Is Bang Energy Drink Gluten-Free? (In-Depth)

Brief Answer: According to Bang, only the reformulated version with EAAs Aminos printed on them is guaranteed gluten-free.

Speaking of EAAs Aminos, the body can’t produce it, which means that you need to obtain it somehow through diet. And in this case, having a can of Bang can probably help you obtain these nutrients.

Anyway, if you’re someone living with gluten-related conditions, it is in your best interest to closely inspect the labels of your favorite Bang Energy Drink.

For this article, I will aim to answer the question – is Bang Energy gluten-free? I believe it is important for you to get an in-depth explanation of how gluten-free Bang Energy drinks are.

So, read on, the answers that you’re looking for are a few scrolls away!

What is Gluten?

A loaf of bread
Gluten acts like glue that hold the food together!

Gluten is naturally found in wheat, rye, and barley. It also helps maintains the shape of food and acts like a glue that holds it together.

The thing is, gluten can be harmful to some people, especially those who suffer from celiac disease, irritable bowel syndrome, and wheat allergy. A gluten-free diet is highly recommended for anyone living with gluten-related conditions.

On the other hand, one issue that you might face if you go gluten-free is the deficiency in various nutrients such as fiber, calcium, zinc, iron, and many other vitamins.

Moving on, let’s look at the ingredients and nutrition facts of Bang to find out if it is really gluten-free.

Bang Energy Drink Nutrition Facts

Bang Energy Drink Nutrition Facts

For reference, look at this table of nutrition facts.

ContentAmount
Caffeine300 mg
Calories0 g
Saturated Fat0 g
Trans Fat0 g
Cholesterol0 g
Sodium40 g
Carbohydrate0 g
Dietary Fibre0 g
Total Sugar0 g
Vitamin D0 mcg
Iron0 mg
Vitamin C27 mg
Vitamin B60.5 mg
Magnesium5 mg
Calcium5 mg
Potassium85 mg
Niacin5 mg
Vitamin B121.5 mcg
Bang Energy Nutrition Facts Table

Bang Energy Drink Ingredients

Bang Energy Drink contains the following ingredients:

  • Carbonated Water
  • Citric Acid
  • Phosphoric Acid
  • Caffeine
  • Sodium Benzoate
  • Potassium Sorbate (preservative)
  • Potassium Citrate Monohydrate
  • EAAs
  • Sucralose
  • Natural and Artificial Flavors
  • Potassium Phosphate Dibasic
  • Vitamin C
  • Potassium Sorbate
  • Acesulfame Potassium
  • Magnesium Chloride
  • Super Creatine
  • Calcium Chloride
  • Calcium Disodium EDTA
  • CoQ10
  • B-Vitamins

However, you might not see Super Creatine as an ingredient in Bang, especially when buying outside the US, due to it being prohibited for use in food in Europe.

Furthermore, if you want a detailed analysis about the Super Creatine in Bang, check this article.

Does Bang Have Gluten in it?

A can of Bang Peach Mango energy drink
Bang Peach Mango

Based on the ingredient list and nutrition facts, it is safe to assume that Bang Energy is gluten-free.

However, based on Bang’s official website, only the reformulated version of this drink is considered gluten-free. The reformulated version are the ones with “EAA Aminos” printed on them.

I strongly suggest to closely inspect your can of Bang Energy before drinking or purchasing it. That way, you can be sure you got the reformulated version.

Why Gluten Could be Bad For You?

Gluten could be bad for you if you’re someone diagnosed with celiac disease, wheat allergy, non-celiac gluten sensitivity, and irritable bowel syndrome.

If you’re living with any of these conditions, a gluten-free diet is something that you should follow to manage its recurring symptoms.

For better understanding, let’s have a closer look at the symptoms and descriptions of these conditions.

Celiac Disease

Celiac disease is a severe form of gluten intolerance that affects one in 133 Americans. It is an autoimmune disorder that treats gluten as a foreign substance that enters the body.

As a result, the immune system fights the gluten causing gut damage which leads to myriads of digestive issues and increased risk of diseases. This can also lead to weight loss, bloating, and anemia.

Other symptoms of celiac disease includes:

  • diarrhea
  • rashes
  • fatigue
  • abdominal pain
  • nausea
  • vomiting

Unfortunately, there is no cure for celiac disease. However, following a strict gluten-free diet can help manage the symptoms.

Non-Celiac Gluten Sensitivity

Non-Celiac Gluten Sensitivity is a form of gluten intolerance that is less severe that celiac disease.

If you suffer from celiac-like symptoms and your celiac test came back negative, or you respond well to a gluten-free diet, chances are, you might be suffering from non-celiac gluten sensitivity.

Non-celiac people suffers from the following symptoms:

  • fatigue
  • diarrhea
  • balance problems
  • bloating
  • gas
  • abdominal cramps

All of these symptoms can be minimized and prevented by following a gluten-free diet.

