Skip to Content

Is Bang Energy Drink Vegan? (Clarified)

In summary, Bang Energy Drinks are considered vegan if you’re consuming the variation with EAAs.

Bang is a popular energy drink brand available in a wide variety of flavors. It is advertised as a pre-workout drink that promises to give you an ultimate boost.

The Super Creatine in Bang is bonded with amino acids which are known to be effective in improving physical and mental endurance.

Bang contains BCAAs, EAAs, caffeine, Super Creatine, Coenzymes, and other energy-boosting properties designed to keep you energized and active.

But is Bang really vegan?

Well, you’ll know as we go along.

Bang energy drink, sour head flavor.
Bang Potent Brain and Body Fuel

Is Bang 2022 vegan?

Bang 2022 is vegan. Bang energy drinks are regarded to be vegan because they do not include any animal-derived components or byproducts. These foods are suitable for vegans and others who adhere to a diet that emphasizes the intake of plant foods because they are fully plant-based.

Is taurine vegan?

Taurine is vegan. Taurine supplements derived from synthetic sources are readily accessible and acceptable for vegetarians and vegans. Taurine is a sulfur molecule with multiple physiological roles, and it is also available as a synthetic supplement ready for vegetarians and vegans.

Bang Energy Drink Ingredients List

Ingredients in Bang

For reference, I’ve listed below the ingredients found in Bang.

  • Carbonated Water
  • Natural and Artificial flavors
  • Citric Acid
  • Phosphoric Acid
  • Caffeine
  • Sodium Benzoate (preservative)
  • Potassium Citrate Monohydrate
  • EAAs (Essential Amino Acids)
  • Sucralose
  • Potassium Phosphate Dibasic
  • Vitamin C
  • Potassium Sorbate (preservative)
  • Magnesium Chloride
  • Super Creatine (Creatyl-L-Leucine [Creatine bonded to L-Leucine])
  • Calcium Chloride
  • Calcium Disodium EDTA
  • CoQ10
  • B-Vitamins, B-3, B-6, and B-12

Is Bang Really Vegan?

While Bang can be considered vegan-friendly for some, others might be on the stricter side because ingredients may be by-products of animals.

For your information, I have created this table showing the Bang ingredients, their sources, their purpose, and whether or not it is vegan.

IngredientPurposeSourceIs It vegan?
Carbonated WaterFizzy diluentCO2 +Water+ PressureYes
Natural and Artificial flavorsFlavoringSynthetic or natural extracts Most probably
Citric AcidFlavoring, preservative
Vegetables, bacteria, fungal or mold
Phosphoric AcidFlavoring, preservativeMineral Yes
CaffeineStimulantSynthetic, Guarana, coffeeYes
Sodium Benzoate PreservativeSyntheticYes
Potassium Citrate MonohydrateBuffering agentSyntheticYes
EAAs (Essential Amino Acids)Body nutrientsChemical synthesis, Bacteria fermentation of cane and beet molassesYes
SucraloseArtificial sweetenerSyntheticYes
Potassium Phosphate DibasicElectrolyte, buffering agent, anti-freezing agentSyntheticYes
Vitamin CBody nutrientsSyntheticYes
Potassium Sorbate PreservativeSyntheticYes
Magnesium ChlorideCoagulantNatural mineral saltYes
Super Creatine (Creatyl-L-Leucine [Creatine bonded to L-Leucine])Energy boosterSyntheticYes
Calcium ChlorideElectrolyteSalt (Synthetic or Purification of brine)Yes
Calcium Disodium EDTAFlavoring, preservativeSynthetically madeYes
CoQ10Energy boosterChemical synthesis
Microbial production
B-Vitamins, B-3, B-6, and B-12Body nutrientAnimal-derived, lab-madePossibly
Bang Ingredients, their Purpose, Source, and if it is vegan.

Is the Super Creatine in Bang vegan?

Yes, the Super Creatine in Bang is vegan-friendly because it is synthetically produced.

Super Creatine is the result of combining l-leucine and creatine which are processed and created in laboratories.

Creatine is stored in muscles and also found in the brain. It is a popular supplement used by athletes and bodybuilders to enhance their physical capacity.

L-leucine, on the other hand, is an essential amino acid that aids in protein synthesis. It is also referred to as the “main amino acid” due to its significant benefits in muscle building and energy balance.

The combination of creatine and l-leucine makes Bang more efficient in reaching the brain cells to increase mental performance.

Are the EAAs in Bang vegan?

Yes, the essential amino acids (EAAs) in Bang are indeed vegan. The company replaced BCAAs to EAAs to make Bang Energy Drink vegan.

