Is 5-Hour Energy Gluten-Free? (Answered)

A shot 5-Hour Energy

One shot of 5-Hour Energy is enough for you to beat the afternoon slump. 5-Hour Energy shots are served in tiny bottles of 1.93 fl. oz. and they can give you an excellent energy boost when you’re in a hurry.

That said, are 5-Hour Energy drinks gluten-free?

To answer you briefly, there seem to be no traces of gluten in the ingredients list of 5-hour Energy. We can assume that 5-Hour Energy is gluten-free.

Let’s go through all the details to find out if 5-Hour Energy drink really is gluten-free or not!

What Is Gluten And Which Products Are Considered Gluten-Free?

Gluten is a protein and is found in cereal grains like wheat, spelt, barley and rye. There are two main proteins in gluten—gliadin, and glutenin. Gliadin is responsible for most gluten-related health effects.

Gluten is known to be harmless to most people. But people with gluten sensitivity, celiac disease, IBS, and wheat allergy should avoid it altogether. It’s essential for them not to consume gluten.

According to FDA, products that contain less than 20ppm of gluten can be considered gluten-free. This is because any amount less than that are not detected by modern technology. Some researchers suggest that most people with celiac disease can tolerate less than 20 ppm of gluten without causing any adverse effects.

Watch the video below to find out why people care about gluten so much!

What’s the big deal with gluten?

What Does A Shot Of 5-Hour Energy Contain?

Here’s a table containing information about nutrients of 5-Hour Energy:

Nutrients5-Hour Energy
(1.93 fl.oz)
Caffeine200mg
Protein0g
Fat0g
Carbohydrate0g
Sodium15mg
Potassium15mg
Choline2mg
Vitamin B3 (Niacin)30mg
Vitamin B650mg
Vitamin B12500mcg
Calories4 calories
Nutrients of 5-Hour Energy
Nutrition facts of 5-Hour Energy
Nutrition facts of 5-Hour Energy

The main ingredients of 5-Hour Energy are caffeine, sodium, potassium, and vitamin Bs. None of these ingredients contain gluten.

You can also take a look at the ingredients list to know more about 5-Hour Energy’s ingredients.

Ingredients List Of 5-Hour Energy

Here’s the ingredients list of 5-Hour Energy:

  • Caffeine
  • Natural Flavors
  • Artificial Flavors
  • Sucralose
  • Potassium Sorbate
  • Sodium Benzoate
  • Malic Acid
  • Taurine
  • Glucuronic Acid
  • EDTA
  • N-Actyel L-Tyrosine
  • L-Phenylalanine
  • Purified water
  • Citicoline
Ingredients list of 5-Hour Energy
Ingredients list of 5-Hour Energy

There is no indication of ingredients that might contain wheat, barley, or rye on the list above. For this reason, we can say that 5-Hour Energy drink is indeed gluten-free.

Why Can’t People With Celiac Disease Drink 5-Hour Energy?

Celiac disease is a severe case of gluten intolerance. It’s also an auto-immune disorder triggered by the said ingredient. People with this disease have immune systems that damage their small intestine upon gluten consumption.

The symptoms of celiac disease include:

  • Bloating
  • Constipation
  • Itchy rash
  • Weight loss
  • Depression
  • Fatigue
  • Gas

In some cases, people who tested negative for celiac disease can still experience these symptoms. But their small intestine is not damaged even after consuming gluten. This condition is called non-celiac gluten sensitivity.

If you have any of these health conditions, it’s not really a good idea to consume food or beverages with gluten. This is why opting for a gluten-free energy drink like 5-Hour Energy can be the best choice for you.

Can 5-Hour Energy Drink Trigger Wheat Allergy?

5-Hour Energy shots have no traces of wheat or wheat-based materials, so they won’t trigger wheat allergies.

Wheat allergy is an allergic reaction to wheat-based products, but it is not the same as a gluten allergy.

The symptoms of wheat allergy are:

  • Nausea
  • Congestion
  • Headache
  • Breathing problem
  • Diarrhea

Is The Caffeine In 5-Hour Energy Gluten-Free?

The caffeine in 5-Hour Energy drink is gluten-free. It’s either derived from a plant or synthesized in a laboratory.

A shot of 5-Hour Energy contains around 200mg of caffeine. Caffeine can keep you awake and improve your exercise performance.

The other benefits of caffeine include:

  • Increasing alertness
  • Boosting memory
  • Improving sports performance
  • Reducing the risk of stroke
  • Boosting weight loss

However, caffeine being gluten-free doesn’t mean it’s okay to overconsume caffeine.

