Is 5 Hour Energy Drink Vegan? (The Truth)

5 Hour energy shots are the type of energy drinks you consume when you need a strong boost of energy in a short time. Each 1.93 fl. oz bottle containing 200mg caffeine. The drink will not fail to give you that quick boost of energy.

However, is 5 Hour energy drink vegan-friendly?

In short; 5 Hour energy drink is vegan-friendly. As per the company’s official website, no animal products have been used in the shots. This means, if you’re vegan, you can drink this energy shot.

If you’re curious to know what ingredients go in a bottle of 5 Hour, stick around.

Let’s get started.

What Ingredients Are Inside 5 Hour Energy Drink?

These are the ingredients that are used in every 1.93 fl. oz of 5 Hour:

  • Purified Water
  • Taurine
  • Natural and Artificial Flavors
  • Sucralose
  • Potassium Sorbate
  • Sodium Benzoate
  • Glucuronic Acid
  • Malic Acid
  • N-Actyel L-Tyrosine
  • L-Phenylalanine
  • Caffeine
  • Citicoline
  • EDTA
The ingredients of a 5 Hour energy shot.

Are The Ingredients In 5 Hour Vegan-Friendly?

The ingredients in 5 Hour energy drink have been mentioned above, now let’s check and see if they’re vegan or not by an easy-to-read table:

IngredientsTheir PropertiesSourceIs it vegan-friendly?
TaurineAmino acid; improves performanceSyntheticYes
SucraloseArtificial SweetenerSyntheticYes
Potassium SorbateArtificial SweetenerSyntheticYes
Sodium BenzoatePreservativeSyntheticYes
Glucuronic AcidEnhances energy and boosts alertnessSyntheticYes
Malic AcidFood additiveSynthetic/plant-basedYes
N-Actyel L-TyrosineAmino acidSyntheticYes
L-PhenylalanineEssential Amino Acid (EAA)SyntheticYes
CaffeineNervous system stimulantSyntheticYes
CiticolineImproves brain function and memorySyntheticYes
EDTAhelps in preserving of food, flavor, and color of the foodSyntheticYes
A table for if the ingredients are vegan or not.

Judging by the table above, all the ingredients are vegan-friendly. However, there are still a few questionable ingredients like L-tyrosine and taurine.

Is N-Actyel L-Tyrosine In 5 Hour Energy Drink Shots Vegan?

L-Tyrosine or N-Actyel L-Tyrosine is an amino acid, that’s often used as a supplement. It’s a natural non-essential amino acid as it’s produced by our body. Tyrosine has multiple benefits like enhancing your energy levels as well as your mental energy.

However, PETA said about Tyrosine is that the amino acid is often plant and synthetic-based, but it’s sometimes hydrolyzed from milk (casein).

However, PETA said about Tyrosine is that the amino acid is often plant and synthetic-based, but it’s sometimes hydrolyzed from milk (casein).

This could only mean that even if L-Tyrosine is synthetic or plant-based, sometimes it may come from animal sources as well.

Unless you’re an ethical vegan, the sources of amino acids don’t matter much. But again, if you are one, the confusion about the sources of Tyrosine may take a toll on you.

Again, considering what 5 Hour energy’s website says, it’s safe to say that the sources of L-Tyrosine are plant or synthetic-based and are vegan.

But if you really want to be 100% sure, you can always email 5 Hour energy.

Is Taurine In 5 Hour Energy Shots Vegan?

Since Taurine is synthetically sourced, it’s safe to assume the taurine in a 5 Hour energy shot is vegan too.

Taurine is also another amino acid that helps in boosting our performance. While natural taurine is sourced from animals, the taurine used in 5 Hour is synthetic.

That means taurine in 5 Hour is vegan-friendly nevertheless.

5 Hour Energy Drink Nutritional Facts

Now that we know the ingredients and whether they are vegan or not. Let’s have a look at the nutrients used in 5 Hour and their exact amount.

Nutrients UsedAmount Per Serving
Protein0g
Carbohydrate0g
Sugar0g
Fat0g
Sodium15mg
Potassium13mg
Vitamin B3 (Niacinamide)30mg
Vitamin B6 50mg
Vitamin B12500μg
Choline2mg
Energy4 calories
Caffeine200mg
The nutrients that are used in every 5 Hour energy shot.
A look at the nutrition facts.
A look at the nutrition facts.

How Much Caffeine Does 5 Hour Energy Have?

A single 1.93 fl. oz bottle of 5 Hour has 200mg caffeine in it.

200mg caffeine itself is a lot, and considering the small amount of 5 Hour, that’s a bunch of caffeine for a 1.93 fl. oz shot bottle.

If you have low caffeine tolerance, it’s best to stick with energy drinks that have less caffeine. Consuming 200mg caffeine in one chug is going to be a bad decision.

