Is AMP Energy Drink Gluten-Free? (Spelled Out)

Quick answer: AMP drink is absolutely Gluten-Free as it doesn’t contain any ingredient made out of wheat or cereal grains.

However, as AMP continues to win many hearts with its flavor, there are many questions raised regarding it being gluten-free or not.

Even though the company has no official label to show it, they’ve confirmed that none of the ingredients in AMP are derived from gluten-based grains.

The steady rise in concerns regarding gluten since the last decade has made people very conscious about gluten being in their daily diet. As a result, everyone is becoming skeptical of what they consume regularly.

In this article, you’ll find everything you need to know about AMP being gluten-free, including what gluten is and how it may affect those with gluten intolerance.

So keep on reading!

Is AMP Gluten-Free?
A standard can of AMP energy drink

Before going into the details about AMP drink, let us take a look at what gluten is and why some people are intolerant to it.

What is Gluten?

What is Gluten?

Gluten is a family of insoluble proteins naturally found in cereal grains like wheat, rye & barley.

Gluten basically acts like a binder that holds the food together giving it a chewy and stretchy texture. It is also used as a thickening agent in processed foods.

There are many controversies regarding gluten sensitivity in recent times. Most sources claim that gluten is safe for everyone excluding the ones with celiac disease.

Whereas, according to some other health experts, gluten can be harmful to most people.

If you have gluten sensitivity, you may be prone to its many side effects such as:

  • bloating
  • diarrhea
  • abdominal pain
  • headaches
  • tiredness
  • skin problems

Other than these, gluten can also lead to other health issues which we will discuss below.

Health Problems Due To Gluten

Health Problems Due To Gluten

Gluten can be bad for your health depending on how your body reacts to gluten-based products and ingredients.

Some of the gluten-related conditions include celiac disease, wheat allergy, non-celiac gluten sensitivity, and wheat intolerance.

For a better and clear idea, read on!

Celiac Disease

Celiac disease is an autoimmune disease that prevents people from consuming anything gluten. It is known as the most severe form of gluten intolerance.

People diagnosed with celiac disease have a high chance of ending up with a damaged small intestine if they consume gluten-based foods.

Some symptoms of celiac disease are:

  • depression
  • exhaustion
  • skin rashes
  • headache
  • diarrhea
  • digestive discomfort

Another thing to keep in mind that, some people with celiac disease may not even feel these symptoms, and doctors have a hard time diagnosing celiac disease in some cases.

As a result, 80% of people that suffer from celiac disease don’t even know that they have this disease and because of this they remain untreated for most of their lives.

Wheat Allergy

This is a condition where people start developing skin and breathing problems after consuming or even coming in contact with wheat or any wheat-based product.

Although other cereal grains like rye or barley have no negative effects on people with wheat allergy, they too are recommended to follow a gluten-free diet since wheat is by far the most common gluten-based product.

Some of the symptoms of wheat allergy are as follows:

  • eczema
  • rash
  • breathing problems
  • weight loss

Non-Celiac Gluten Sensitivity

It is another term for gluten intolerance. Basically, it’s a condition where individuals cannot tolerate gluten and are most likely to experience symptoms that are homogeneous to celiac disease.

Non-Celiac people are the ones who cannot consume gluten despite testing negative for it which is the main reason why they too need to live a gluten-free life.

The most common symptoms in this case are:

  • bloating
  • exhaustion
  • diarrhea

Wheat Intolerance

Wheat intolerance means you’re only intolerant to wheat and its varieties. You can still consume other gluten-based products such as barley and rye.

Wheat intolerance is a condition that damages the lining of the small intestine which disrupts the body’s ability to absorb nutrients. After the small intestine is damaged, it can’t absorb nutrients which can lead to malnutrition.

Here are the symptoms of wheat intolerance:

  • skin rash
  • nausea
  • bloating
  • headaches
  • asthma
  • anaphylaxis

Gluten-Free Diet

What Is Gluten-Free Diet?
Gluten-Free diets? What is that?

A gluten-free diet is a meal plan that has absolutely no gluten in it. It can be beneficial for you if you have gluten intolerance or health issues like celiac disease, wheat allergy, and so on.

Surely low-gluten diet has its benefits including reduced obesity, less fatigue, improved energy, and athletic performance.

However, I personally think there are better ways to be healthy than going completely gluten-free such as cutting out sugar.

Some of the drawbacks that come along with a gluten-free diet include:

  • Limited healthy food choices.
  • Lack of necessary nutrients like fiber, folate, carbohydrates, protein, iron, thiamin, riboflavin, niacin (vitamin B-3), and calcium.
  • An increased amount of fat, carbohydrates, sodium, and calories since they are often used as replacements for gluten-free products.
  • Low fiber level in the body, which can lead to constipation and other digestive issues.

It is important to replace gluten with much healthier options like vegetables and fruits that are high in fiber if you choose to live a gluten-free life.

Are the Ingredients in AMP Energy Drink Gluten-Free?

