Is Aspire Energy Drink Vegan Friendly?

Energy With Such Grace!

Aspire Energy drink claims not to be like the kind of energy drink we usually know of. Plant-based ingredients, natural nutrients, and multivitamins make the drink stands out in the whole market.

Apart from being healthy, is the drink vegan friendly?

Aspire Energy Drink has been officially certified to be vegan and is one of the very few vegan energy drinks.

If you’re a vegan and you’re looking for energy drinks that don’t have hidden animal-based products, Aspire Energy Drink might be just the one for you.

Continue reading for more information..

Aspire Energy Drink Ingredients

Energy Drink, Can
Aspire Energy Drink Ingredients

The brand is already very vocal about the ingredients, in Aspire Energy Drink, you can see a large section of it at the back of the can.

The ingredients are:

  • Carbonated Water
  • Malic Acid
  • Taurine
  • Citric Acid
  • Sodium Citrate
  • Calcium Lactate
  • Guarana
  • Seed Extract
  • Natural Flavor
  • Ascorbic Acid (Vitamin C)
  • Green Tea Extract
  • Natural Caffeine
  • Choline Bitartrate
  • Vegetable Juice for Color
  • Sucralose
  • L-Carnitine
  • Green Tea Polyphenols (EGCG)
  • Ginger Root Extract
  • Niacinamide (Vitamin B-3)
  • D-Calcium Pantothenate (Vitamin B-5)
  • Pyridoxine Hydrochloride (Vitamin B-6)
  • Biotin
  • Cyanocobalamin (Vitamin B-12)

Are All The Ingredients In Aspire Energy Drink Vegan?

Here’s a table explaining if the ingredients of Aspire Energy Drink are vegan-friendly or not; and why are they added to the drink.

IngredientsPurposeSourceIs It Vegan?
Malic AcidAdds flavor or acidifiesPlant-BasedYes
TaurineAmino acid that improves physical performanceAnimal-based or SyntheticYes
Citric AcidFor flavoring and preservationPlant-based or SyntheticYes
Sodium CitrateMaintains pH balance of the drinkLab-basedYes
Calcium LactatePreserves the flavors of the drink.Lab-basedYes
Guarana Seed ExtractStimulant and an antioxidant Plant-basedYes
Natural FlavorEnhance tastePlant-basedYes
Natural CaffeineA stimulant that improves your cognitive functionsPlant-basedYes
Choline BitartrateImproves memory and other nervous system functionsPlant-based Yes
SucraloseArtificial sweetenerPlant-based: CornYes
L-CarnitineBody Nutrient Animal-based/ SyntheticProbably
Green Tea Polyphenols (EGCG)Anti-cancer propertiesNatural/ SyntheticYes
B Vitamins and BiotinBody NutrientsPlant-based or animal-basedProbably
Ascorbic Acid (Vitamin C)Body NutrientSyntheticYes
Vegan Ingredients of Aspire Energy Drink

All these ingredients listed in the table can be derived from plants or synthetically made. So it’s true as the brand claims, Aspire drink is vegan-friendly.

Some ingredients can be only plant-based or commercially lab-made such as Malic Acid, Citric Acid, Sodium Citrate, Guarana Seed extracts. But other ingredients like natural flavors, choline bitartrate or B vitamins can be made from both plants and animal sources.

Is Taurine In Aspire Energy Drink Vegan?

Taurine is a key ingredient in most energy drinks which is an essential amino acid. Combined with caffeine in an energy drink, it helps to enhance your mental abilities.

Naturally, foods like meat, fish and dairy contain Taurine. But it’s also produced synthetically to be used as supplements or in energy drinks.

So synthetically produced Taurine is vegan-friendly.

Non-vegetarians have about 40–400 mg of taurine per day from their diet. As vegans are unable to attain Taurine from animal sources, their blood pressure often has lower levels of it. That’s when synthetically produced Taurine comes of use.

Synthesizing taurine in laboratories is more economic than deriving it from animal sources, mostly when it’s required on a large scale. So it’s only logical that energy drinks use synthetic taurine.

Is Natural Caffeine In Aspire Drink Vegan?

“Like a cup of coffee”

Natural caffeine is identical to synthetic caffeine, both chemically and property-wise. Synthetic coffee is formed by reacting urea and chloroacetic acid, raw materials that come from animal sources.

But as natural coffee is made from plants only, it’s certified as vegan. The plants that naturally provide caffeine are:

  • Cocoa Beans
  • Kola Nuts
  • Tea Leaves
  • Coffee Beans
  • Yerba Maté
  • Guarana Berries
  • Guayusa
  • The Yaupon Holly

A 12fl. oz. can of Aspire Energy Drink contains only 80mg of caffeine.

The caffeine content is very less compared to other energy drinks. In fact, it’s similar to how much you consume from your daily cup of coffee or tea. And this is why having Aspire Energy Drink won’t give you jitters or make you crash.

FDA allows you to have 400mg of caffeine per day, and having more than that could lead to a few health issues like:

  • Headaches or Migraine
  • Anxiety
  • Tremors
  • High Blood Pressure
  • Insomnia
  • Restlessness
  • Dizziness
  • Dehydration

So caffeine in Aspire drink is both vegan and within the daily recommended limit, so that’s one more thing you don’t have to worry about.

Vitamins In Aspire Energy Drink.