If you’re non-celiac, you don’t have to worry about intestinal damage and poor nutrient absorption because it’s perfectly fine to consume some gluten-containing food once in a while.

Wheat Allergy

People with wheat allergy have an abnormal reaction to protein that are present in wheat.

In other words, if you have wheat allergy, your body perceives wheat as a threat and that leads to symptoms like:

  • trouble breathing
  • diarrhea
  • nausea and vomiting
  • eye irritation
  • rashes
  • nasal congestion

The thing is, if you have wheat allergy, you can still consume other grains, except wheat, which means following a gluten-free diet may be limiting.

Some of the wheat-based that you should stay away from includes cakes, pasta, cookies, muffin, and bread.

It is essential to get a proper diagnosis for this condition for you to avoid the food that you shouldn’t be consuming.

Irritable Bowel Syndrome (IBS)

Gluten is something that you should avoid if you are diagnosed with irritable bowel syndrome (IBS).

A gluten-free diet can help lessen the symptoms of IBS such as:

  • bloating
  • flatulence
  • stomach pains
  • diarrhea
  • constipation
  • low energy
  • backache

I strongly recommend seeing the doctor if you are suffering from any of these symptoms. That way, you can get a proper diagnosis and get serious about how to manage your symptoms.

Should You Go Gluten-Free?

You should definitely go gluten-free if you are diagnosed with celiac disease, gluten sensitivity, and other gluten-related conditions.

A gluten-free diet can help lessen and manage the symptoms of your conditions. For example, people with celiac disease should really stick to a diet that is free from gluten to avoid small intestine inflammation.

On the flip side, it’s not always sunshine and rainbows you’ll get if you decided to go gluten-free. There are various nutrients that you’ll miss on a gluten-free diet such as iron, calcium, folate, Vitamin B12, and other fat-soluble vitamins such as vitamins A, D, E, and K.

On a side note:

You’ll get B12 and other vitamins from Bang Energy which can probably help you a little to combat with fatigue. But I do not recommend relying on this drink to get full vitamin supplementation. It is best to obtain these nutrients through a healthy meal.

Therefore, you should only go gluten-free if you’re battling with gluten-related condition!

Is Bang Star Blast Gluten-Free?

Yes, Bang Star Blast is gluten-free!

I presume it is one of the reformulated versions because the ingredients contain essential amino acids (EAAs). And based on the Bang website, only those with the EAA Aminos label are guaranteed gluten-free.

If you feel like you’re not convinced about this, I suggest you call the manufacturer to check whether or not this particular flavor is gluten-free.

And if you really think that Bang Star Blast is a safe addition to your gluten-free diet, I suggest checking out Amazon to see some of the best deals.

To get an idea of the real taste of Bang Star Blast flavor, I suggest giving this short video a watch!

Taste Review of Bang Energy Drink Star Blast Flavor

Is Bang Energy Drink Bad For You?

If consumed in moderation, Bang Energy Drink is not bad for you.

Bang Energy is stuffed with 300 mg caffeine, 0 g sugar, 0 g fats, 0 calories, vitamins, and energy-boosting ingredients designed to help you obtain the energy that you need for an entire workout session.

Based on the mentioned ingredients, Bang Energy is not bad at all, but you need to watch out for the caffeine as it’s pretty close to the allowed intake per day which is 400 mg. Make sure not to overindulge to avoid health repercussions.

Although Bang is technically gluten-free, I strongly suggest performing diligence to ensure that it is safe to consume, especially when you’re suffering from gluten-related conditions.

Generally speaking, this drink is not bad at all as long as consumed responsibly!

Gluten-Free Energy Drinks

If in the future you’re searching for gluten-free energy drinks, here are a few recommendations for you:

In a Nutshell

Not all Bang Energy Drinks are gluten-free! Only the reformulated version with the EAA Aminos label is considered to be free from gluten.

That said, I strongly suggest checking the can of your favorite Bang Energy before having a gulp.

It is also essential to check the ingredients and nutritional info your favorite energy drink to ensure it is gluten-free.

If you’re someone living with gluten-related conditions, it is important for you to follow a gluten-free diet to manage your symptoms.

On the other hand, going gluten-free may not be right for you if you’re not suffering from gluten sensitivity or gluten intolerance issues.

Although the newer versions of Bang Energy is considered safe for people with gluten issues, I still recommend drinking it slowly to avoid system shock and other adverse effects.

If you’re really convince of the gluten-free stats of that can of Bang on your hand, drink it up!

Jenny

The only thing I like more than a delicious energy drink is uncovering the TRUTH about energy drinks. Well, that's a bit of an exaggeration, but I like to share the facts that I uncover and I hope you find my words interesting and useful.

Read Next