Is Celsius Vegan? (A Thorough Explanation)

Celsius Energy Drink in Sparkling Flavors

Bullseye: Celsius Originals, Celsius Stevia, and Celsius On-the-go are certified vegan.

I found that Celsius energy drinks are also gluten-free, soy-free, and it does not contain any preservatives and artificial flavors.

That’s pretty good, right?

You can check out the website’s FAQ section to confirm.

In case you got to this article without knowing what Celsius actually is, it’s a great energy drink that’s bursting with flavor!

Celsius can enhance your mental alertness and physical performance. This is most especially true if you drink it before exercising or doing extreme physical actvity.

But the main question here is, is Celsius really vegan?

Well, I don’t want to cause any delay. So, off we start with this quest!

Celsius Ingredients List

First of all, let’s get through the ingredient list of Celsius:

  • caffeine
  • vitamin C
  • riboflavin
  • niacin
  • pantothenic acid
  • pyridoxine
  • citric acid
  • riboflavin
  • fruit juice
  • sucralose
  • calcium
  • carbohydrates
  • chromium
  • natural flavor
  • sodium
  • carbonated filtered water
  • vegetable juice
  • Metaplus Proprietary Blend

To tell you honestly, I was quite amazed to see how they were able to fit these ingredients in a 12 fl. oz can.

A can of Celsius in Sparkling Grape Rush
Sparkling Grape Rush flavor of Celsius

Are The Ingredients in Celsius Vegan?

Let’s take a closer look at the sources and properties of Celsius ingredients and conclude if they’re vegan or not.

IngredientsPropertiesSourceIs it Vegan?
Erythritolsweetener derived from corn.SyntheticYes
SucralosesweetenerSyntheticYes
NiacinVitamin B3OrganicYes
SteviasweetenerPlant-basedYes
Ginger Root Extractcontains antioxidantsPlant-basedYes
Caffeinestimulant, that improves your cognitive abilities, and physical performancePlant-based/ SyntheticYes
Guarana Seed Extractcontains antioxidants and stimulantsPlant-basedYes
Green Tea Extractcontains antioxidantsPlant-basedYes
Taurineamino acidSyntheticYes
Pantothenic AcidVitamin B5SyntheticYes
A table showing how vegan Celsius ingredients are.

I had a look at PETA‘s animal-derived ingredients list and it looks pretty clear to me that Celsius is vegan-friendly. If you’re still not convinced, continue reading!

Is Taurine In Celsius Vegan?

Taurine in Celsius is synthesized inside laboratories.

Taurine, an amino acid, is generally found in animal sources. However, the taurine used in energy drinks is synthesized inside chemical labs because it’s been proven to be economically beneficial compared to the former.

I guess energy drink companies would normally look to cut costs. That’s perfectly understandable and normal for any business to abide by.

More importantly, that’s considered a win-win situation for the consumer and the manufacturer. Synthesized taurine is good for them, and good for you if you’re on a vegan-healthy diet.

Is Pantothenic Acid in Celsius Vegan?

Pantothenic Acid (vitamin B5) can be found in various plant foods and is generally chemically synthesized, which makes it vegan-friendly.

Vitamin B5 aids in turning the food we consume into the energy that we use throughout the day. It’s also known for helping bodily functions like breaking down fats.

Here’s a fun fact:

While Vitamin B5 can be derived from animals and chemically synthesized, plant-based sources for this vitamin include shitake mushrooms, sunflower seeds, and avocados.

Does Celsius Have Sugar?

You will be surprised to know that a sweet and refreshing energy drink like Celsius doesn’t contain any sugar but it uses artificial sweeteners instead.

A spoon full of sugar
Celsius has zero-sugar.

There’s no need to discuss the risks of consuming too much sugar because Celsius is a sugar-free energy drink.

Instead, let me discuss the artificial sweeteners used in Celsius at length so that you can find out whether they’re vegan or not.

Are The Artificial Sweeteners in Celsius Vegan?

Artificial sweeteners are very common in energy drinks, but they do vary in kind. Let’s see whether Celsius uses the vegan kind or not.

Is Sucralose Vegan?

Sucralose is refined from plants like sugarcane or sugar beet. It is 400 to 700 times sweeter than sugar without the bitter aftertaste like other popular sweeteners.

It’s commonly known under the brand name Splenda. The zero-calorie content of Splenda/sucralose makes such a drink more appealing to people who are calorie-conscious.

But I do think it’s important for you to know that sucralose has been extensively tested on animals. Not only that, it’s known to have caused 12,000+ animal deaths. Surely you’ll go ballistic with this thought in mind if you’re a moral vegan.