According to the FDA, you shouldn’t consume more than 400mg of caffeine. Too much caffeine can lead to insomnia, addiction, high blood pressure, and other health issues.

It’s a good idea to consume 5-Hour Energy shots in moderation to avoid the side effects.

Is The Sugar In 5-Hour Energy Gluten-Free?

A pile of sugar
5-Hour Energy drink is sugar-free

5-Hour Energy drink doesn’t contain any sugar, it uses sucralose for the sweet flavor instead.

Sucralose is made from sugar using a multi-step chemical process in laboratories. It can be considered gluten-free.

The most common sucralose-based product is Splenda which is said to be around 400 to 700 times sweeter than sugar. On top of that, it doesn’t affect our insulin levels like table sugar does.

Sucralose may not have the harmful effects of sugar, but you should still consume it in moderation. Not enough research has been conducted about the long-term effects of sucralose.

Are All Flavors Of 5-Hour Energy Drink Gluten-Free?

None of the 5-Hour Energy drink flavors contain gluten, animal products, wheat, or yeast.

If you’re curious about the flavors of 5-Hour Energy, you can try these:

  • Berry
  • Blue Raspberry
  • Raspberry Tea
  • Cherry
  • Cool Mint
  • Grape
  • Orange
  • Peach Mango
  • Lemonade Tea
  • Pink Lemonade
  • Pomegranate

Are Gluten-Free Energy Drinks Like 5-Hour Energy Good For You?

Caffeine can be beneficial or detrimental to your health, depending on your usage. If you consume it moderately every once in a while, it can improve your physical and mental performance.

On the other hand, consuming caffeine every day can be bad for your heart. According to this study, consuming caffeine regularly can lead to hypertension. Hypertension is a major cause of stroke and heart disease.

Added to that, energy drinks are also linked to acute liver injury. It can cause serious complications like excessive bleeding and increasing pressure in the brain.

The symptoms of acute liver injury are:

  • Yellowing of skin and eyeballs
  • Pain in the upper right abdomen
  • Nausea
  • Malaise
  • Confusion
  • Sleepiness
  • Tremors

5-Hour Energy drinks may not be the healthiest for you if consumed every day. You should consume a shot of 5-Hour Energy when you really need it.

How Many Shots Of 5-Hour Energy Should You Have Per Day?

If you’re healthy and don’t have any medical conditions, you can drink one shot of 5-Hour Energy in a day.

5-Hour Energy shots have a whopping 200mg of caffeine. It’s in a tiny bottle of 1.93 fl. oz…

5-Hour Energy shots have a whopping 200mg of caffeine. It’s in a tiny bottle of 1.93 fl. oz., so the caffeine is very concentrated. The caffeine is delivered to your bloodstream faster than other regular-sized energy drinks.

After the effects of caffeine reach the peak level in your bloodstream, you’ll feel more awake and alert.

If you consume more than one shot of 5-Hour Energy, you may experience the complications of caffeine overdose. The complications of caffeine overdose include:

  • Headache
  • Fever
  • Irritability
  • Dizziness
  • Diarrhea
  • Increased thirst
  • Insomnia

Where Can I Buy 5-Hour Energy?

You can buy 5-Hour Energy from websites or physical stores.

Buying it online is the most convenient option as it saves you a lot of time. All you have to do is visit a website that sells 5-Hour Energy, order your favorite flavor, and wait for it to be delivered to your doorstep.

Amazon and eBay are two online stores that sell you 5-Hour Energy drinks at competitive prices.

On the other hand, if you like to touch the product before buying, you can check out your nearest Walmart or 7-Eleven stores.

Ultimately, it comes down to your preference whether to buy it online or offline as both options have their pros and cons.

Gluten-Free Alternatives To 5-Hour Energy

If you also want to try other gluten-free energy drinks, here are my suggestions:

Conclusion

Considering the ingredients in 5-Hour Energy drink, it’s safe to say that it doesn’t contain any gluten.

It can be the right energy booster for you if you have celiac disease, wheat allergy, or non-celiac gluten sensitivity.

But be mindful, its caffeine content can be too much for you if you’re not used to consuming 200mg of caffeine on a daily basis.

If you can handle that amount of caffeine, 5-Hour Energy can definitely find a place on your gluten-free diet.

That being said, 5-Hour energy drink can be a part of any diet, as long as you don’t drink it excessively!

Related Articles

Jenny

The only thing I like more than a delicious energy drink is uncovering the TRUTH about energy drinks. Well, that's a bit of an exaggeration, but I like to share the facts that I uncover and I hope you find my words interesting and useful.

Read Next