energy Drinks? (A Detailed List)

What Are The Flavors Of Extra Joss?

Extra Joss has only three flavors:

  • Extra Joss Original
  • Extra Joss Rasa Mangga (Mango)
  • Extra Joss Rasa Anggur (Grapes)

What Are The Alternatives For Extra Joss?

If you want to explore more gluten-free energy drinks, you can try the following:

Final Verdict

Overall, the ingredients of Extra Joss are all gluten-free, and if you have celiac disease and wheat allergy and want to have extra energy, it’s suitable for you.

Aside from being gluten-free, it’s also sugar-free, which is good if you’re cutting down sugar in your diet and want to lose weight.

It also has an ideal amount of caffeine which is 50mg, which will surely provide benefits and no adverse effects. But make sure to have only one serving per day or two occasionally serving not to be caffeine dependent.

However, if you really want to make sure if Extra Joss is gluten-free, you can simply contact its manufacturer to be more precise.

Related Articles

Jenny

The only thing I like more than a delicious energy drink is uncovering the TRUTH about energy drinks. Well, that's a bit of an exaggeration, but I like to share the facts that I uncover and I hope you find my words interesting and useful.

Recent Posts