The vegan powerlifting athlete Nick Squires tweeted that Bang is not considered vegan-friendly due to the BCAA content – there is also a Reddit thread (now deleted) discussing it.

And this prompted Bang to reformulate their ingredients and opt for EAAs instead of BCAAs which allowed them to market their product as vegan-friendly. Most Bang Energy Drinks that are now available contain EAAs.

Are the artificial sweeteners in Bang vegan?

Artificial sweeteners like sucralose and acesulfame potassium are considered vegan because they are created in laboratories using chemicals.

However, there are artificial sweeteners that have been tested on animals which makes it non-vegan. I suggest doing your own research before deciding to drink or eat anything.

Here’s something that you should consider:

Although sucralose is made from non-animal derivative ingredients, there were reports suggesting the use of animals to test for negative effects. That being said, if you’re a moral vegan, sucralose is definitely a red flag.

Sucralose is a no-calorie artificial sweetener that 400 to 700 times sweeter than sugar. It is made from sugar but without calories and a bitter aftertaste reputation.

Acesulfame potassium, on the other hand, is up to 200 times sweeter and is often mixed with sucralose to get rid of its bitter taste. It can also be found in soft drinks, baked goods, frozen desserts, and many other products.

Sucralose and acesulfame potassium are both controversial due to their side effects. However, the FDA do consider it safe for use in food and beverages under certain conditions.

Check out this study if you want to learn more about sugar substitutes, their perceived benefits, and controversies.

Are All Bang Flavors Vegan?

Bang energy drink flavors
Bang Energy Drink Flavors

Artificial flavors are often vegan-friendly because they are lab-made. They are obtained through a synthetic process that involves the use of nitrogen, complex hydrocarbons, and sulfur ions.

That being said, it is safe to assume that all the Bang flavors are considered vegan-vegan friendly.

On the other hand, there’s no definite way to tell whether the natural flavors in Bang Energy Drinks are vegan or not. But if you aren’t as strict with hard evidence, it’s okay to assume they most probably are.

Is Bang Good For Vegans?

Whether or not Bang is good for vegans depends on what is your take about veganism.

In my opinion, if you’re following the vegan diet to eat healthier, I don’t think it is much of a worry as long as you drink Bang in moderation.

Bang Energy Drink is rich in EAAs, B-Vitamins, Super Creatine, Coenzymes, caffeine, and other energy-boosting ingredients which are all good for you health-wise.

On the contrary, if you are a strict vegan, the artificial sweeteners used may be an issue. Splenda/sucralose had caused 12000+ animal deaths which is definitely a significant concern if you’re a moral vegan.

Pros and Cons of Being a Vegan

Is being vegan healthy?

There are always two sides to every story and veganism being healthy or not is a great example.

It is absolutely true that veganism is healthy but it has downsides as well.

Some of the health benefits of following a vegan diet includes:

  • Vegan diet is richer in certain nutrients.
  • It lowers blood sugar level and improve kidney function.
  • It may protect you from certain cancers.
  • It can help you loose weight.
  • It can help reduce arthritis pain.

While the downsides include:

  • loss of essential vitamins and minerals
  • radical change
  • difficulty when dining out

Potential Side Effects of Bang Energy Drink

Some of the possible side-effects of drinking too much Bang Energy Drink includes:

  • insomnia
  • jitters
  • anxiousness
  • fast heart rate
  • upset stomach
  • nausea
  • headache

Why are bangs being discontinued?

According to recent reports, the maker of Bang energy drinks has filed for bankruptcy protection following a federal jury’s decision. The jury ordered the company to pay Monster Beverage Corp. approximately $293 million.

This verdict was based on allegations of interfering with Monster Beverage’s relationships with retailers and making false claims about the mental and physical benefits of Bang drinks.

What energy drink is not vegan?

While most energy drinks are vegan-friendly, some brands may include non-vegan additives like taurine derived from animals or ingredients such as honey or gelatin.

It’s important to check labels or contact the manufacturer to ensure an energy drink aligns with your vegan lifestyle.

What other energy drinks are vegan?

The Takeaway

Overall, I can say that Bang Energy Drink is relatively vegan-friendly.

If you’re a vegan for health reasons, then Bang is considered a safe addition to your diet. Bang is stuffed with rich ingredients designed to give you an ultimate boost without ruining your diet plan.

On the other hand, if you’re a moral vegan, you probably need to perform due diligence to ensure all Bang ingredients are safe. Although, they keep saying that it is indeed a vegan-friendly drink.

The best takeaway here is, to always check the product labels of your energy drinks to ensure that it is vegan certified. Also, call the manufacturer to get a straight answer whether or not their products are vegan.

Don’t buy Bang without first checking out my Bang buying guide to ensure you don’t pay too much and get the best deal possible.

Skip to content