Aspire Energy contains Vitamin C, Vitamin B-3, Vitamin B-5, Vitamin B-6, Vitamin B-12 and Biotin ( Vitamin B-7).

VitaminsRelative Dose-ResponseFunctionsVegan?
Vitamin C70%Powerful antioxidant that improves skin and reduces stress.Yes
Vitamin B3 70%Removes toxins from blood and reduces cholesterol.Yes
Vitamin B570%Moisturizes skin and reduces anxiety.Yes
Vitamin B6200%Strengthens immune system, helps in brain\nervous system functions to concentrate better. Yes
Vitamin B1225%Skin renewal, regulates nervous system and helps to recover from fatigue. Yes
Vitamin B7/Biotin 70%Maintains an active metabolism and required for good skin and hair. Yes
Details of the vitamins in the drink

Relative Dose-Response (RDR), it’s a test that measures the response of your tissues to the particular vitamin dose. In simpler words, it gives a rough idea of the improvements your body will have after you have one Aspire Energy Drink.

All the vitamins listed above are necessities for a good health, and you can receive them all in a single drink.

Vitamin C can be both derived from citrus fruits or be synthetically made from GMO corn.

Vitamin B3, Vitamin B5, Vitamin B6, and Vitamin B12 can be artificially synthesized in labs. 

Biotin or Vitamin B7 is mostly found in animal sources (livers, egg yolks, dairy) but can be synthetically made in labs too, which is more inexpensive.

If you’re a vegan, your options of receiving these crucial nutrients are lesser compared to non-vegans. But fortunately, these vitamins can be produced industrially and Aspire Energy Drink will bring them to you flavorfully.

Here’s why you must make sure to get B vitamins

Sugar In Aspire Energy Drink

All the Aspire Energy Drinks are sugar free. So they are diabetic friendly and won’t affect your low-carb diet.

The drink contains 1/100th of a gram of Sucralose as an artificial sweetener, and yes it’s vegan too.

Following various chemical methods, sugar is converted to Sucralose which makes it 400-700 times sweeter. As it’s not made from animal sources, it’s vegan. But how does it affect your health?

However, having sucralose infrequently has been considered to be safe. But there have been a few studies suggesting that long-term consumption of Sucralose may:

  • Raise blood sugar
  • Raise insulin levels
  • Hamper normal gut-flora
  • Increase risks for obesity and type 2 diabetes
  • Increase risks for stroke
  • Cause dementia
Zero Sugar. Zero Carbs.

Other Natural Extracts In Aspire Energy Drink

Let’s discuss other ingredients that Aspire claims to be natural and vegan.

Green Tea Polyphenols (EGCG)

The polyphenol or EGCG in green tea extracts can be found naturally in plants or be synthetic. There are no chances of it being non-vegan.

Due to the presence of this polyphenol, Aspire energy drink helps you to burn calorie faster. Other than that, it lowers the bad kind of cholesterol levels and fastens your metabolism. It has also been proven to be anti-cancer.

Recommended daily dosage is 338g and an excess may lead to the following side-effects:

  • Liver and Kidney failure
  • Dizziness
  • Low Blood Sugar
  • Anemia

Choline Bitartrate

Choline Bitartrate is mostly found in animals rather than plant-based food. It is an important nutrient that is required for maintaining the structure of cells and aids in DNA synthesis,

The limit for choline is 300mg per day for most adults. However, the amount of choline in the drink is unknown but it has health benefits such as improving brain function and cognition, boosting metabolism, and lowering cholesterol.

It can be found in many plant-based courses such as mushrooms, broccoli, potatoes and is also synthetically made. Synthetically made ones are also used as supplements.

So, Choline bitartrate is vegan in Aspire Energy Drink.

L-Carnitine

Naturally, L-Carnitine can be found in red meat, chicken, milk and dairy products, fish, beans, and avocado. But it’s also been produced in laboratories for vegans or vegetarians.

It’s an amino acid that facilitates fat-burning and reduces cholesterol and fatigue and increases muscle mass. But synthetic L-carnitine has been linked with a few side effects, mainly:

  • Nausea
  • Diarrhea
  • Vomiting
  • Cramps
  • May contradict other medications

Are All Aspire Flavors Vegan?

Its various fruity flavors and naturally sparkling and refreshing taste are worth trying

Its various fruity flavors and naturally sparkling and refreshing taste are worth trying. Yes, all the flavors are vegan-friendly.

Here’s all the favors to choose from:

  • Lemony Lime
  • Tropical
  • Orange Pineapple
  • Peach Tea Lemonade
  • Dark Cherry
  • Raspberry +Acai
  • Mango Lemonade
  • Cranberry
  • Apple + Acai

Aspire Energy Drink Alternatives

If you’re looking for more vegan energy drinks to try, check these out!

How many have you tried?

The Bottom Line

I believe Aspire Energy Drink is actually vegan-friendly. Because all ingredients in the drink are most likely to be synthetic or plant-based.

A few ingredients like Taurine and L-Carnitine are commonly found in animals but using synthetic makes more sense as it’s economically sustainable.

Other than that, I found this drink to be worth it. It’s filled with vitamins and antioxidants, has no sugar, low caffeine and sodium, and also soy and gluten-free.

Do give it a try.

Related Articles

Jenny

The only thing I like more than a delicious energy drink is uncovering the TRUTH about energy drinks. Well, that's a bit of an exaggeration, but I like to share the facts that I uncover and I hope you find my words interesting and useful.

Recent Posts