Then again, if your caffeine metabolism is high, you can consume a bottle of 5 Hour like a piece of cake.

Even if you have high caffeine tolerance, it’s wise to know how much you should consume in a day. The FDA recommends not to consume any more than 400mg of caffeine per day, which applies to both males and females.

Caffeine content any more than that may lead to health problems like:

  • Insomnia
  • Shakiness
  • Headaches
  • High Blood Pressure
  • Anxiety

Energy In 5 Hour

Every 1.93 fl. oz bottle of 5 Hour has only 4 calories.

Since the drink doesn’t have any added sugar, the calories have been cut down. As it’s artificially sweetened, you don’t need to worry about having a sugar crash at the end of the day.

Although, it’s also safe to know your daily calorie intake, which is 2,000 and 2,500 calories per day for women and men. Keep in mind these numbers may vary from person to person depending on their age, sex, physical activity, etc.

Artificial Sweeteners In 5 Hour Energy

Fortunately enough, 5-Hour energy does not have any added sugar.
Fortunately enough, 5-Hour energy does not have any added sugar.

The artificial sweeteners used in 5 Hour energy are Sucralose and Acesulfame Potassium, also known as Acesulfame-K.

Both of the sweeteners are zero-calorie, which is a plus if you’re on a diet and want to consume as few calories as you can.

Sucralose is a popular sweetener and is 600 times sweeter than regular sugar. The most popular product of sucralose is Splenda.

Check this video out for more details on sucralose.

Acesulfame Potassium or Acesulfame K is another popular artificial sweetener, which is also used by many energy drink brands. Between Sucralose and Acesulfame-K, Acesulfame is the healthier sweetener.

Acesulfame Potassium is 200 times sweeter than sugar. It’s also marketed as Sunett.

Both of the artificial sweeteners have been approved by the FDA.

Is 5 Hour Energy Keto Friendly?

Should you consume 5 Hour if you are on a keto diet?

Since 5 Hour energy shots don’t contain any added sugar or carbohydrate, it’s suitable for a keto diet.

The main rules of a keto diet are low carbs and cut down sugar as much as you can. It’s a high-fat diet that promotes weight loss.

Since 5 Hour doesn’t have any carbs and has 0g sugar, you are good to go.

Is 5 Hour Energy Drink Gluten-free?

Like sugar and carbs, there are no shreds of evidence of wheat, barley, rye, or any gluten-containing products. So, it can be said that 5 Hour energy drink or shot is gluten-free.

It’s always a good option to stay on a gluten-free diet or just cut down gluten in general for better health. But if you have celiac disease, you might face problems if your food contains gluten.

Other than that, you shouldn’t have any problems with food containing gluten. If you’re interested to know more about gluten, check out the video given below:

Is 5 Hour Energy Drink Really Vegan-Friendly?

The question we have all been waiting for, is 5 Hour vegan?

The company did not officially certify 5 Hour as a vegan-friendly drink, but the website says all the products are cruelty-free.

So considering what the company’s official website says, the drink is vegan.

Again, if you’re worried about the fact that the drink isn’t officially certified, you can always go for other drinks that are certified as vegan-friendly. There are plenty of options.

Nevertheless, if you’re looking for a quick and strong boost of energy that will last you through the day, you can’t go wrong with 5 Hour shots.

How Many Flavors Does 5 Hour Have?

5 Hour energy shots have over a dozen of flavors. The best part about the drink is, you can customize it up to your preference. Below is a shortlist of flavors:

  • Berry
  • Blue Raspberry
  • Cherry
  • Orange
  • Grape
  • Cool Mint
  • Grape
  • Lemonade Tea
  • Peach Mango
  • Pink Lemonade
  • Pomegranate
  • Raspberry Tea
  • Watermelon

What Are The 5 Hour Energy Drink Alternatives?

Whether 1.93 fl. oz is a too small amount for you or if you want a certified vegan-friendly drink, you always have options. Here are a bunch of alternatives to 5 Hour:

The Final Verdict

5 Hour energy drink is a good energy drink option considering the 200mg caffeine with 0 sugar and 0 carbs. Not to mention the extremely low-calorie content too.

These traits make the energy shot good for a diet or even suitable for vegans. As the company itself says the drink is cruelty-free. Then again, it’s not yet certified.

So if you have doubts about that, I suggest going for another brand or contacting 5 Hour. The energy drink is both gluten-free and keto-friendly, which is another plus point.

However, for the high caffeine content and low volume of 5 Hour, I personally wouldn’t be picking up 5 Hour often unless I really need a boost of energy to get me through the day.

Related Articles

Jenny

The only thing I like more than a delicious energy drink is uncovering the TRUTH about energy drinks. Well, that's a bit of an exaggeration, but I like to share the facts that I uncover and I hope you find my words interesting and useful.

Recent Posts