Is Stevia Vegan?

Stevia is a plant-based sweetener that is extracted from the Stevia plant. It’s about 200 times sweeter than sugar and is also calorie-free.

To be honest, not everyone likes the taste of Stevia because it’s bitterness.

Therefore, Stevia is one of the safest ingredients that you should be looking out for food-wise, especially when you’re following a strict vegan diet and lifestyle.

And I must say Celsius Stevia is a promising choice!

Is Erythritol Vegan?

Erythritol is a sweetener derived from corn and is then synthesized to improve its sweet-tasting qualities. It is a sugar alcohol used as a sugar substitute and is naturally found in some food and beverages.

The thing is, researchers might have used animals and humans to test erythritol which is a big concern for ethical vegans.

Friendly caution!

All of these sweeteners are approved by the FDA and other health authorities for general use under certain conditions.

I think it is pretty much safe to consume energy drinks with artificial sweeteners once a while to help with physical and mental strength.

Is the Caffeine in Celsius Vegan?

The caffeine in Celsius is most probably vegan. Regardless of it being sourced from nature or synthetically made, in my opinion, caffeine is vegan.

Caffeine anhydrous, a form of dehydrated caffeine, is generally used in energy drinks. It is made from the seeds and leaves of coffee plants.

As Celsius contains caffeine anhydrous that is refined through an exaction process. You can be sure that it is vegan-friendly.

How Much Caffeine Is In Celsius?

As per the product label, Celsius energy drinks has around 100 to 300 mg of caffeine.

Caffeine is the most important component in energy drinks because it is responsible for helping you perform better in terms of physical performance, mental alertness.

Celsius energy drinks on a bench
Celsius has around 100 to 300 mg of caffeine.

However, you should always check how much caffeine is in your energy drink. US Food and Drug Administration recommends that an average healthy adult shouldn’t consume more than 400 mg of caffeine in a day.

Consuming too much caffeine can lead to problems like:

  • irritability
  • restlessness
  • insomnia
  • anxiety
  • nausea

Is MetaPlus Proprietary Blend Vegan?

MetaPlus Proprietary Blend mostly consists of plant-based ingredients with only caffeine and taurine being synthesized.

For those who came here for this blend specifically, check out its ingredients below:

  • caffeine
  • green tea extract
  • guarana extract
  • glucuronolactone
  • ginger root extract
  • taurine

That being said, it is safe to assume that the MetaPlus Proprietary blend in Celsius is indeed vegan.

Is Celsius Gluten-Free?

According to their website, Celsius is a certified gluten-free energy drink.

Gluten is a storage protein that is derived from many grains like rye, barley, and wheat. Food that contains gluten can damage your digestive system and disrupt its functions which can lead to malnutrition.

To know the nitty gritty details of whether or not Celsius is gluten-free, check this article.

Where Can I Buy Celsius?

You can buy Celsius energy drinks in-store or online.

Here are my top recommendations:

And if you prefer to buy online, you’ll find the best deals on here:

Vegan-Friendly Alternatives To Celsius

In case you’re in the mood for something else, there are a lot of other options for you to try.

I do understand that drinking the same energy drink over and over again might make it lose its magic. Perhaps your taste buds are looking for something else. If it is, then a cup of tea or coffee might be refreshing.

Conclusion

Although, the Celsius website claims that their energy drinks are vegan-friendly, I strongly recommend further research to confirm such a statement.

However, after researching this topic, I can say Celsius Energy Drink can be considered vegan-friendly from a health perspective.

If you’re following a vegan diet for health reasons, I think Celsius is a great choice!

Celsius contains essential vitamins and minerals which work effectively in enhancing mental and physical performance. On top of that, the MetaPlus Proprietary blend is packed with ingredients that can improve the body’s metabolism rate.

On the other hand, if you’re a strict vegan, I think you should perform due diligence to ensure all ingredients are 100% vegan. I’m talking about artificial sweeteners used in Celsius Energy Drink.

Ultimately, if you think that Celsius is a drink that wouldn’t hurt your dietary plan or belittle your personal vegan principle, I think you should go for it!

Go, get a can now!

On a side note:

Watch this quick review of Celsius Energy Drink.

Celsius Drink Review

Jenny

The only thing I like more than a delicious energy drink is uncovering the TRUTH about energy drinks. Well, that's a bit of an exaggeration, but I like to share the facts that I uncover and I hope you find my words interesting and useful.

Read Next