Are the Ingredients in AMP Energy Drink Gluten-Free?
What’s in a can of AMP energy drink? Are they gluten-free? Let’s see

AMP was first introduced by Mountain Dew in the year 2001. It is made with the same base flavor formula as regular Mountain Dew.

The main ingredients of AMP Energy Drink include- taurine, B-Vitamins, ginseng, and guarana with simple and complex carbohydrates such as maltodextrin. The blend of all these ingredients gives a pretty nice energy boost.

Now:

I can read your mind after mentioning maltodextrin in there. The thing is, AMP doesn‘t make gluten-free label claims but none of their ingredients are derived from grains or flour.

Moving on, let’s deep dive into the ingredients of AMP to see whether there are traces of gluten-based components in there or not.

Generally, a can of AMP Energy Drink contains the following ingredients:

  • Carbonated water
  • Caffeine
  • High fructose corn syrup
  • Taurine
  • Citric acid
  • Concentrated orange juice
  • Natural flavor
  • Sodium benzoate
  • Sodium polyphosphates
  • Guarana seed extract
  • Gum Arabic
  • Vitamin C or ascorbic acid
  • Calcium Disodium EDTA
  • Panax ginseng root extract
  • Yellow 5
  • Natural apple extract
  • Blue 1

Based on the ingredients list, there are no indications of wheat, rye, barley, or any kind of wheat/gluten-based product in AMP. So it’s safe to conclude that AMP is gluten-free.

If you’re still not convinced, let us as well take a glance at AMP’s nutrition facts along with their amounts.

NutrientsAmount
Calories220
Caffeine142 mg
Added Sugars58 g
Sodium140 mg
Vitamin B2 or Riboflavin0.7 mg
Vitamin B3 or Niacin
(as niacinamide)
4 mg
Vitamin B5 or Pantothenic Acid
(as Calcium Pantothenate)
2 mg
Vitamin B6 or Pyridoxine
(as Pyridoxine Hydrochloride)
0.3 mg
Vitamin B12 or Cobalamin
(as Cyanocobalamin)
1.2 µg
Nutrition label of AMP Energy Drink (16 fl. oz.)

Although AMP has no wheat or gluten-based ingredient, it still contains a lot of sugar for a small can, and that’s something to watch out for, even if it is gluten-free.

Also, just because AMP is gluten-free doesn’t necessarily mean you can binge-drink it.

We have to remember that it’s just another energy drink packed with loads of sugar and other energy-boosting components which can be detrimental to your health if consumed in excess.

As it’s clear that we can totally include AMP in both gluten-based & gluten-free diets without any worries, we might just as well discuss the necessity of going gluten-free. So let’s find out.

Should You Go Gluten-Free?

Should You Go Gluten-Free?
Is it necessary for you to go Gluten-free?

In short, gluten is safe for you unless you have any medical condition or you’re intolerant to gluten-based products.

If you don’t seem to have celiac disease or any form of gluten intolerance, then I don’t think it’s really necessary to go gluten-free.

Gluten-free diets have become popular, especially in the United States where one out of five people has either reduced or completely cut out gluten from their diet.

In my opinion, general people shouldn’t cut out gluten entirely out of their diets because glutens have essential nutrients like fiber, vitamins, and zinc.

Avoiding gluten can also make you stop consuming regular staple foods such as bread, cereal, cookies, and other gluten-based products. As a result, you will start consuming foods that have little to no nutrients.

But again, it’s totally your choice. If you feel going gluten-free can make you more healthy, go for it.

If you’re keen on going gluten-free, I’d suggest you try a low-gluten diet. But definitely don’t cut out gluten entirely from your diet as it may cause you to experience nutritional deficiencies and may even lead to constipation since gluten is a high source of fiber.

All in all, a gluten-free diet has its fair share of benefits but it also comes along with negative effects for people who have no problem with gluten.

Check this video out to get a broader and better idea about the whole gluten-free concept.

https://youtu.be/M545Gy9mh74
What is Gluten-Free diet & how it affects you?

Alternative Choices for AMP Energy Drink

Alternative Choices for AMP energy drink
Gluten-Free Energy Drinks? Very Impressive!

If you’re wondering whether or not there are other gluten-free energy drinks, well the answer is- YES! I have listed the ones I like the most:

Conclusion:

From what we saw, although not officially labeled, AMP energy drink is absolutely gluten-free as per the company’s statement.

Since AMP doesn’t have any wheat, rye, or barley, it’s totally safe for both gluten intolerant people as well as those who are trying to avoid it.

With that being said, I’d still recommend you consult your physician before consuming AMP energy drink if you have health conditions like celiac disease.

For people who don’t have celiac disease or any gluten-related health issues, having AMP Energy Drink or other gluten-based products is usually fine.

Enjoy your drink!

Jenny

The only thing I like more than a delicious energy drink is uncovering the TRUTH about energy drinks. Well, that's a bit of an exaggeration, but I like to share the facts that I uncover and I hope you find my words interesting and useful.

Read Next